We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I had a day use at this hotel and it was very good experience. The staff was friendly and nice. The room was lovely. The bathroom was narrow.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Only1maro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    109
    47
    31
    52
See reviews for
45
76
102
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Like others, we had been put in the Gaddis by our tour company at the end of our holiday to await the dispersal of the ash cloud which took 4 days. In that time, the owner John was the most welcomimg and accomodating host one could possible hope to meet. He organised entertainment for our group every evening, offered books, irons, hairdryers etc. all free of charge. He even phoned the airline for us every day so we always knew first thing every morning what was happening.Whilst it is true that the hotel needs a lick of paint, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced and the staff were the most friendly you could wish to meet. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good well priced accomodation in Luxor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxortourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Yet again the gaddis crew helped make out holiday one of the best THANKS JOHN XX

First impression is that the hotel is still a little dated but its exceptionally clean and very very welcoming.Yes the pool is freezing due to lack of sun getting to it BUT we loved it and if you leave your towel in your room then they provide ones for you.
I broke my shower 2 times and within 20 minutes of me reporting it the maintanance man had fixed it. thats excellent service and much better than you get in the 4 and 5* hotels.

John and Sameh go beyond whats expected to help you and make your holiday that bit more enjoyable and special.

The food at john and johns restuarant which is near the king tuts bar (ground floor)
is excellent and fantastic value for money much cheaper than most local restuarants.
even our very fussy eating son loved eating here

we recommend the chocolate milkshakes , the chicken shawarma and chicken tagen
although everything we had was of the highest standard.
Our son recommends the spaghetti bolognese and the bacon and chips

The service never faultered not even on the monday when flights was cancelled due to the volcanic ash and the hotel had a rush of people that had been thrown out of there hotels.

On this note john shone through all the volcanic ash to help people with information etc
he even took our washing home and brought it back the next day all cleaned and folded. the man is a true star and we cant wait to get back

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karott_7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2010

It was very run down,shower did not work properly,Swimming pool was filthy .everything was nickitine stained,We were put here by archers for four days. because could not fly due to volcanic ash.We had a good time two weeks in egypt,one week on the lady mary cruiser,and one week in hurghada red sea,5 star
But the only praise i can give,were the staff were friendly,and John most helpfull.
Thanks john.a true englishman.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himandherGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paralegalnewt, manager at Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Those of you that were sent here during the volcano ash I would like to thank you all very much for your busines during your unexpected visit it was a pleasure having you all to stay you were so nice to myself and the staff i realised you had a traumatic deal moving from fully inclusive to b & b and to a smaller less star rated hotel but myself and my staff did our best to make your stay a pleasant one and from your comments i am glad we succeeded so thank you very much it was a pleasure to be of help to you all.
Dirty ashtray i have since your visit kept certain rooms that are completely non smoking and i am trying to arrange a non smoking area for eating and drinking i was very sorry it upset you but happy to think you had time to say we looked after you. Thank you all from myself and my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We were staying at the Queens Valley Hotel when the volcano erupted. Stranded in Egypt. They threw us out on the street. If it hadnt been for John the owner of the Gaddis we would have been up the creek without a paddle. He found room for us for the duration and the price stayed the same even though other hotels were adjusting theirs. He did washing for stranded tourists and offered the loan of irons and hairdriers freee of charge. He was always friendly and helpful however much we tormented him. The rooms were clean and tidy and comfortable. The food was excellent. Located on the main street and we had a great view from our balcony. There was a pool and entertainment. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Next time I go thats where I will be staying. Thanks John you are a lifesaver and a bloody star!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkOlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

having stayed here before the place has slightly improved, but this is the first time in Egypt that i encountered bed bugs,i never even get bitten by mozzys ,but this time i was bitten badly by bed bugs and it freaked me out ,and i was moved to another room.(it was also impossible to lock the first room securely)
i actually took my collection of bugs to a pharmacy where they confirmed that it was indeed bed bugs.
A few of the staff are welcoming,but most find a smile impossible,although Milad in the giftshop is an absolute gem,and one of the nicest guys one can meet.
Breakfasts are very mediocre ,but one cannot expect more,given the price of the room.
The housekeeper lady is dour and indicates that one tips her.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paralegalnewt, manager at Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Thank you very much for your review and i have taken your comments on board since reading your review all the rooms in the hotel have been sprayed by the company that deals with these problems so i hope it will not be happening again we hope you will visit us again and give us the chance to rectify your previous problem. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My husband and I were taken to this hotel after being expelled from a 4 star resort in El Goona.This was due to our all inclusive expired due to not being able to fly home because of the Iceland volcano.Along with other people we had been traveling with our first impresion of the hotel was it could do with a face lift and the pool area could certainly use one also.I have to say apart from this the hotel had most amieneties and was close enough to places to visit.I must say that John the owner was a true star and bent over backwards to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.The food by the way was very good and low cost as were the local drinks including cocktails.John encouraged guests to realise thier potential on the kareoke wich was great fun.My husband and I feel priveliged to have had the experience of staying at the Gaddis and meeting John who is such a character.God bless you John x

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#26 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#40 of 54 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#11 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Property: Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing