We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location for sightseeing BUT tradeoff on noise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emilio Hotel
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for sightseeing BUT tradeoff on noise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in 2010 and enjoyed the experience enough that when i went back to Luxor in April 2012 i stayed there again (4 nights this time).

The hotel is right on the busiest corner in town. Traffic is noise in Egypt so if you have a road side room then you will hear the cars and their horns. The noise is pretty constant from around 6:40 (after evening prayers) until around 11-midnight. Aften then it quietens down a fair bit although not to nil.

The aircon units are Carrier 'Heavy Duty' which means they blast out polar air. So if you are in the bed next to the unit then yes it is freezing. There is however a thermostat on the aircon si simply but turning it down from the 7 staff set it to you can get a decent night sleep. Its not that hard to manage.

The in room safe is a joke. It is not secured to anything so you could pick it up and walk off. There is a hotel deposit box which is more secure at reception. I suggest using that.

The location is this hotels secret though. It is within spitting distance of Luxor temple. About 1/3 of the rooms have a direct line of sight view of the temple (and it really is no more than 100 yards away). The souq is about 50yds away for evening entertainment and the Nile is about a 4 minute walk.

The hotel has a rooftop pool with a bar (22 Egyptian pounds a 500ml beer, reasonable price). Of course the rooftop has views of Luxor temple the Nile and the West Bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nziain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    46
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
13
40
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

the staff do not help you they need a lesson in how to speak to the visitors . the rooms are small .the doors dont lock the safe you can carry away with you. no hot water. as for the food i will leave this one out .. as others may have said dont use the rat pit please use other hotels in luxor .which are cheaper and staff will help you to enjoy your stay please be warned dontstay at the emilio you have been warned .

Room Tip: not at this hotel beter one along luxor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Luxor, just in front of the Luxor temple. . The rooms were small, but very clean and good beds. The breakfast was good. The free wifi in the lobby was good, although we had to ask several people before we got the password.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen vdS v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Overpriced and falling down. Surly, rude staff who cared nothing about customers. Forgotten something? Just walk around the balcony, enter any room (locks have all be busted off) take the safe (not bolted down) or whatever clothes you want. Get frozen by the aircon just above your ear when in bed. (see the photos) You won't be sleeping though as the hotel is on the busiest corner in Luxor.
We booked in looked round and booked out all within the hour.
AVOID THIS HOTEL.
There are plenty of good ones nearby like the new Pola (same price) or Sheraton (suprisingly just a bit more expensive).

Room Tip: Dont get a room here. Better hotels nearby. Vote with your feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed several nights here with our tour group and the location was great, within walking distance to many places and a market right across the street. The breakfast was good and the hotel staff was helpful with questions, helping us mail out postcards and the laundry service was great! Our room was pretty small and a little worn down but it was comfortable enough. The lobby is nice with a couple of smalls shops and a little bar area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chels0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of our tour in Luxor. We checked in with our tour manager who booked the room for us and he managed to negotiate a check out time of 6 p.m with the reception as we were due to depart until 11 p.m. the next day via train.
The porter took us to our room and tried to make us tip him even though our tour manager had already advised that he would be paying for this!
The room was a decent sized and clean, the view outside the room was of the construction site next door. The air con unit was very loud and we found the temperature dial wouldn't work on it so we had to switch if off as it was far too cold for October!
The bed frame creaked everytime we moved or turned on it and the road outside was very busy which meant that we didn't get much sleep.
The next day we got a call at 12.30 p.m from Reception advising us that we were supposed to have checked out at 12.00 p.m, we informed him that our tour manager had arranged for us to stay until 6.00 p.m but the guy on the phone was very rude and insisted we leave the room immediately or pay for another night. This was very annoying as we were with the tour manager when he agreed with Reception our check out time the day before and the Reception staff semed very agreeable at that time!!
We therefore had to rush to pack our things and check out. We were not leaving Luxor until 11.00 p.m in the evening so we decided to go for a walk around the Luxor temple. As soon as we left the hotel we were hassled by the locals who were very persistant with trying to sell us something!
This was our first time in Luxor and we were somewhat put off and suprised by the persistance of the local traders who sometimes bordered on being forcefull, which was the opposite of what we found in Cairo and Aswan.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazahstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great hotel, we loved it. We booked this place online and we were actually surprised what we got for our money. We had a good stay here, can;t fault it and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#12 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
0.2 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 58 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emilio Hotel

Property: Emilio Hotel
Address: Youssef Hassan Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Domina Emilio Hotel)
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
Hotel Class:3 star — Emilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Emilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domina Emilio
Emilio Hotel Luxor
Domina Emilio Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing