We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel of mixed appeal? Very good one though!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel of mixed appeal? Very good one though!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

This is the first time we have stayed in a hotel 'complex, such as this. It is what I imagine a package tour location to be like - everything you could want without venturing outside the hotel gates (if that is your thing). However everything about it internally was grandiose (rooms/decoration etc). Could not fault the service/quality.

The pool area was well landscaped (very photogenic) and jetties provided for Felucca's to dock right outside for those excursions to the Valley of the Kings on the other bank of the Nile. What a view from the Nile facing Balconies - especially the hot air balloons rising at sunrise.

I can see that some rooms balconies were not as good as ours was and yes, there is a mix of people staying there (I refer to the other review about tattood people). By the way tattoos were actually being sold at the poolside - perhaps that was the explanation!? We had great fun in the Cotton Shop, the sales girls were an experience and no way pushy. All shops and restaurants are hotel provided so it is not like the street vendors outside.

Wonderful Hotel with some class, for those of us who can't afford the Snobby Hotels (Winter Palace) if you want the latter - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCCKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    484
    124
    54
    35
See reviews for
345
877
130
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin; Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

We just come back from egypt where we stopped in the Nile palace Hotel in Luxor. you will find many places to visit and many hotels you could stay in but the Nile palace is good one . the hotel very clean and very beautiful. The rooms excellent with river view. My husband was so glad by balcony and view .the swimming pool was nice and very clean. the breakfast excellent with many Selection of international food. The hotel and staff were kind, considerate and we enjoyed so much .we will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lora_otley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

1. This was without doubt the worst hotel we or I have stayed in since booking a bucket shop holiday to Rhodes as impoverished newlyweds 25 years ago (I should add that I visit hotels approximately 30 times a year for business and vacation). The food court lobby that greets its guests on arrival reminds one of a downbeat Midwestern bus station. The bedroom was large enough, but the balcony had been divided into three so as to allow two other rooms on the corner a sliver of balcony, which had the unusual effect of the other guests watching us change in our room while sitting on their balconies. A significant number of the clientele was of the heavily tattooed kind, one of whose female members found it amusing to pretend to drop her bikini top for the entertainment of the passing boatmen.

The hotel contained several shops, the proprietor of one of which actually pursued us across the hotel lobby in an attempt to persuade us to enter his establishment and the evening meal in the Lebanese style restaurant in the forecourt was memorable only for the fact that a man in a gorilla suit pretended to eat the diners’ food. The piece de resistance was an interchange the next morning with a surly desk clerk who refused to take my word for the number of drinks consumed from the minibar, in spite of having taken an imprint of my credit card the night before, and insisted on sending a colleague to verify this before allowing us to check out. This was a thoroughly depressing 24 hour experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank APRLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Coming back for the second year, my expectations were high. This time, we booked a superior Nile view room and were not disappointed. The balcony was very large although the garden chairs were not too comfortable. This was easily adjusted by carting our indoor armchairs outside and using the garden chairs to put our feet up. They won't get wet! With a glass of St. Emillion (purchased from the airport duty free) it makes for a very pleasant evening looking out over the Nile.

The room itself was very long and had all the ameneities we would expect. Having to pay for tea and coffee each day is still a niggle, but for those that plan ahead (you know who you are) is not an insurmountable problem. Bathroom was very large with separate shower and bath areas.

The hotel retains it's very friendly atmosphere with very attentive service and the willingness of all start to have a quick smile and a chat. No-one ever hinted at a tip during our stay. The friendliness has improved with the disappearance of the water police on the door - never stopped once during our two weeks at the hotel. This is an important improvement!

Had our first meal in the hotel's Thai restaurant which was of a very high standard but mostly ate outside the hotel for the rest of our stay. A particular favourite was the Jewel of the Nile - a bit further away than other restaurants but well worth the five minute walk down little Britain street. For a cheap beer try John and John's upstairs in the Gaddis just down the road. Incidentally, both of these places (as well as McD's and Snacktime by Luxor temple) have free Wi-Fi. Well worth tracking down when the hotel's internet is so exhorbitant.

The pool was clean and we spent plenty of time relaxing around it. Service during our stay was very good, especially at breakfast. Heartily recommend poached eggs or a good omelette from the egg chef. Apart from a light bulb exploding, which was quickly fixed, nothing really went wrong with our stay at all. Room staff and room service were efficient but unobtrusive and always polite.

We also had the bonus of a couple of local weddings during our stay. Don't get me wrong - these things are noisy but they're also good fun to be around and watch. Take it all in good part and you'll enjoy the celebrations.

Overall, this is still my favourite hotel in the world - not because it's the most luxurious or spectacular - purely because it's such a wonderful place to relax and chill out in a superb location with plenty of sun. I just love watching the sun go down from our balcony with the feluccas sailing by. Luxor itself is still wonderful and I'm sure I'll be back when I save my pennies once more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambsie_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutersloh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

With some trepidation we set out on our 2 weeks Egypt holiday. The hotel was the Steigenberger Nile Palace, Luxor. All the reviews for the hotel we had read were excellent, Luxor was a different story. The Hotel was fantastic, as were the staff, who could not do enough for you. We originally had a courtyard balcony but upgraded to a Nile view, this was quite expensive but worth it for the spectacular sunsets every night. Food police on the door were a pain. Cost of a bottle of water in the hotel 20E£ on the street 3E£. We made all our own travel arrangements, ignoring the Thomas Cooke rep, following what had been at best, a bland welcome presentation. The biggest mistake we made was to eat in the hotel for the first week. There are some very nice restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, Maxim's being our favourite. The locals are pushy, but you expect that and at no time were they ever threatening. They are always asking for money from you, but normally for some service or for information they have provided. Small amounts of cash go a long way when you want to take photos as this is how most of the guides make their money. If you don't want to be bothered with them a couple of firm NO's will normally suffice.
The Thomas Cooke Rep in the hotel foyer (apparently no business relation to the UK Thomas Cooke Rep) was very helpful and found us numerous cheap deals on hot air ballooning and a taxi to the Valley of the Kings(the taxi driver was a mine of information and we found this much better than getting on a coach with 40 other people).We took loads of mosi repellent, didn't need it at all! If you want to take a kalesh ride it pays to look for a healthy horse, some of them seem to be in a terrible state.. There is far too much to do in Luxor, we were there for 2 weeks and still didn't get to do everything, but it is a wonderful place for a great holiday and we will definitely be staying in the Nile Palace again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hairy-cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

After checking all the reviews, this hotel stood out, I can see why.

No need to say more, all the previous reviews who rated it highly were correct, thank you all!

The value for money was fantastic, breakfasts were good, the restaurants were good, the rooms spacious. Yes the entertainment was cliched, but it was still provided and brought some atmosphere to the hotel.

The hotel is bright, big and beautiful, walking around it was very nice.

The special thing was the staff, who were helpful, friendly and not overbearing. The doormen would take down the license pate of taxi's that dropped guests off (not sure about pick up), just in case there were any problems, or you forgot items in the taxi.

It was a good location where you could get around easily. Negotiating the fare is another issue however...
Be on your guard at all times and find out how much you should pay for taxi's from other guests, hotel staff and locals that will tell you the truth... good luck!

There is a Catholic church in Luxor, a nice fish restaurant not far from Karnak, Television Street, where the locals live was the best place to hang out in my opinion, weddings take place on everyday of the week!

We stayed at the Sheraton also for a night, while at the same price, it was nice, but we prefered the Steigenberger.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

My boyfriend and I had a super stay at this hotel! all staff very friendly- felt no obligation to tip within the hotel. Good value for money. Good location- opposite english pub and near to english supermarket. Found hotel taxi servivce useful for seeing valley of the kings etc. Saw all sights without the use of overpriced thomas cook rep.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayhelen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Property: Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing