We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, incredible location”
Review of Emilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emilio Hotel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
414 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great value, incredible location”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although not luxurious, the hotel is clean, can rely on good service and and a nice restaurant and, most of all, has a great location. Nothing beats the incredible view over Luxor Temple, the sphinx alley and the Hatshepsut's Temple across the Nile. You can enjoy it from the upper terrace, sipping a drink next to the swimming pool at sunset, when the temple is lit by spotlights making it a magic view. Of course, being on the crossroad of the main streets, it can be very noisy as Egyptians love to hunk the horn but hey, that is the price that you sometimes have to pay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    46
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
13
41
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Don't expect luxury. This hotel has a super location as you have a great view over Luxor Temple, the sphinx alley and even Hatshepsut's Temple across the Nile. The upper terrace is great. Of course, being on the crossroad of the main streets, it is also noisy. Staff was friendly and helped us find mattresses that were a little more confortable, to have a working fridge etc.

Room Tip: See if everything works in your room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Have stayed in Emilio at least 5 times now as it is right in the heart of the locals and has a great atmosphere. Always have a room on 6th floor as the views are spectacular, Luxor Temple, The Nile and if you lean slightly you can also see hatshepsut's Temple. Staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help, rooms are not huge but they are clean, have a fridge, tv, air con, comfy beds etc and you can shower any time day or night with hot water!
This hotel is a perfect base for sightseeing/touring Egypt, it's not luxury but it's clean & comfortable. See you again in April my friends.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Luxor Temple (but expect street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stopped over last year

Staff friendly and food not too bad it could have been a lot worse.
The club sandwiches where very good.

The views from the top of the hotel fantastic. Beautiful views of Luxor Temples.
It was very sad to see so few tourists there at the he times of our visit. Luxor Temple
was empty.

A good hotel to stay if you are traveling through Egypt.

So close to all amenities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

First I have to say I'm very surprised at some of the negative reviews on here, they certainly don't reflect what I saw or experienced on our visit in October 2012.

We found the Emilio to be very friendly, the rooms were perhaps a little spartan, but still had a fridge, TV and air conditioning all of which functioned well and provided a superb view of the Luxor temple and avenue of the Sphinxes and a great location for walking round the city, especially the nearby souk, but also for access to the temple and river and is only a short taxi / horse ride to Karnak - great stuff and huge fun especially if you or your daughter want to pretend to be Cinderella!

There's a decent breakfast, lunch and evening meal facility on the roof and the added joy of seeing Swallows swoop down for a quick drink out of the pool, which is good for a quick refreshing dip, though a little cold. Sunset time on the roof is definitely worth doing for fantastic views and unless you're expecting the Park Lane Hotel then you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Try getting a room high up in the corner looking out toward the Nile and avenue of the sphinxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I thought that the Emilio was a bit over priced but wanted to try it anyway. The rooms were good except for one big problem, my balcony door did not lock and a person could very easily access one balcony from all of the others as they are connecting. The safe box didn't work and the shower was in need of water repair. I changed rooms only to find the same problems in the second room but as it was 12:30 am I was too tired to move a third time. In the morning, when I booked out, I asked for a price reduction and all they gave me was a $3 reduction. So the rooms are clean but there are problems, and not just in one room. There are many other places to stay in Luxor; I would suggest you keep searching.

Room Tip: Make sure your balcony door lock and that the water runs okay before you unpack because you might ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is right in the cenre of Luxor , minutes from the Corniche , the excellent Luxor Museum, nice restuarants & an ATM nearby . The room I had was clean , plenty of hot water. The food was basic but good , swimming pool great for a splash after sight seeing , superb views of the valley Of The Kings. Free WIFI. There are some great hotels in Luxor , pop into the Winter Palace for a drink but if you want somewhere decent to stay then consider the Emilio, yes it can get noisy outside but hey this is Egypt. If you want to experience the magic & mystery of Ancient Egypt visit the Luxor Temple at sundown , it truly is magical.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Philippe Hotel
Philippe Hotel
#49 of 54 in Luxor
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal House Hotel
Royal House Hotel
#44 of 54 in Luxor
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emilio Hotel

Property: Emilio Hotel
Address: Youssef Hassan Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Domina Emilio Hotel)
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Hotel Class:3 star — Emilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domina Emilio
Emilio Hotel Luxor
Domina Emilio Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing