We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Luxor on the westbank of the Nile”
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amon Hotel Luxor
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Very good hotel to stay some nights when you want to be close to the city center of Luxor but out of the noise and dust. It is a very nice and quiet hotel with a beautiful garden. It is a good basis for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimvl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

We spend two days in the hotel the owner and his son are the most friendliest people i,ve ever met, they will help you with every thing, we stayed in hurgada and we wanted to visit luxortemple. and the valley of the kings mohamed send us a car with driver to hurgada pickt us up and drove us to luxor were we visited the temples and used a feluka to flote to the other side of the nile were he picked us up again and drove us to the hotel amon, nothing is to much for the owner he,s verry nice the hotel got 18 rooms and is kept verry clean from the rooftop you got a super vieuw from the valley of the kings the food is good and they have a verry nice garden your only 500 mtr from the nile were you can see the temple.s at night in full glory.
Its verry good valjou for money, i will recoment it for everybody we had a wonderfull time in egypte and a will come back in this hotel anytime.
Mohamed thank you verry much for your kindness.

Theo From Holland

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mental22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our trip to Egypt started at the Red Sea coast: diving snorkling among corals, relaxing. Then we travelled to Luxor. We found Amon Hotel on the internet, wanted to get away from busy Luxor. Amon on the westbank (El Gezira) is easily reached from the ferri, is calm, clean, staff easy to understand and very helpfull. The garden also is restaurant, and it is fantastic with hundreds of beatiful plants. Walking (and cycling) distance from Amon to the Nile with ferries (bicycles allowed), motor boats, and feluccas to Luxor and excursions on the Nile; cycling distance to temples, Valley of the Kings, Queens and the Noble. Amon is highly recomendable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEgaaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My wife and I booked this hotel through a Lonely Planet recommendation. When we arrived, we were met by sombre un-smiling hotel staff, but all this changed when the owner Mohammad arrived later in the day. He spoke good English, and made us feel more welcome. The hotel is newer and more concrete than I had imagined from the LP review, but the garden and the tables set out in it was a haven of peace and relaxation.
The rooms were spotless, comfortable, good en-suite, safe. The food was good, with fast service, and cold beers. Mohammad was keen to organise transport for trips for us, but these would have been very expensive through him. We easily arranged our own tours with local taxis at a fraction of the cost he would have charged.
Originally they were going to charge us for wireless internet access, but after discussion the owner let us have unlimited access free. So, great!
A safe, comfortable, hotel in a convenient part of the west bank. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Amon Hotel on the West Bank provides an island of tranquility in the middle of busy Luxor. The garden offers a respite from the frantic pace of Egypt and the owner and his son are wonderful hosts. The view from the roof over the Temple of Hatshetsup on the West Bank of the Nile is magnificent at sunset.. A great value and lovely place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Small Hotel with a beautiful garden (with cats and frogs) and clean and very new rooms. The Service is excellent and very friendly. The price is really affordable. Not far away from sightseeing highlights like the valley of kings, rameseum, etc. only 200 meters away you can rent bicycles to get to all interesting temples and relicts of old egypt or take the ship to cross the nile to get to city center and luxor temple

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Away from the hussle of West Bank, quiet small hotel with nice clean rooms with balconies looking onto lovely courtyard and garden. Convenient for ferries to West Bank. Owner and son were friendly - did not rip us off as some reviewers had warned. In fact they could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. Guide and driver for a day was a good experience. Food was good and service excellent. Try the fish tagine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarifamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £18 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amon Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing