We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
114
91
39
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
91
39
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool air con taxi egypt nile hassle caleche
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We visited luxor for the first time this week and chose to stay here as it was practically the only hotel avaliable to accommodate 4 people.
The hotel states it has 24hrs access to wifi all over yet we could only access the interent downstairs in the reception lobby. When we asked the man at the reception why it did not work in our rooms he seemed disinterested and told us he didnt know and it didnt matter.
The rooms were very basic and were cleaned everyday by a very nice and honest cleaner. (We left some personal belongings in the room on our day of departure and he came to the lobby to find us and return it). You get what you pay for (very little) with these rooms and I would describe them as some where just to lay your head.
The hotel was supposed to have a no smoking policy and had a smoking room in the lobby which hardly any one used and just smoked endlessly in the reception room where you had to sit to use the Internet. Our room on arrival also stank of smoke and the halls and stair ways constantly smelt strongly of ciggerate smoke. When we explained to the reception man that one of our party members had bad asthma and we did not like breathing in constant second hand smoke he told us that there was nothing he could do. - why have a policy? !

The food in the upstairs resturant was very cheaply priced and nice. The roof top is very basic and the swimming pool unheated.
The restaurant down stairs was average/bland/never hot, but had excelent service of an evening.
Avoid the breakfasts! Very bland strange tasteless combinations of food and we waited over 45 mins 3 out of 5 mornings for a boiled egg. On our 5th out of 7 days we noticed a strong smell.of smoke in the strictly "non smoking" resturant during breafast, and could see directly into the kitchen two chefs with ciggerates hanging out of their mouths with ash falling everywhere whilst they were cooking requested omlettes and eggs. We did not have our breakfast here after that during our remaining days.

The staff at the reception were incredibly unhelpfull and at times just rude.

Out side the hotel is a taxi rank for both cars and carrages. As soon as we stepped our of the door we were harrased and followed non stop every morning noon and night and when we declined their services were sworn at and insulted. It even got to the point where taxi men where opening the hotel main door and shouting at us inside. Due to this rank being outside the noise is 24/7 of constant car bibbing, men arguing and shouting and because of the dual carrage way it is on the corner of, cars are constantly turning here.

We also noticed that there is some kind of police head quarters or prison facing which some times made us feel uneasy as there seemed to be a constant flow of prision vans entering and men being dragged out.of the vans and into the building.

On a good note the hotel is in a perfect location to some lovely restaurants; the puddleduck, pizza roma etc and has a well priced english supermarket on the same road. It is within a 20 minute walk of the luxor temple and the souk market which was handy rather than paying out money for taxis or carrages.
We will be returning to luxor in the next few months to visit more historical sites but will not be staying here again as I feel it was the main thing that let our holiday down.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Basic accommodation and amenities but overall had a pleasant stay and lots of sights and things to do.
Hotel was clean and tidy except smoking areas were not adhered to. Staff were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickilodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

love this hotel. its so relaxed and the staff are so friendly. food is ok. location of hotel is almost perfect.have enjoyed two holidays there. the rooftop pool is really nice (dont care if its not perfect). nice rooms. value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I hated this hotel for quite a few reasons.

Firstly, it is essentially a non-smoking hotel and I think that they should just come out and say so on their publicity, instead of having guests find out for themselves after they have made a booking. Down in the public lounge they even have a small glass room set aside for smokers to go into - a bit like being in an overseas airport departure lounge smoking area.

Secondly, you are not allowed to consume ANY food or drink that is not purchased inside the hotel. This includes ALL public areas - the swimming pool and sun-deck area included - not even a bottle of water. Guests who are caught consuming their own food and/or drink are subject to a spot fine or 500 EP - and I have reported this fact to the Luxor Tourist Office. The Menu on the roof terrace was exorbitantly expensive.

Thirdly, the wi-fi was not working for four of the five days that we stayed there and the staff had a nonchalant attitude towards this situation. I was working with friends in the USA on ballots of the US election and this down time was a major disappointment to me.

I will never go back to the St. Joseph hotel. It was a most repressive and miserable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lotuspods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjoseph30, General Manager at Saint Joseph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Firstly, according to the ministry of tourism no smoking is allowed in closed areas like the reception and restaurant. the hotel decided to makes the smoking room that is equipped with air filter and air conditioner the same as international standard for people to smoke in so the guest don’t have to go outside the hotel especially after the revolution. If the guest is in the room, he/she can smoke in the balcony.

Secondly, according to the ministry of health guests are not allowed to bring food from outside to control the hygiene in the hotel and the guest’s health due to the fact that it might be contaminated and contain bacteria.

Thirdly, the WI-FI control is out of the hotel's hand. The WI-FI router was working but there was no internet coming from the company especially if there is a lot of log on the internet network throughout Egypt.

we welcome any observation and complains to improve our service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The hotel for those on a tight budget, The service is excellent and staff always courteous. Rooms are en suite and are cleaned daily. There are tv's in the rooms and air con. The hotel also has free wifi. The pool and snack bar on the roof is good but the pool is freezing be warned! Breakfast is good value and runs from 6-10am. Yes there are the taxi drivers outside hassling you each time you go out but they are desperate for business and you can bargain with them for trips to town. They are not threatening and don't ignore them just talk to them and explain not today maybe tomorrow etc etc. We took a caleche twice and each time made sure the price was agreed before we got in and stuck to our guns on arrival at our destination! We took a trip to ACE and round trip for the two of us was £8. It was a great way to see the outskirts of the town and our horse got a free shower and look over by a vet for free. We did buy a new headcollar for Rambo but it was only £5. The charity used to give them free but of course the owners of the horse sold them!!! I gave our Caleche driver a warning not to sell Rambo's new collar, I hope he still has it on! We also fed the horses when we left the hotel with apples. Altogether a great location and fun place to stay for a week.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 6thfloor then you have a little less noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mootymeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews