We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing getaway”
Review of Amon Hotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amon Hotel Luxor
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a wonderful time at Amon and Mohammed, his father and the crew were very friendly and helpful.
We had a great spacious room with the best shower of the whole three weeks in Egypt (we did not stay in budget places...) with a lovely balcony overlooking the inner garden which we enjoyed a lot while reading a book or having a cup of Karkadesh tea.
Had a nice quiet sleep at night under thick blankets with the cold winter nights.
The west bank and Amon is a breath of fresh air after being chased by touts and caleche drivers at the other side of the Nile. The location close to the sites on the West Bank is the best. I regret not biking around the area as we already had a pre-booked tour and were picked up by our guide.
I highly recommend staying at Amon and would definitely like to return if I visit Egypt again in the future. The only thing I would change is stay there longer!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0teltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

Amon Hotel is a wonderful place to stay while exploring Luxor's West Bank, including the Valley of the Kings and Deir al Bahri.

Hidden down a backstreet in the riverside village of Gezira (5 minutes from the public ferry landing), Amon Hotel seems modest from the outside. However, the family-run establishment feels like a lush garden oasis on the inside. There are three buildings of varying heights, each with stunning roof-top views and clean, comfortable rooms with new bathroom appliances, all centered around a shaded garden area that serves as restaurant and entertainment area for the hotel.

Muhammad Ali and his father were extremely helpful arranging transportation and other necessities during our stay. They treated us like royalty and impressed us with their professionalism and commitment to customer service. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Luxor!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Lovely small hotel in the middle of village life on the West bank of the Nile. Simple rooms with open terraces on every floor complete with lieges for respite and relaxation. Beautiful oasis-like courtyard restaurant. Sincere and helpful staff. Ahmed (father - owner) and Mohammed (son - general manager) go out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay and fulfill any wishes. From tour guides to cars/drivers to horse/camel/donkey rides to ATV rentals - they arrange anything and everything. Fair prices. Don't miss Amon Pie - a delicious warm dessert of fruit, honey, nuts and shaved chocolate and coconut.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaziehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

If you're looking for a great place to stay, look no further. The rooms in Amon hotel are clean, almost spotless - no stain, mold or smell. The whole property is decorated nicely with furniture around every corner for you to relax. The staff (especially Mohammad the manager) were very helpful and friendly, a delightful change from all the touts I've been experiencing. They greeted me with a drink as soon as I arrived, and quickly showed me to my room, where I was pleasantly surprised. Dinner in the courtyard was delicious, with ambiance to match. You can also book all kinds of tours with the hotel and they have a travel agency function too. i strongly recommend this place to anyone who wishes to have a memorable time in Luxor without shelling out a bomb. Thanks Mohammad!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank changwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Very good hotel to stay some nights when you want to be close to the city center of Luxor but out of the noise and dust. It is a very nice and quiet hotel with a beautiful garden. It is a good basis for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimvl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We spend two days in the hotel the owner and his son are the most friendliest people i,ve ever met, they will help you with every thing, we stayed in hurgada and we wanted to visit luxortemple. and the valley of the kings mohamed send us a car with driver to hurgada pickt us up and drove us to luxor were we visited the temples and used a feluka to flote to the other side of the nile were he picked us up again and drove us to the hotel amon, nothing is to much for the owner he,s verry nice the hotel got 18 rooms and is kept verry clean from the rooftop you got a super vieuw from the valley of the kings the food is good and they have a verry nice garden your only 500 mtr from the nile were you can see the temple.s at night in full glory.
Its verry good valjou for money, i will recoment it for everybody we had a wonderfull time in egypte and a will come back in this hotel anytime.
Mohamed thank you verry much for your kindness.

Theo From Holland

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mental22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our trip to Egypt started at the Red Sea coast: diving snorkling among corals, relaxing. Then we travelled to Luxor. We found Amon Hotel on the internet, wanted to get away from busy Luxor. Amon on the westbank (El Gezira) is easily reached from the ferri, is calm, clean, staff easy to understand and very helpfull. The garden also is restaurant, and it is fantastic with hundreds of beatiful plants. Walking (and cycling) distance from Amon to the Nile with ferries (bicycles allowed), motor boats, and feluccas to Luxor and excursions on the Nile; cycling distance to temples, Valley of the Kings, Queens and the Noble. Amon is highly recomendable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEgaaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amon Hotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amon Hotel Luxor

Address: Al-Bairat | El-Gezirat, West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Luxor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#10 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £18 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amon Hotel Luxor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the informal atmosphere, where international guests will feel comfortable for weeks! The hotel is on the West Bank of Luxor, overlooking the mountains of the desert to one side and the East Bank of the Nile on the other. It is a five minute walk to the ferry and the smaller taxi boats for a five minute crossing of the Nile River. The hotel sits quietly in the middle of the village of Al Bairat with its small shops, stables, rural village life and nearby fields; near the tombs and the temples of the West Bank. Almost all of the 17 rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower and air-conditioning and have large balconies with furniture that are ideal for a relaxing time overlooking the garden or street. On the roof terraces you can enjoy the sunset and sunrise, relax or sunbathe on the deck chairs. The beautiful garden of wonder. The marvelous lotus pond, the twin fountains and rich variety of tropical plants are an invitation for enjoying breakfast or to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amon Hotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Amon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing