We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again the St George didn't disappoint.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yet again the St George didn't disappoint.”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Date of stay 14-21 June on a half board basis, firstly the building work that many people continue to worry about isn't a problem, I didn't notice any noise for the entire week and would guess they are at second fix stage anyway.

This was my second stay at this property and my partners eighth! They must be doing something right. I think it's fair to point out that she and I are excursion'd out as far as the City of Luxor is concerned so for us this was to be a week of relaxation by the pool with a smattering of football thrown in for good measure! Yuk I here you all cry, lol . Although irrelevant to the report itself I have to say the Monarch flight on Monday was very straight forward and although we have sampled all the charters on offer over the years we found the Monarch flight to be be superior if nothing else due to the wide body aircraft they use on this route compared to the shocking 757's the other's use on what is a long old flight.

Check in was very efficient and the staff behind the desk were cheery and helpful. We were allocated room 434, a side Nile view overlooking what was the old public baths and located to the front of the hotel so noise from the street was apparent, during the first night at around midnight we were awoken by a member of staff (assume/hope) who let himself into our room and switched the lights on, somewhat startled by this and indeed half asleep I arose to challenge him to which he apologised and legged it lol. The next morning we asked to speak to the manger who on hearing this upgraded us to room 403 which is a direct Nile view suite funnily enough on the fourth floor at the rear of the hotel overlooking the pool and beyond to the Nile.

The room was superb being double aspect (aswell as the large sliding patio doors to balcony there was a large window to a Juliet balcony facing north) In the lounge area there is an additional tv and further balcony. The bathroom was adequate with the additional facility of a whirl pool feature in the bath. We did find that the king size bed in this room to be a little firmer than the two singles that the staff often on request push together in other rooms. The one negative we found with these Nile facing rooms would have to be the heat, the A/C system was losing the battle towards the end of each day so housekeeping provided us with a fan.

This was to be our first time staying half board and if the the truth be known we were a little dubious perhaps to the quality and indeed choice of the evening buffet in the breakfast restaurant each night, however we were very satisfied with what was on offer and the serving staff were excellent, we did however eat three times in the Italian restaurant which I might add was very good and a discount is added to our final bill. The overall stay was yet again superb with all our expectations met, I will however add a final rant, on previous stays I found the pool and sun bed area to be extremely well managed, on this occasion I was very disappointed, every morning without fail before the staff were even on site many guests would be out putting books on sun beds around the pool, the most extreme case was at 6:57am I kid you not, most often the same people and regretfully they were all English( not a German in site). The pool rules state very clearly that sun beds cannot be reserved! Anyway rant over and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StuartandFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    441
    137
    55
    26
See reviews for
319
663
98
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
daventry northants
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

After a nearly 5 hour delay we arrived at our hotel, SONESTA ST. GEORGE late evening. We were most impressed with the hotel. We had read reviews before going and majority said how nice the hotel was, well i must agree with them - WOW. Our room was lovely and clean and we had a side nile view. The hotel staff were very nice to us and service was excellent. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from too. We ate in the italian restuarant quite a few times and loved the food there and the view you have is lovely. We had lunch at the pool bar and that too was good. We had a couple of luches at the little cafe and that too was good. Yes it was expensive to have a drink at the hotel but you are in a 5* hotel, the local spirits were fine so drank them. We ate out at Jewl of the Nile restaurant and had a lovely meal there. We also ate at The Lantern and had a good meal there too.

The weather was very very hot, not used to that heat but had been warned, just keep covered up and drink plenty of water and wear a hat.

We did the sites in Luxor and a day cruise on the Nile to Dendara. We absolutely loved our trips and can understand why you are up so early.!! We were in awe of the sites and it so worth getting up early to see them all. We also went to the museum and that too was worth a visit. We have some lovely photo's to remind us of our time at these beautiful sites.

We were also warned of the hassle you get from the locals, you do get used to it eventually although it can be tiresome, but it did not spoil our holiday at all. Just say No and they will leave you alone, eventually LOL.

I would definately recommend SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL, the staff are so attentive and cannot do enough for you. What a lovely touch to get a cold flannel in the afternoon to cool you down.

We were so glad we chose to go to LUXOR for a holiday and would recommend it to anyone, expecially if you like History, which we do. If you do decide to try LUXOR and SONESTA ST GEORGE HOTEL we hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dumblonde51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I have just returned from a 2 week vacation in Egypt. We spent one week at the Sonesta and the second week in Hurgharda (Dana Beach Resort). We have 2 children aged 10 and 13 and we all had a fantastic time. We had a fantastic view overlooking the pool and the Nile. The staff are friendly although like most places in Egypt expect to be tipped all the time. Despite only being half board and the beer being a bit on the expensive side we found our bill for the whole week for lunch and drinks only came to about £300. The hotel is an ideal base to go on most of the excursions (ballon flight, Valley of the Kings/Queens and near to the airport for when we flew to Cairo which is a must). Don't be put off by reference to building works we didn't hear anything. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunflowerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The location by the Nile is excellent as there is also a pier, a swimming pool and a restaurant in the open. Comfortable rooms,good breakfast and service. A bit away from the Cornish. Internet is not free and not so cheap.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agriogatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfena
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Nice hotel. Very good facilities. Very good rooms. Nice japonese restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josefreitas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

After this trip my hotel standards are so high that it is now difficult for me to accept other hotels with lower quality. This was just a wonderful hotel!. I found this deal last minute and traveled with my parents, 2 sisters and 2 nieces and we simply had the time of our lives!! the rooms are always clean and you get clean towels even twice a day (don't forget to leave a little tip - 20l will go along way on getting that extra special service)
The only complain I had was the mini bar, which did not cool properly on any of our rooms, but then managed to get it working by leaving the outside wooden cupboard door open, which was inconvenient at times, but with everything else being perfect, we put this aside.
The pool is amazing and the breakfast is to die for!!!, so much selection, you are guaranteed to have something different each morning!
For dinner, why not go to the Japanese restaurant inside the hotel and try some of their exotic dishes, which are very very tasty!!! or if you are tired after a long day tour why not order room service?, we found this to be be real cheap for a 5* and a very good quality!, we were 7 and spent around £35 for the whole room service dinner....what a bargain hah?...same as going to a McDonalds, one could say =)
In a whole it was a fantastic holiday, dont miss the trip to the valley of the king and queen and habu temple and karnak!....oh and a little tip, dont buy anything from a sudden stop your holiday rep will make to show you the "real basalt figurines" or "real papyrus", its simply not worth it, as you can find the real thing for way cheaper!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tefi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Me and my friend returned to this hotel this year, and were once again, not dissapointed. I have previously written an in-depth review, so please take a look on my profile to see this if you are interested. Changes since last year: there are now two spa's by the pool, which are really good. The building work is still continuing - the scaffolding looks rather scary - I certainly wouldn't go up there!! It didn't disrupt our stay in any way though. Breakfast is still of great quality - fresh orange juice is just so nice! Most of the staff are friendly and approachable, except for a lady at breakfast who hands out the tea and coffee - she is very miserable and rude! Rooms are ok, comfortable enough, but we found the City view room a little too noisy this time. We visited a friends room who had one of the posh rooms, and these were very very nice - they have the largest bed ever, a posh toliet with controls, and a colour changing bath/spa!! We visited the beauty salon to have our nails done, which were of good quality and value - around £10. However, stay away from the Henna - it only lasted 2 days!! The hotel restaurants are ok, however, I would recommend that you just go on a B+B basis, as there are plenty of places to eat outside of the hotel, that are safe, or the neighbouring hotels do good value food. We went to a restaurants called 'A Taste of India', 'John Johns', 'Murphy's Irish pub', 'The Lantern' and 'Metropolitan'. If you want Internet access, which is cheap then do not use the hotel, instead turn left out of hotel and keep walking until you see a bar called 'Metropolitan', go down the ramp, then keep walking until you see the Internet place - you pay around 80p for 15 mins! The hotel run an excellent taxi service, which we used to take us to Safaga - it takes around 3.5 hours and costs £60 for the car, both ways. This year we were also able to go on the hot air balloon, which was a great experience, and nice views, however, they don't fly you over the NIle now. We also did quad biking through the dessert - one of the best experiences ever!
The hassle in Luxor is getting worse, which is such a shame, we don't think we will return to this area of Egypt again. However, if you haven't been, there is lots to see, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor

Property: Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Address: Cornesh El Nile Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star grandeur on the banks of the Nile awaits at the Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor. In a city of ancient Pharaonic treasures, this 322-room Luxor, Egypt hotel redefines luxury in a contemporary style. Only minutes from the world-renowned historic sites, the hotel is an ideal setting. After touring, guests relax in the hotel's Key of Life Health Club, dine in one of its restaurants or soak in the pool as they overlook the Nile. Free Wifi in the lobby and the swimming pool . Also a happy hour every evening at Nobles Bar with a 30% discount from 7.30 pm to 8.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta St George Hotel Luxor
Sonesta Luxor
Sonesta St George Luxor
Luxor Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing