We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amon Hotel, a small haven on the West Bank” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amon Hotel Luxor
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amon Hotel, a small haven on the West Bank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

AMON HOTEL, GEZIRA EL BOIRAT, LUXOR (On the West Bank)
If you are looking for a small, friendly, clean and secure Egyptian hotel away from the tourists then stay at the Amon Hotel.
The hotel has 18 rooms most of which have a balcony overlooking an attractive enclosed garden courtyard. The rooms have comfortable beds, air conditioning, ceiling fans and simple en-suite facilities. (There are some lower cost rooms with shared facilities for long term residents such as archaeologists). There is a roof sun deck - very pleasant near sunset but with no shade.
Breakfast, lunches and dinner are generally served in the cool shady courtyard. There is an al a carte menu featuring simple, Egyptian fare. The hotel uses filtered water for washing food and we ate delicious salads there every day with absolutely no negative consequences.
We found the location ideal. The West bank is significantly quieter and less touristy than the East Bank. The Amon is hidden away in an Egyptian village about 10 minutes stroll from the Nile where you can catch a ferry across to the East Bank when you want. The Valley of the Kings, the Valley of the Queens and the temples of Hatshepsut and Ramesseum are each no more than a 15 minute drive away from the hotel which is a big advantage if you want to see these wonders before the bussed day trippers arrive from the Red Sea resorts. Whatever you do make sure that you see the tombs of the nobles and the tombs of the artisans as well as those of the kings and queens.
Probably the best thing about the Amon are the people –welcoming, helpful and friendly. Ahmed Soliman the owner and his son Mohamed really put themselves out to make our visit rewarding and hassle free. They arranged airport pickup (with a steady competent driver), a guide (Hassan with excellent English), a delightful felucca sail to Banana Island as well as bicycles which we used to tour nearby villages. (Judging by local reaction and frequent welcomes we must have ventured into areas which few tourists reach.)
So if you want to avoid the expensive “Western” hotels on the East bank and fancy a stay closer to the Egyptian people we strongly recommend the Amon. It was a real haven for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    58
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
43
77
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel would be suitable for all types of travellers. The owner is very hospitable and the staff is very attentive. The food is great. The rooms are clean, attractive and comfortable. The balconies overlook the garden restaurant/courtyard below and provide a peaceful getaway from the hustle of touring around Luxor. The price is right. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was traveling with friends, one of whom had stayed here before. The three of us couldn't stop talking about how lucky we felt to have found this place! The stunningly lush and beautiful garden is the perfect antidote to the heat of the sun and the dust that surrounds the too-busy east bank and all of the temples and tombs. The rooms are very clean (spotless, really), well-equipped, comfortable, and attractive, though not plush, and mine had a great terrace and views of the east bank, surrounding village, and mountain beyond. The staff is friendly and helpful and welcoming. And there is a delicious spread for breakfast. It's difficult to find hotels that are friendly and comfortable and charming without being fancy, but this is one. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was fortunate, as a lone female traveller of advance years, to have booked myself into this charming, family-run hotel on the West Bank of Luxor. Ahmed, the owner did everything possible to make my stay an enjoyable one and I am really indebted to him.

The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by his dedicated staff, who looked after my every need. The beautiful courtyard tropical garden is a delight and a perfect place in which to sit with a drink and chill out.

This hotel is perfectly situated for access to the local ferry and the town of Luxor and thence to the Luxor Temple. A trip to Karnak Temple can be made by motor boat from the West Bankand trips to the Valleys of the Kings, Queens, Workers and Nobles are easily reached by taxi, which can be arranged by the Hotel Amon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Amon Hotel has an especially beautiful spacious garden courtyard for outside dining and relaxing with colourful flowering trees, shrubs, water pools, birds, and a family of tortoises.
The staff are kind, alert, and unintrusive. The food is simple, very clean, and healthy. Rooms have balconies that overlook the courtyard and are spotless. Bathrooms too.
Trips to anywhere at any time can be arranged. Planning advice is excellent. Drivers, guides and boatmen are available and well known to the Amon. A boatman took us to amazing Karnak. I rode a quiet Arab horse along the Mile with a young guide on a small grey donkey.
The Amon arranged our trip to Aswan with care and thoughtfulness and we stayed in a lovely small houseboat, a fifteen minute boat ride from Aswan busy town centre, on a peaceful bend of the Nile.
The Amon Hotel was a wonderful surprise for us and I recommend it with all my heart.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony on either side of the courtyard at any level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicelysurprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Laptop in hand, I spent February half-term at the Hotel Amon. Amongst the typical sounds of Egypt, I worked happily whilst positioned on the balcony of my room, overlooking the lovely courtyard garden. I was very well looked after by proprieter Ahmed and his team of workers. My room was clean, basic and functional. It was a good base from which to explore the wonders of the West Bank.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We recently visited Egypt for the first time, and found the Amon Hotel in Luxor to be a wonderful introduction to this fabulous country. The room was comfortable, the staff most welcoming, helpful, friendly and professional, the food delicious, and the tropical gardens an absolute delight. We look forward to a longer stay next year.

Most people come to Luxor to visit the ancient sites. However, the area is also brimming with wildlife. During our short time we spent in the area we saw many varieties of birds, plenty of which visit the gardens of the Amon Hotel.

The area around the hotel is like a village. It is an easy walk to the public ferry which crosses to the East Bank, and from there it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the railway station.

We felt very sorry for the people and businesses who rely on western tourists. Visitor numbers are low at the moment, due partly no doubt to the economic situation, and also to the popular myth that Egypt is unsafe. Well, we felt safe at all times, more so than we do in many places in urban Britain - so if you are looking for a magical, reaonsably priced holiday, go to Egypt!

Room Tip: Although many of the staff speak English, it helps to learn some basic phrases in Arabic. Egyptians...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Property: Amon Hotel Luxor
Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Best Value Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#11 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amon Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing