We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Clean, Friendly Helpful Caring Staff. Resonably Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Clean, Friendly Helpful Caring Staff. Resonably Priced”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Had a wonderful quiet peaceful stay, rooms were clean, linen changed daily. I travelled alone and felt very safe. Mr Hany (General Manager) and his staff are at all times helpful, polite and friendly, even though at this moment the hotel is on reduced numbers of staff the standards were excellent. Food is good and reasonably priced and they make a great English cup of tea. Some areas are in need of updating, I will definately make this hotel my base on future trips to Luxor. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Luxor Temple . Miss Paula an English residentt at the hotel is very friendly and helpful we will keep in touch :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    110
    47
    31
    52
See reviews for
45
77
104
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Yes we actually stayed in room 101, dreadful, badly cracked shower tray, no hot water, cracked wash basin, cigarette burn hole in bedding, musty smelling, dreadful decor, broken shower head, facing noisy street, no glasses, radio broken wires dangling out, phone missing, television didn't work, no toilet paper.
We woke up from a fitful sleep went to the breakfast room up a urine smelling filthy stairway, past a filthy swimming pool. The breakfast was ok - freindly staff.
We had booked the week, but we walked out the hotel walked 200 metres down the road and found another hotel and said goodbye to the Gaddis Hotel.
I wouldn't say the Gaddis is cheap as the hotel we moved to was cheaper and loads better, clean, fantastic roof top terrace with a swimming pool (the hotel was the New Pola).
I also feel that the manager Mr Nasry should go on a training course for hospitality, he was the most unhelpful manager I have ever met..
Maybe if you were really desperate tried every hotel and the Gaddis was cheap then yes maybe ok for a night or two but for a holiday please don't go there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richinpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paralegalnewt, Public Relations Manager at Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
.I used to be the asst.manager at this hotel and some of the reviews i feel might be out of order a bit as in 4 months it cannot have gone downhill so much the rooms were all redecorated last year and look very nice all the staff in the hotel are polite and very trustworthy it is an old hotel now yes but it is homely and friendly and family run as for stairways smelling of urine etc i am sorry but i really do not believe this the stairways are cleaned at least 3 times a day and all the public toilets every hour and the housekeeping do a wonderful cleaning job throughouot the hotel. as for no hot water there is always too much and it is usually too hot yes everybody can make mistakes and maybe a few things might have been overlooked but not to the extent being stated on here as for Mr Nasry the Manager he has a very busy job and is working so hard to try to restore the hotel back into the working market he works from 09.00am till after 23.00 pm 7 days a week so if you found him to be a little short on the customer relations side please bear with him he is usually very helpfull and pleasant it must have ben a particularly bad day and he has had alot of worries to deal with lately with everything thats gone on in egypt . No excuse i agree but please make a few allowances at this difficult time.It is a great family and friendly atmosphere so please try it and see. Very special deals are on offer at this time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I booked BnB with 1st choice for 3 weeks over xmas after the 1st day i asked the rep to move me ,they asked for 500 pounds , no way , i said get me a flight home now then , they asked for 40 pounds more , once again , no way COSMOS , a company with no duty of care and placing people in doss houses like this , the hotel is rated 3 star , its a dump , dirty , uncared for , run down ,B/B the breakfast was totally innedible , Egyptian food , BUT if you cared to pay again you received a full English , my foto,s say it all , Its horrendous , holes behind the bed with wires sticking out , the staff are very friendly , the manager couldnt care less as long as he is getting money , a total rip off dump

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tankie61f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The bed was lumpy, the hot water ran out in the shower, the sink hot faucet did not function. They couldn't understand my request for an additional towel. The breakfast was basic and poor with no fresh fruit offered. Cleanliness was marginal.
There is nothing to recommend about hotel Gaddis, avoid it

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikes_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed here for one night and boy was I relieved to get out. The hotel is dark and murky. There are no decent views from anywhere in this hotel. It is brash and noisy and attracts that kind of clientelle. We only stayed there as we had messed up our booking at another hotel and this was the only one available on short notice and cheap enough; and we could see why.
Straight away upon entering our room my son smashed a loose table top glass. Not his fault, he wanted to just move the table out of the way in the cramped room. We had to pay for it of course but being the merciless 'you-gettin-a-penny-out-of-me' kind of guy I settled on £2. They wanted £10.
Breakfast is okay and is taken in a dining area near the pool. I don't know why though 'cause the pool looks absolutely horrendous. I am sure they keep pirhanas in there as well.
The extra bed they put in for us started to collaps as the slats on it were very loose; like I said I was only there for a night with my family so wasn't that fussed.
Finally when we left to go to the airport I was embarrassed at being seen outside it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Friends and family stayed for a week and found staff are very friendly and ready for help..
Hotel required is outdated and crockery are chipped and broken at breakfast time . location is very ideal for sightseeing as everything is easily reachable.
Overall, the hotel is good for the price we paid and have enjoyed our stayed...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

I stayed in the Gaddis late last year and ate/drank/hung-out there a few times there last July but didn't bother reviewing it because a careful read of Trip Advisor's previous ones seemed to pretty much cover what needed saying. Some of the latest, however, need a balancing comment or two. When I was there, the staff were polite and efficient but no one tried to "scam" me. Some sharp bargaining over room rates was involved but I got a reasonable price at the end of it.
Luxor is/was undoing an economic downturn and things may have have changed but, when I stayed there, the rooms were well-cleaned and comfortable. The shower fell apart once but, after being reported, was fixed quickly. All in all, the staff did their job quite well and without a lot of the tip-seeking, over-friendly attention that many mistake for genuine friendship.
The breakfast was boring and far worse than the Iberotel Hotel or even the St Joseph Hotel which I have also used. It is, however, about on par with the New Pola where I stayed some months before.
The fact that John seems to have left the Hotel's restaurant(s) has aroused a lot of comment but this heralds a major and (in my opinion) overdue change in ambience. The bar's new decor consists of repeated images of what looks like the Simpson's "Bleeding Gums Murphy" smoking a joint. This gets gimmicky and boring the second time around. Neither is a reason to avoid the place but, judging by recent looks at the web sites, its rates are slightly above hotels of equal or better quality and, for the budget traveller, the changes need to make the difference worthwhile..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#30 of 54 in Luxor
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#40 of 54 in Luxor
13 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#15 of 54 in Luxor
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 54 in Luxor
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments

Property: Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Address: Khalid Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments is a family business been run by Gaddis Family members who are very experienced with this field for more than 110 official years. Hotel now consists of Rooms, Junior Suites, Family Rooms, Interconnecting Rooms and Apartments. Free WI-FI in all rooms and outlets.Great variety on food and beverage in all outlets, great services 24/7.Daily cleanning, sheets and towels changing, buffet breakfast included for all room rates, variety for half board guests. Special entertainments which is 02 nights Saturday and Tuesday as Karaoke nights, in addition to Thursday Disco Night.Big Screen movies and Football matches.Clean Swimming pool, sun umbrellas, sun beds, clean towels by pool all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaddis Hotel, Suites And Apartments Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing