We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Welcome to Your Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“"Welcome to Your Home"”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is what the security guard said to me as I passed through security at the front of the hotel. I had just arrived from Aswan on a 6 hour ride from Aswan (with stops at Komombo and Edfu). It was hot when we got to the hotel and the cold hibiscus tea that was served was refreshing.

Check-in went smoothly and took no more than 10 minutes. The hotel is actually two buildings separated by an open courtyard. One building faces the Khaled Ibn Al Walin Street and the other building opposite the courtyard faces the Nile. We were on the building facing the Nile and my room is classified as a Side Nile View Room. It was on the 4th floor Room 416. The room is spacious, somewhat dated, but very clean. The bathroom was equally big with a nice set of toiletries. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean. Kudos to the housekeeping staff for doing a good job everyday cleaning my room. The best part of the room was that it has a nice powerful airconditioner. Did I mention it was hot in Luxor.

There is free wifi but only on the lobby of the building that fronts the Nile. In room wifi is available for a fee. The free wifi is very slow and good for sending e-mails with one photo attached. Any more and you will be waiting for a long time to upload.

My view was a side Nile view with a decent size balcony. I love sitting on this balcony in the early morning just watching the Nile.

There are at least five restaurants on site, but some of them were closed due to the low occupancy. The Nubian Café was only open for breakfast. For lunch, it was the Italian restaurant or the pool café which serves decent sandwiches and fish and chips. For dinner, the Italian and the Lebanese was open. There was a Thai Restaurant but it never opened.

The grounds of the hotel beautiful. It has terrace above the Nile River. Pool was large with a separate pool for the kids.

The only thing that irritated me was that the hotel requests that guests not bring any water or food from the outisde. They claim that it was for security reasons, but I they just wanted you to purchase their own water and food. We were able to smuggle bottled water in large quantities so this was not strictly enforced.

I would stay at this hotel again if I ever get back to Luxor. It was a nice way to end our trip to Egypt.

Room Tip: Go for a Nile View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank ArchiBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for posting the lovely review here on TripAdvisor. It would appear that you much enjoyed your stay in Egypt and here in our hotel before you flew back to San Francisco.
The safety and the health of our guests is of paramount importance. There have been occasions in the past when unscrupulous people have, for example, refilled water bottles to sell containing tap water or even worse. Likewise, food from outside sources can not be guaranteed to have been hygienically prepared using good quality ingredients. We just want our guests to have a trouble free holiday.
It does get hot in Egypt but this is tempered somewhat with the low humidity. If you are thinking of returning then perhaps you could consider visiting during the much cooler winter months when you might find the temperatures more agreeable.
We do hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future and give us the opportunity to welcome you again to your second home.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    498
    127
    55
    37
See reviews for
355
893
137
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shelle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we stayed at steigenberger during the easter hollidays . we had a wonderfull room with a fantastic view on the nile . the hotel has got a great location. right in the center of luxor . breakfast was fantastic and all off the staff are very friendly and helpfull. rooms are very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank patrickrashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for such a positive review about our hotel. Special thanks for mentioning our attentive staff and room cleanliness as well as the variety of the food we serve at breakfast time.
Kindest Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

For a history fan, a visit to Luxor is a dream come true. Such is the majesty and immensity of the monumental structures left behind by ancient Egyptians that everything else becomes secondary. Well, the experience at Steigenberger was slightly unreal too, but only because this huge top end hotel was practically empty. Complete sections were closed and made it seem a little eerie in the evenings. Of course, that is a factor of Luxor being empty at the moment due to the perception of uncertainty hanging over the nation. Luxor seems especially badly affected, and all the hotels on the way seemed to have few guests.

The hotel is on the east bank of the Nile, along with many others, including the iconic Winter Palace. It is one of the most southern of hotels, though very much within walking distance of the city centre. There are many shops right outside. One block faces the Nile, and there can be few things more relaxing than a view of the slender felucca-dotted Nile in the backdrop of the Valley of the Kings from your balcony. Curl up with a book and your favourite tipple, and relaxation is guaranteed.

Check was fairly fast. The Nile view room itself was, well, standard. Comfy bed, proper desk, decent wardrobe, living room set of a round table and couple of chairs, with a plate of complimentary sweets, a balcony overlooking the Nile. Aircon worked well. The TV had some international channels. Lights were okay. Few plug points. No slippers. Washroom spacious, amenities just okay. One unusual touch – a shoe horn in a drawer! Room could probably do with a little brightening up though. Just one shocker – no water – or indeed tea/coffee maker, though available at a nominal charge. Water, at low rates, is available in the shops just outside the hotel’s entrance. The door keys seemed to cause quite a few people hassles.

Due to paucity of guests, some of the restaurants were closed – though an Italian (Casa Di Napoli), a Lebanese (El Tarboush) and a French restaurant (Café Des Délices) – all outdoor, were operational. There is also a Movenpick ice cream counter in this open courtyard. Food was decent, and a group of us ordered fairly diverse choices. The food is pricier than options outside. Breakfast buffets at Nubian were good too, fairly extensive, with multiple continental choices. The perpetual favourite however – fresh, crisp, falafel with thick, delectable hummus. Two added sidelights to breakfast – a delightful bunch of sparrows will politely hover around to share your meal, and appreciate any crumbs going their way. Also, it is by the river, so again, the Nile will mesmerize. Surely a bonus?

The hotel is pretty extensive, with many open public areas. There seemed to be a largish retail area within the hotel, though a significant part seemed closed. The reception has an ATM, though rates are better at local exchanges, we were reliably informed. Wifi is charged except for in the bar, but then you have to get something there!

There is a clover leaf shaped pool, with many loungers, all ready for you to put to good use. Yes, a nice pre-lunch swim, followed by a post lunch snooze. Just a few metres from the pool, down a little culvert, is the Nile. There is also a health club and spa.

Staff was okay, English wasn’t always a language all staff understood, but you can get by with smiles and gestures. Though not the hotel’s fault at all, the absence of more guests leant an air of desolation. Hope tourists return in bulk again soon to make hotels like these regain their usual vivacity.

Room Tip: Go for a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your valued review here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had great stay with us and we pride ourselves on the good service that we provide to our guests. It was nice to know the service met your expectations.
Special thanks for mentioning the amenities such as swimming pool with stunning view over the Nile and our restaurants which offer tasty food for our guests.
Also thank you for supporting Luxor in these days. It is nice to hear your dreams came true by visiting our beautiful historical city.
We do hope you will come to us again in the future.
Kind regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in Steigenberger during the Easter break in April and I just cant understand the negative reviews some people have given it...
We had a Nile View room and the room was extremely spacious, the bathroom was also spacious, the quality of the toiletries was good. The breakfast had an extremely large selection of items.
Of the two restaurants, we tried only the Italian one. Found it to be very good, reasonably priced (of course not compared to Street food). The Cafe served very good sandwiches, the pool is nice and big.. There is a lovely view from the sun-loungers as the hotel is directly on the Nile. I must say that if the hotel were to be full there would be a shortage of loungers but as the occupancy was low we could pretty much choose our spot.
The front desk was amazingly friendly, Truly service with a smile, even offered us free late checkout.
The location of the hotel is spot on... Just opposite to the hotel is a bookstore, ask them I believe the name is Aboudy bookstore.. Excellent collection of books on Egypt. The general store opposite the hotel gives very good rates for currency conversion better than the bank...

We really had a relaxing time,.
All in all I would give the hotel 5 Stars.. the only fly in the ointment is that their free Wifi only in the breakfast area is limited to 64 Kbps..Extremely slow.. but atleast they had Free Wifi..

Do not think twice.. just book steigenberger...

Room Tip: Nile View Rooms only, quieter and spectacular view.. Sunset from balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Deepak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
  Thank you for posting such a lovely Review. We are aware of the limited speed of our free WiFi internet connection which can be frustrating at times for guests who perhaps enjoy a high speed fibre optic connection at home. We are looking at the various options which are about to come available within Egypt and will be offering a much faster connection just as soon as we can. We are pleased that you found your stay so relaxing. Here in Luxor there is so much to do and see and well as having the sunny climate for you to ‘chill out’ after a session of sightseeing. Many guests comment on the quality and range of food offered in our various outlets and we are pleased that you also enjoy the offerings. We much enjoy having you stay with us and hope that you will return in the not too distant future

Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assiut,egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

very nice location on the nile river , rooms are so clean and well equipped . swimming pools for kids so nice . I ask for a baby setter services and they provide it with acceptable price . I hope they add kids garden I think this is the only remaining . I was on B&B but I try dinner in the hotel for one day and it was also very nice one

Room Tip: nile view is so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank dr_khayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
  Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are lucky to have such an amazing position on the bank of the Nile with far reaching views across to the hills on the West Bank. We take you point about a garden area for the children and although we do have limited space available this may be a possibility and we will look into it. We do hope that you will be able to return sometime in the future and it will be our pleasure to host you again.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I realise I went here last year but I always look at reviews on TripAdvisor to help me pick holiday locations. Me & my boyfriend stayed here the end of June to beginning of July last year & were slightly unfortunate to end our trip when the political trouble started, though the hotel was completely out of the troubled area.
The hotel staff completely blew me away, I have never had service like this before in my life. Everyone was so helpful, friendly & attentive. The hotel was very clean & sanitary.
The food was fantastic, we were B&B, the selection at breakfast you can't fault, there is a variety of food to suit everyone & you don't need to worry about fresh fruit etc as it is all washed with bottled water not tap. We also tried some of the in house restaurants, which were also amazing!
This hotel was fairly quiet but then again Luxor is not your typical all out entertainment/big hotel strip kinda place. The entertainment put on by the hotel is pretty much the same every night, but is nice to experience if you have never seen it before, plus the dancers got the guests involved wherever possible.

The pool area is spacious, clean & lovely. The music by the pool is not too loud like in other resorts which adds to the tranquility of it.

I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Luxor. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank louiseal-naimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is great to hear we met all the aspects you were looking for and we made you satisfied.
Thank you for your comments about our staff who you found very attentive and professional. Also special thanks for the information about the breakfast we do provide for our guest. We do our best to please all our guest.
We believe you come back again and spend your time with us

Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Although luxor is empty, or almost so, you could not wish for a better welcome upon entering this hotel.
Only 10 guests while I was there.
Service is always good and of course no rush to get a sun lounger around the fantastic pool...
Breakfast on the terrace with a Nile view and early evening drink watching the sunset. Nothing could be better..
At the salon, my new best friend
Doaa, gave me a fantastic pedicure and nail polish while we drank tea and chatted, so relaxing..
Mohamed, the doorman greets me like family.. I will be returning ASAP for another great visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
33 Thank Hassanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind and positive review. We are delighted that you felt like being ‘at home’ with us. We also believe you will recommend Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel to your friends and relatives.
We are excited to hear you found our facilities, such as swimming pool, very enjoyable as well as the beauty salon. We do want our guess tot feel welcomed and relaxed.
It was our pleasure to provide our services for you and we look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Fron Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing