We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Emilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emilio Hotel
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
pescia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“dont go”
Reviewed 31 July 2008

I had booked with Agoda this hotel. When I arrived everything was dusty and they were making renovations. My room was ready, but the workers were in the hallways all the time starting at 8 o'clock in the morning because they worked in the rooms in front of mine. I have gone away after one night and me I won't return anymore in this hotel. When Agoda has called the manager he said that it was not true and the work is only outside of the hotel and not inside the hotel.This is not true, the inside of the hotel was dirty and full of tools and materials for the restauration. You look at the picture and you judge .

  • Liked — now is terrible
  • Disliked — now is on restructuration its dusty
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fuorifirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    46
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
13
40
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I have stayed at the Emilio in the past and have enjoyed it especially for the pool which is a real blessing in the 110 degree heat.
I booked again for this recent trip via the internet and was still able to get the $30 a night rate.

Anyway, I arrived to find the hotel under complete re-construction. There is an enormous pile of rubble and scafolding right outside the front door. There is dirt and dust everywhere and a lot of workmen walking the hallways. The lightbulbs in the halls have not been replaced in forever so walking the stairs is dangerous as there is no natural light in the halls. It's located on the most busy street in Luxor which is extreamy noisy with horns blasting constantly. I think it may even be louder than Cairo!

It was very depressing! I left after one night and found an excellent hotel down the street called SUSANNA HOTEL. It just opened two weeks ago. the patio looks out over the Temple of Luxor and the Nile. It has big rooms with high ceilings, a very nice staff (ask about drivers to the west bank) and a tiny pool on the roof. Everyone more than helpful.

Forget the Emilio, stay here!

Emilio staff said work on the hotel would be another month but by the looks of it it should be more like 6+!

Thicket123

  • Liked — hated it
  • Disliked — should not be open in current condition
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thicket123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Stayed at this hotel during December 2007 with me partner. Hotel is fairly new and clean. The place has a septic feel to it and is always shining. The girls that work there are very hard working and make sure your rooms are tidy and clean. Every morning they used to make fancy art work with the towels, very impressive. Anyway, the manager is not as polite as he will try to milk you out of your pockets once you request further stay for few hours, as this can happen depending on what time your flying. Don’t pay him a Penny; use the facility at the foyer to store your luggage. There is also a shower facility next to the luggage area, remember this is a facility provided for people who have a late flight but have to check out at 12pm. so do not feel shy and use the facility. On with the review, the hotel is located on a busy street AND I MEAN BUSYYYY!!!. ITS VERY NOISY AND LOUD, if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back or take ear pluggggggggsss!!!. There is a terrace restaurant, very expensive to eat in, don't bother. Lounge is a disappointment, very small and does not feel like a lounge, rather a waiting area. On the whole i would go again to this place as it suits the budget traveller and is clean. Anyway just like to say hi to Steve and Susanna from Derby and the lot from Liverpool. (Amo & Lila Oldham)

  • Liked — tidy
  • Disliked — limited space
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

Hotel has a good location near the towns center. We had a nice view to the Luxor temple and Nile, over the near buildings (we were on the 6th floor).

Hotels location is also one of the minuses. It's right in the corner of Luxors busiest roads, so the noise of traffic is quite loud. Cars use their horns only to past the crossing. Also when we were there, they were tearing down the building next door. It didn't cause any extra noise but the volume of sand dust was huge (I couldn't use the balcony because of it).

I woke up few times to the sound of praying call from the near by mosque . But as there are mosques all over the town, you can't escape the sound in the area.

The staff is friendly but we didn't manage to get a safety box despite of their promises (the answer was always "perhaps in the afternoon" or "tomorrow").

The hotels dinner consisted of four courses, starting with warm soup, salad, warm main course and dessert. We got to dine free of charge because of the construction work next door. The food was okay, I liked the soup the best. The desserts were usually fruit (two bananas or oranges).

The breakfast was okay also. You could have toast, scramble eggs and some Egyptian specialties (we were afraid to taste, looked like meat sauce and smashed potatoes).

The pool area was small on the top floor. The pool was good although filled with cold water. You could get pool towels from the bar and I suggest you get them as the mattresses are quite dirty.

I can't say that the room was clean by the European standard, the fridge cover looked like it hadn't seen a cloth in months and also the tables. We didn't have hand towels or hairdryer. It was sometimes nice that the cleaner made figures out of the towels. But it wasn't so nice when the towels hadn't had the chance to dry after morning shower and the cleaner didn't change them. So, we had quite moist towels on our beds.

All in all the hotel was okay. I wouldn't recommend this for relaxation. It's a basic hotel for tourists on a tight budget.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not so clean
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We recently stayed for a week at the Emilo. The hotel is very cheap and you get a lot for your money. The rooms are small but very clean, and the bathroom was good.

Reception area was always very busy, lots of tour groups. The rooftop pool was nice with wonderful views over Luxor temple and the Nile. The breakfast is good.

Only real downside is the outside noise. The hotel is on what must be the busiest corner in Luxor with a very noisy bus stop right outside.

  • Liked — Value for money, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Outside noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and normally book direct, however it was cheaper this time to book via travel republic. On this stay though the manager demanded £10 in cash upon my arrival, firstly intimating that if I wanted a good room then I should make the extra payment, then when I questioned that he said that the payment was for a party that was to take place on the roof of the hotel, he was very insistant that the £10 was paid even though I didn't really want to attend the party, when I asked If I could have a safety deposit box for free he told me I could have one for half price at 5 egyptian pounds per day ,well the normal price I know is 5 egyptian pounds so he can be a little bit tricky to deal with. On the other hand I found all of the staff very friendly and helpful at all times, my room was cleaned every day, the food in the hotel is ok, but is very much more expensive than the restaurants nearby, the cost of drinks is very high, ie a large bottle of water is 2 or 3 egypt pounds outside of the hotel as against 10 egypt pounds from the hotel. One more point is when you arrive, if you have two bags, it seems a porter can only carry one bag, so you end up with two porters and as a consequence, have to pay two tips, the same thing will happen when you are leaving, you will find the porters and cleaners, become very attentive on the day you are due to leave, even hanging around outside your room!!!!

Please please do not use the horse carriages not only are they very dangerous but you will undoutably get ripped off by them, If you can't resist though, please make sure there are no more than three passangers and DON'T allow the driver to gallop the horse. If you need to see more reasons why you should not use the horse carriages search the web for Ace Egypt, and Awol Egypt.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The high price of drinks
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Luxor_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

emilio hotel, right in the centre view of luxor temple from balcony.
very clean rooms friendly staff
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
my stay at this hotel was great, location was one of the best. first impression of luxor was a bit scary but after a day or two i got right used to it.

hotel was noisy and people who we met complained but in the city centre of anywhere you get traffic noise + we were there during ramadan - so extra noise.. but overall we got used to it after a day or two.

the girls that clean the rooms couldnt have done a better job, all the staff are so friendly- i didnt want to leave.

dont be put off by all the taxis/ caleches and other hassle from outside just say no or ignore them and walk on.

prices go up in october for the tourist season, but its still quite cheap!

also there is a little church over the road, and when there is a wedding on (one day a week) they get drums out and allsorts- fab to listen too from your balcony!)

  • Liked — staff/ cleanliness
  • Disliked — didnt have a clue who we were when we turned up.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pip85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
1.2 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emilio Hotel

Property: Emilio Hotel
Address: Youssef Hassan Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Domina Emilio Hotel)
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Hotel Class:3 star — Emilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domina Emilio
Emilio Hotel Luxor
Domina Emilio Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing