We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had two amazing weeks here in Luxor, staying at this fab hotel.
The staff were very good and very attentive, from reception to pool staff, hamdy from the tropicana pool var was very very helpful, looked after us from day one! This young man needs a promotion and should be given more control over other staff members that need more training to become as good as him.
The rooms are very clean and well kept, air con was great and much needed.
The food in the hotel was exceptional and well varied.
We had a lovely room over looking the river Nile and this was lovely.
My only disappointment was the wifi and the lack of interest for English guests, they seemed to focus on the Kuwaitian's big group, rather than us the Thomson passengers, I understand that the hotel was quiet and this effects, entertainment and other facilities, however maybe a small appreciation of our business would have gone a long way! The big football screen was only put up for the large group of Kuwaitian's and the English football was put on a small tv in a bar.
We visited all different restaurants here in Luxor with special thanks to 'The Lantern' and 'The Jewel of the Nile' very nice small restaurants, however the hotel food was great too.
Special thanks to the Mena in the spa his amazing massages and treatments. Thank you.

Room Tip: Nile view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are delighted to know that you had two amazing weeks and we much appreciate you telling others about your stay here on Trip Advisor.
We fully appreciate your frustration about the speed of the Wi-Fi currently within Egypt and we are actively assessing what is currently available to update our systems and also researching what new technology is likely to be coming along within the next 18 months or so.
We are equally delighted that your found our staff 'good' and 'attentive' and we have noted your comments about both Hamdy and Mena
Thank you also for mentioning the our new Spa facilities which were opened about four months ago and have been well received by our guests.
Since 2011 times for us have been difficult but we have always taken the view that we must strive to be the very best we can be, then our guests will continue to come and stay with us and enjoy our beautiful Nile-side hotel.
Thank you both for staying with us and we sincerely hope that you will be able to return and once again enjoy what is now 'your second home in the sun'.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at 0215 after a terrible journey via cairo and were quickly atttened to at reception and shown to our rooms. Had room service as we were quite hungry. The food came quickly and was well cooked and presented. Good start. The breakfast was plentiful and all the staff polite and friendly. Stayed by the pool first day and the attendants were extremely helpful and nothing was to much trouble and always done with a smile. Except for some people from essex ( maybe not but they sounded like it) who thought why talk when we can shout. One middleaged member of their group was the perfect example of " builders bum" - Not a pretty site!!!
Had some luch in the poolside snack bar and again excellent.
Rooms :- Had a3rd floor smoking room overlooking pool with a nile view and my partner had a non smoking room on the fifthso she could be away from my smoking!. The description of nile view is a bit misleading as yes the nile is there in front BUT only limited to extent of Hotel The full nile view is for suites and the pictures can be a bit misleading, however the rooms were large with everything except tea/coffee making which if required was £5 per day !!! In this class of hotel you would expect this as standard not an extra.
The balcony was large enough for two sun beds as well as the two chairs and table.
The restaurants :- Nubian (except for breakfast) and Thai were closed leaving only the Italian - this was good and the Lebonese which was not. Stay away from this one.
Problem with eating out except for other hotels was the power cuts. With temperature over 100 it was not enjoyable eating without aircon. The cuts tended to be from 30 to 60 minutes so if you timed it wrong it was a long HOT meal.
So overall I would highly recommend the Hotel mainly for the wonderful staff who by the end of our week felt more like friends than staff, the rooms and the service. ( more like 4* + Just not 5)
You must visit Alladins cave opposite the hotel as Saladin is not pushy has best exchange rates and is cheaper for cigarettes gin etc than anywhere. He prides himself on "having everything" one couple asked "Do you have helicopter" at which point he produced two from beneath the counter. Also look at his alabaster items which are same quality as the shops you are "taken2 to on Vally of Kings tour but CHEAPER.
Try Luxorfor you for tours as Ahmed is extremly helpful and his knowledge of Egyptology is excellent and we actually enjoyed listening to him. The Vally of the Kings is a rip off. You seem to have your hand permantly in your wallet - even for the toilet use!
Hope you enjoy your stay in Luxor in the future.

Room Tip: If you can afford it buy a suite on 5th floor as view will be magnificent DO NOT book courtyard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank DCorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that, despite it being in the the early hours, your check-in was speedy and this was followed by a timely prepared hot meal, taken in your room.
Most of our guests who do come to Luxor spend the majority of their time out of their rooms but still have the option to take the tea/coffee option if they wish at an additional charge. Incidentally, daily freshly prepared cookies are also provided with that option. We do careful collate our guests comments and these are then regularly reviewed and any adjustments are then made, as appropriate.
The Star Rating is given to the hotel by the Government and it's a star rating appropriate for hotels only in Egypt. Within Luxor there are a number of 5 Star hotels and we maintain that we do offer overall great value for money.
In respect of the views across the Nile and the Lebanese restaurant, we appreciate your personal perspective on these two points.
Power outages throughout Egypt are quite common at this time, but the hotel does have back-up generators which automatically engage and provide some basic power to the hotel's systems.
In order to cater for all budgets we do offer a range of rooms types and suites from city views to courtyard rooms and finally, our Side or Front Nile View Rooms.
Our staff are essential in ensuring that our guest have an enjoyable time with us and we are delighted that, towards the end of your stay, you felt they had become your friends.
We hope that you will be able to return, when your new 'friends' will be waiting to welcome you again to your 'second home'.
Best Regads
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but went for lunch at the Italian restaurant. We had stayed at the Nile Palace a few years ago and it was great to return and relive the memories of having lunch here.

We were recognised as being previous guests here which was fantastic.

Our meal was excellent and the customer service was first class.

Afterwards we had a shisha and ice cream at the Delice place.

We will consider staying here ok our next holiday and wished we had done so for this one. Nile Palace has never failed in providing a high quality level of service and we knew it would still be good even with low occupancy.

We also tried the Lebanese restaurant on another day in the evening and that was also very good.

Well done to Nile Palace staff for maintaining a perfect hotel with a comfortable atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome even although we were just here to eat.
Karen & Lee

Stayed: June 2014
30  Thank kazandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We were all delighted to see you both and much appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your recent dining experiences with us.
We are equally delighted that you are also considering staying with us again for your next Egyptian holiday. We do have guests from time to time who do stay elsewhere but they always come back to what is their second home. We do strive to maintain highest levels of service, cleanliness and food quality and, at the end of the day, everyone is looking for 'value for money'. Reviews on Trip Advisor show that we can and do achieve these benchmark standards.
Perhaps, when the weather in Scotland is cold, wet and windy, you'll be able about to come out and once again enjoy your 'second home in the sun'.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had the chance to spend few days at the Steinberger hotel with few of the usual suspects. It s a little big hotel on the Nile where serenity has decided to lay its wings. Calm, simple but complete, this hotel offers all the possible amenities that one would need during the holidays. The star is there to make your experience as unforgettable and fun as possible. We where allowed to barbecue our own fish and shrimps on the large barbecue behind the pool which made my friend whose passion is cooking delighted, a couple of glasses of wine, the light breeze from the valley upon us, and here you go braced to spend an unforgettable night under the stars. This is what makes the Steinberger different, the possibility to be in it as if it was your own little palace. The rooms are great and spacious and calm. the best ones are on the forefront of the hotel, directly over the nile with a view on the valley of the kings that makes you snap the same picture from your balcony every day at every hour. The food is very good, specially the breakfast with the birds. Make sure to take a feluka/boat from the hotel at sunset and let them drag you in the nile!
I would recommend the hotel for anyone who is looking for elegance, simplicity and warmth.
Thank you for making our stay always unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Langoustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We were delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experiences with us.
We will always do our very best to accommodate requests from your guests and we can tell that you and your friends much enjoyed your very own Nile-side barbecue.
We sincerely hope that you and your friends will return one day and again enjoy what is now 'your own little palace'.

Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A wonderful hotel with excellent service and facilities. It was very quiet when we were there and not all the restaurants were open but there was still enough variety to choose from. The pool provides welcome relief from the sweltering heat and the location is perfect to hire a boat across the Nile and take a trip to the Valley of the Kings. The room was comfortable, clean and well-equipped; the value for money was excellent; and staff were friendly and attentive. Organising a late check-out was easy and the additional charge was reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We much appreciate you taking the time to post your lovely review here on Trip Advisor.We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope that one day you will return once again to enjoy what we and the many ancient sites in and around Luxor have to offer.Luxor is hot at this time of year and quite a few of our regular guests, if they can, tend to visit us over the 'winter months' when the weather is still brilliant, but 'a shade' cooler.
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A well appointed hotel, met Ewan McGregor who was there as well. Excellent swimming pool and facilities A.! for that Rooms were confortable and adequate. B & B the breakfast was quite varied but the same menu every day. The bacon is in fact thinly sliced beef.. More than enough sunbeds around the pool which faces the Nile. Not ideal for young children which in one way is ideal if you're not with any and want peace and quiet.
Evening meals. The Italian restaurant over rated and not like Italian restaurants in the U.K. very disappointing and too heavy on the salt; I wouldn't eat there again. The same applies for the so called Lebanese restaurant when I ordered a lebanese chop, the only thing Lebanese was the name. The chef is supposed to come from Lebanon, obviously his mother didn't teach him how to vook. Tried it a second time and it was even worse, had squid which was like chewing gim and as for the rest of the meal, you can guess. Well over priced averaged £40 a head. Evening entertainment was okay with a singer doing requests and a pianist. Beware of "hawkers" offering cheap trips to the Valley of the Kings. Tales you out mid-day the worse time for heat stroke you should do this at around 0700hrs. We found McDonalds and KFC excellent massive portions and well cooked Beware of the tout at the main entrance when you want a cab. Ignore him and get your own cab Overall a very nice hotel with excellent service and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leslie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review.We are pleased that overall your enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel clean, the service from our staff excellent and the facilities A1.We do note your comments on the food but by far the majority of our guests, as you can read here on trip Advisor, do enjoy the what we offer. Generally in Egypt the preference is for food to be moderately salted, but guests can always request the chefs for no salt to be added to their meals. Being an Islamic country we do not serve pork products and the 'bacon' and indeed the 'sausages' are clearly labelled as beef in the Nubian Restaurant. As the weather is so hot in Egypt we have to buy-in our meat and fish products in frozen form. We accept that this is not as good as using fresh products and this can sometimes compromise the quality.We hope that one day you will return and enjoy our 'very nice hotel'
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is only my 4th vist to the Steigenberger Nile Palace, but as always it is just like coming home. i arrived at 10.30pm after a long day of traveling, but the welcome i recived at reception was wonderful, luggage is taken to your room, check in takes no time at all, and you will have a wonderful nights sleep, the beds are the most comfortable i have ever slept in. The breakfast choice is amazing you are spoilt for choice. The rooms are spacious and are very clean, towels changed at least once a day. I was on a b/b basis but you can have dinner in the hotel..The swimming pool is a good size and there are plenty of sunloungers and parasols.I want to thank all the staff for again making my holiday so wonderful. i also want to thank Hassen my waiter at breakfast, he is so helpful every day he brought my pot of tea without me asking for it, also Mohamed the dining room manager at breakfast for making me smile every day. Als i want to thank Ibrahime and Ash at the pool for keeping me in the shade always moving my parasol around. I travel alone but i feel very safe in the hotel, also i must say that i walk to the restaurant outside the hotel on my own and i feel safe. Please come and vist Luxor there is so much to see . if you decide to come stay at the Steigenberger you will love it to me it is the best hotel in Luxor.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a room with a view of the nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank HappyH4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Front Office Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

 Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review here on Trip Advisor.We were all delighted to see you again and are very happy that you had another enjoyable holiday with us.We have passed your comments on to the staff members you mentioned and they were appreciative that you remembered to mentioned them individually.We hope that you will visit us again soon, this time for your 5th visit, perhaps when the weather in Oxfordshire is 'cold, wet and windy' ? You will always be most welcome to your 'second home in the sun
Best Regards
Mohamed Hebashy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
908 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#10 of 54 in Luxor
1,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £37 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing