We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced hotel suitably located for lots of sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced hotel suitably located for lots of sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

A hotel right in the the middle of Luxor that has a lovely reception area, very friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Room was cleaned every day with clean towels etc, we only ate B&B and ate locally the rest of the time. There are quite a few places to eat that are owned by British people that are clean and tidy, as we were a bit more careful where we ate due to us going sightseeing and not wanting to risk being ill. It is also worth paying a visit to the pub 2002- Esquire which is off main drag, but the service and prices are excellent and the owner Issac will even help improve your Arabic. We did eat in the Aladdin's restaurant by the side of the pool which provides typical egyptian food, was very nice and reasonable. Also the italian restaurant was o.k.
Buy your bottled water outside of the hotel as you can pick it up for 3 eyptian pounds as apposed to 13 in the hotel. Be prepared for some hassle when you step outside as there are lots of horse and carriages wanting your custom, also barter with them and the taxi's as the first price they tell you will always be inflated.(we got a taxi back from Karnack Temple for 5 pounds which had started at 20)
We used Jolly's as a trip company which is up at the corniche on the way to Luxor temple, as they were reasonably priced and the guide that we had (Emmy) was excellent.
All in all a good holiday that we both thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank te59308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    425
    135
    55
    24
See reviews for
307
646
94
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

My husband and I were pleasantly surprises (albeit confused) by the high tech bathrooms in this hotel in the ancient city of Luxor. The shower pods looked like rocket ships! We were also confused by the old school lobby and average in what was supposed to be one of the nicest hotels in the city. The location was quite convenient and the service was fine. Our stay was OK but the hotel's main floor and lobby needs an uplift.

  • Liked — Bathrooms
  • Disliked — Lobby Area
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flymarcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel as part of a two and a half week stay in Egypt.

On arrival this appears like quite a nice hotel but the reception staff in this hotel are positively unfriendly. Simple requests such as checking in, enquiring if it was possible to post mail or organise a taxi were met with blank expressions and silence. It may just be that these staff haven't been trained properly but their attitudes really ruined our two night stay at this hotel.

The first room we got had a view of a construction site and during the whole process of endeavouring to get it changed we were made to feel as if we were being a burden on the staff. In the end we had to pay extra for a better room - albeit with a great Nile view.

This hotel allegedly has a spa but on investigation my wife and I found that there was a charge of ten euro per person to use the steam room, sauna and jucuzzi. My wife was't interested but I persevered and was greeted with facilities that would be unacceptable in a two star hotel. The sauna and stam room looked as if they were more suited to someones garage area rather than a supposedly decent hotel. Once again the staff in the "spa" were bordering on rude.

On a positive front, the hotel outdoor pool area is very nice with a lovely cold pool and the staff here are very helpful. It's possble to hire a Felucca boat for a sunset trip on the Nile at the bottom of the pool area. We were the only two people on our boat and the captain was a very nice guy who made us tea and allowed me to steer the boat for a bit! This Felucca trip was one of the highlights of our holiday in Egypt.

On the dining front we had a nice meal in the Italian restaurant but the Japanese restaurant didn't live up to expectations. The light snacks and cakes available in the lobby area were excellent however not enough to redeem the dreadful service that pervades this hotel.

One of the best things about this hotel is it's proximity to Murphys Irish bar which has a decent pool table and it's possible to get a dring with a smile rather than a sulk!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthanSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Let me start with the positive - we have a view directly facing the Nile, and it was stunning. The pool area over looking the water was also beautiful, and the lobby was gorgeous. The hotel was close to both the Luxor and Karnak temples.
As for the not so great: (1) the bed had no sheet, just a comforter; (2) the hairdryer was a vacumm contraption that must have been 20 years old, and we had to hold it together to make it work. Finally, having a waterfront view was gorgeous, but every night at 9 there is an Egyptian show by the pool, which you hear from the room, and at 10:30 they show a movie as well - so if you are looking for quiet sleep, a Nile-front room is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelBel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We spent a week at the Sonesta, and were generaly very pleased with our choice. The room was a good size and was very clean, but the side Nile view from the balcony relied on you ignoring the cleared demolition site next door (If you stood in the best position, the Nile was about half of what was in view). Also, if you look directly down you can often see split sacks of sloppy food waste being picked up by hand and being loaded into a waste truck - not really what you want to see outside of what I supposed was the kitchen. Having said that, all of the public areas gave a better impression.
A highlight to us was to watch the spectacular sunset over the river from the terrace, which I'm pretty sure couldn't be bettered from anywhere else in Luxor.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, but the food quality was excellent, with a huge choice. Outside of the hotel, the choice of restaurants is poor, unless you want bland English food. Even the names - Puddleducks, Tudor Rose etc - made me wince. For food with a more Egyptian style, give Cassablanca a try (In the street almost opposite the hotel to the right). Why do so many English people travel overseas then want to eat like they're at home?
The tipping culture of Egypt unfortunately reflects in the hotel - as a previous reviewer said, it's obvious the staff are well aware of the change-over days with the big operators, and 'turn it on' to suit. However, service for us was consistent in the bar and the riverside terrace (Where we tipped a small amount daily). After the fourth tap on the door of our room on our first night by various staff members - all of whom I expect wanted a tip - we took to leaving the 'do not disturb' hanger on the door (Although this only reduced the amount of visitors, it made us feel better about ignoring them!).
If I ever return to Luxpor, I'd be happy to stay at the Sonesta, with most of the facilities being of an excellent international standard.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Lovely hotel, fantastic pool and check out the view of the sunset from the bar - only down poinbt is the awful music playing in the bar - change it or turn it off!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Findley1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

The rooms are tired and dated in need of renovating. The service was terrible for a 5 star hotel. (I would have classed this hotel as a 3star plus!!) The reception staff are ignorant and not really interested, If you are unfortunate and the glass in the patio door is falling out expect to wait at least 4 hours, two phone calls down to reception, one trip down to reception and the second trip down to speak to the hotel manager before anyone comes to fix it and then its not fixed properly, the patio doors did not fit properly so noise from the road could be heard all the time, the air conditioning did not work properly, The only time staff were attentive was on the day they though you were going home! (tips) The sun beds around the pool all have towels on them earlier than 8am for the people who have "bunged" the pool attendant a good tip on a daily basis. Try the coffe shop but expect to wait a good 15mins or more for a coffee, thats after waiting a good 10mins for them to take your order as they are too busy chatting behind the counter to notice you are there. on a plus point the breakfast food has a good variety and was very good, free cinema twice a week, and the Thomas cook rep called Maggie was brilliant!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAHLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#16 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing