We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still the place to stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just returned a couple of days ago [ from 28/09 to 05/10 ], from my 6th stay at the Nile Palace, as always it was a pleasure to return , the hotel is the same as always, a beauitful 5star hotel in the heart of Luxor, with views over the nile that are breathtaking, the staff as always friendly, polite and offering the normal high standard of professional service you always receive .. yes the hotel is quieter than normal, obviously due to the political events earlier in the year, but their standards are still as high as always, and I honestly hope as things settle more in Egypt, people will start to come back to the previous levels.I will say things outside the hotel are more pushy than before from the horse carriage guys and taxi guys, this is only due to the extreme quietness of the resort, and they are only trying to earn a living, I personally found a polite , but firm no worked, and can say I did not experience any major major hassle. As said all the satff was as friendly and helpfull as always, and had time to say hello with a smile and a geniune look that said they were pleased to see you,and that you had decided to stay in the hotel, a very big thank you to all the staff, who once again made my latest visit enjoyable as always, this time 2 negative mentions, firstly, and I know it is outside the hotels control, but the cruise boats moored next to the back of the hotel, sadly still slightly spoils the view , secondly, as I said earlier all the staff are still frfiendly, this includes the managers [ those in the black suits] however , the senior managers in the hotel, while are visable by walking around, they dont ever seem to talk / mix with the guests, and I heard many guests mention this,appriciate they are busy people [ as is all the staff in the hotel ] but it dosent take much to say hello, and ask a guest is enjoying their stay. I look forward to my next visit / stay in the hotel, hopefully next year to help celebrate by 50th Birthday, cheers again folks and look forward to seeing you again, take care and hope things get better / busier for you. Graham from Blackpool, Lancashire

Room Tip: an upgrade to a nile view room is def worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamCleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
It was very good to receive your excellent review.
It appears that your stay proved to be another enjoyable one. Always, it is nice for us to receive feedback from our lovely regular guests. We hope that you keep returning to our wonderful hotel and we hope that the memories will remain in your heart forever. Your second home awaits you!
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    499
    129
    55
    37
See reviews for
360
897
137
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

when my wife and myself booked this holiday i told her "do not expect it to be as good as our holiday to jamaica" the previous year. how wrong was i! it exceeded all of our expectations from the moment we stepped into the hotel. we were greeted with a drink and the total professional front of house gentleman called 'Adel' he proved to be most helpful thoughout our stay.
we stayed in a fabulous Nile view room, where every night we watched the amazing, fast sunsets.
we ate in the Nubian restaurant where the staff were fantastic and the breakfast was fantastic aided by the most perfect omlettes done by a fantastic chef.
it was our wedding anniversary the hotel made the fantastic cake for us we also given a card from the lovely Irish couple in the neighbouring room 'Anne and David (thank you).
thank you to all of the staff you are fabulous!
Luxor is a fantastic city, bustling busy funny amongst the crazyness is a never to be forgotton lady called 'Chris' who owns an english tea room with all home cooked food just down the road from the fantastic supermarket 'Arkwrights'.
Nile Palace and Luxor we will be back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
We are delighted and proud to receive lovely comments. It was very good to read such a fabulous review and it appears that you were more than happy with the 5 star services that we gave to you!
Thank you so much for your comments about our helpful member of reception staff, Adel. Your kind comments have been conveyed to him and are much appreciated...
With excellent comments like yours it encourages to go from strength to strength!
We are very pleased that you had a memorable wedding anniversary with us in our “crazy but beautiful city’!!
We sincerely hope that you will return to us and become one of our regular and loyal guests in our amazing hotel!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was a great hotel. Be warned though they fleece you alive if you want to use the Internet. It was necessary for me to use this on a daily basis and the bill came to just under 140 Euros for a week. A bit much in 2011 and about time this was offered free like in most similar hotels in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your comments.
We are very sorry that you felt the internet service was very expensive…It appears that the rates were not fully explained to you prior to usage therefore you incurred an unexpected large bill...
We convey our apologies and do not understand why you were not informed of the rates before you were connected to the internet. This matter will be given our attention immediately.
May we also explain that the charge for the hotel internet connection may appear to be expensive and we are aware that most hotels provide this free. However, may we explain that we are contracted to a specialist third party that provides the hotel with a support service should there be a problem in the hotel with the internet. Therefore this is reflected in the cost.
Despite this, it seems that you had a great holiday with us and we welcome you back for another memorable stay at your first convenience…

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My partner and I came to Luxor for a 2 week holiday from the 14th to the 28th of September. As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted with a drink from one of the many amazing hotel staff. The people at the reception desk were very helpful and kind, and gave us a gorgeous hotel room facing onto the courtyard with a huge balcony. The room was beautiful, carpeted and had the most gorgeous bathroom. The room was cleaned twice a day, with a turndown service aswell. If you had a "do not disturb" sign on your door, they occasionally called you to check if you needed anything at all. The bell boys bring up your suitcase for you aswell on arrival. The pool boys are constantly on hand to make sure your time by the pool is amazing aswell.

The staff were the friendliest, politest people I think I've ever known. They treated us so well, always talked to us and took such an interest. When you came back to the hotel from a night out they welcomed you back in with a smile and hoped that you enjoyed your day. The door staff, and the bell boys, all the restaurant staff, pool boys, cleaners and everyone else I've missed were just so amazing, and they made you feel like family. When me and my boyfriend left they all spoke to us and let us know that we're welcome back whenever, and that they'd miss us, and we miss them too just because of the fact they treat you like family.

I would just like to also mention to go to Puddleducks restaurant, and snobs. They both serve amazing food, aswell as the hotel restaurants which are also lovely.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Luxor.

-Charla and Ash

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were great to see the Entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Many thanks for your amazing comments. We feel that you are part of our family now and surely, every member of our wonderful staff remembers our valued guests and we too will miss your presence in our hotel.
We truly hope that you will come to stay with us again in the not so distant future. Your second home awaits you!
Our staff, including our excellent reception team will appreciate the lovely comments you have made here on Trip advisor! Thank you once again for recommending our beautiful hotel…

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Nile Palace for a week in August following a Nile Cruise on the Jaz Regency.
If you thought that you would like to go to Egypt sometime in the future then don't put it off any longer. It will never be as quiet (or possibly as cheap for a package) as it is now. In August there were only 10% of cruise boats running and this hotel had only 20% of its room capacity taken. Consequently the tourist attractions are exceptionally quiet and you can see Egypt's sights without hundreds of tourists blocking your way.
The Nile Palace was a truly 5* hotel. Despite it being Ramadan the staff gave 1st class service and were exceedingly friendly & polite throughout. Our room was huge, well furnished and spotlessly clean. It is worth upgrading to a Nile View. We paid for a restricted Nile view and although the balcony was not large we had wonderful views accross to the Valley of the Kingsand could see the beautiful sunsets.
Before leaving the UK we had upgraded to half board for convenience but would not recommend this. The hotel has 4 restaurants but we were restricted to the Nubian restaurant unless we paid extra. There were no problems with the food from this restaurant though; it was always well cooked, beautifully presented and plentiful. There is normally a buffet service but it had been replaced with a fixed menu due to the low number of guests. If the menu did not, suit the staff were more than happy to cook something else. Our only problem with the restaurant was that it was too quiet. The low number of guests meant that you were outnumbered by staff & this made us feel a little uneasy at first.
The pool was wonderful - just the right temperature with ample sunbeds, parasols and free towels. There were no daytime activities but that suited us.
There have been many reports & complaints on this site (not specific to this hotel) about hassle from the locals. The hotel is situated on the main tourist street in Luxor with many restaurants & cafes nearby. Outside there is always a row of taxis & carriages competing for your business and they don't take no for an answer easily. Yes, it is a hassle but it musn't put you off going. These people rely on tourism & are desperate. Just do as we were advised; avoid eye contact, hold your hand up and say firmly "Shukran" whilst you keep walking. "La shukran" (no thank you) can be perceived as aggressive. It's hard at first but don't let this spoil what can be an amazing holiday.
Don't be a typical Brit and avoid tipping. Just a few Egyptian pounds can mean so much to a waiter or toilet attendant. However sorry you feel do not give begging children coins. Begging is not a problem at the moment but it will be if they manage to earn more in an hour than a waiter. Carry sweets or pencils with you if you want to give the children something.
Finally, we took a boat from the hotel to the "Banana Island" with an Egyptian named Shakespeare. After a quick tour of the island and sampling the freshly picked bananas we sailed back to the hotel. On the way back Shakespeare switched the engine off and jumped into the river calling my husband and our friend to join him. The water was only waist deep and beautifully warm. My husband was so pleased to say that he had actually swam in the Nile. It was a wonderful end to a truly great holiday.

Room Tip: Upgrade for wonderful views of the West Bank of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
A very big ‘thank you’ from all at Steigenberger Nile Palace! Reading your extensive and wonderful review it appears that you had the time of your lives with us…
We are delighted that you found all aspects of the hotel to be ‘truly wonderful’…
Also we are very pleased that you appreciated the views of the beautiful Nile from your room.
However, we do apologize if you found the staff too overpowering in the Nubian restaurant, but we feel that during this quiet time for Egypt we are taking the opportunity to give a more one to one personal service which is reflected in the undivided attention that our treasured guests receive!!
We hope that you will return and stay with us .May we also thank you for sympathizing and understanding the present situation in Egypt…
With fabulous guests like you we can promote the message to the world that Luxor in Egypt is really a lovely, safe place to visit!

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

For me and my husband this was our first stay at the steigenberger hotel, and would have to say it was one of the best holidays we have had. we cannot complain about anything. we have never been so well looked after. From our first day we where a little unsure of what to expect,but we had a different view a couple of days later.The hotel staff could not do enough for the people within the hotel,which in itself was like a little community village.we tried all of the restaurants except the lebanese one, but will do so on our return visit next july. we really did enjoy the pool area with friendly attentive staff and a nice little snack bar at the side of it.I hope more people go to egypt next year ,they really do need people to visit their country.I was sad to hear of the two ladies staying at the hotel but where frightened to go outside with all the hastle. myself and my husband used to call it "Running the Gauntlet" if you where strong enough to go through the doors, but that is part of the holiday to experience other peoples cultures. Apart from my husband nearly dragging one of the young cleshe drivers off his horse,we eventually took a ride with him to the luxor temple, where young Ali waited for us for two hours with his horse Natalie under the shade,and we had a very good time out with him. on reflection we felt sorry for the people of egypt as they are only trying to make a living, thats why I hope more people visit next year. you have to be firm with them when you go outside, but the more tourists there are maybe not as much hastle for all of us. But you do get use to it and we went out on a number of occasions. PLEASE DO NOT LET IT PUT YOU OFF. can I just mention our thomson rep Hanah, at the hotel nearly every day and helpful. The manager at the hotel should be made aware of what such a good hotel the steigenberger really is, and all of its staff. we are returning again next year for my husbands 60th birthday in july and we cant wait.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent book early to aviod disapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchdogEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
What a merry time you experienced with us!!!
It is always a delight to read positive and kind comments from guests like you…
It was interesting to read your review as you seemed to know just how to
We feel that we have welcomed you into our family at our beautiful Steigenberger Nile Palace. We hope that you do return and treasure the fantastic memories. It was a pleasure to have you as guests in our hotel and on your return next July we will make it the holiday of a lifetime for you. We will certainly make sure that the 60th birthday celebration is a very good one!
We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home and family next year!!
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just returned after a one week stay, we were on b & b to allow us the option of eating out. Good choice as long as you can put up with the hassle of avoiding taxi and horse carriage drivers who are everywhere and have trouble understanding no means no.
One problem is the building work going on at the hotel on the 6th floor, we had booked a full nile facing room and ended up on the 3rd floor right underneath it. After a complaint to the reception Manager we were offered a room away from the noise and nothing more was heard.
Fortunately the hotel is only half full, so not a problem at the moment. When I mentioned the building work to our Kuoni rep. he denied any knowledge of it, so be warned as this work is going to go on for a few more months.
Food in Italian and Lebanese resturants very good and priced only slightly higher than local resturants, drink prices are however high, soft drinks are better bought in Arkwrights supermarket on the way to the Puddleduck resturant (see separate review).
Hotel located in main street, beside nile a short taxi ride from the Luxor Temple. Loved it, pity about the street hassle.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us despite your room changing circumstances. We feel that you were satisfied from our immediate actions and we always aim to satisfy our guests’ needs.
Regarding the building work: it has now ceased, may we explain that as from tomorrow 09/10/11 all our future guests will not be affected by it during their stay with us.
Also, the drinks in the hotel are priced according to the hotel taxes that we incur. The beautiful ambience, surroundings and entertainment provided in our hotel is also reflected on the just above average costs, also the excellent standard of service that we pride ourselves on.
However, apart from these minor issues that you mention here on Trip advisor we feel that you departed from our hotel as a satisfied guest having enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us! We hope that you will return to us for another stay sometime…
Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing