We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real value for money”
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Joseph Hotel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just stayed for a week at the St Joseph Luxor. I was a bit trepidatious having always stayed at the Steigenberger Nile Palace but really needn't have been.
On arrival the staff were very welcoming and although the hotel does have seem a bit dated and the decor a bit worn around the edges, it was very clean and the room perfectly adequate for our needs. After settling in we realised what a bargain we had. The rooftop bar and restaurant is great any time of day - for sunbathing or watcching the sun go down over the west bank.
Good location for restaurants and all in all a great place for a break.
We would definitely go back for a winter break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Saint Joseph Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

The St Joseph is a small, unassuming hotel across the street from the Nile. The decor is a little dated and the layout reminds me of the hotel my grandparents used to own in Cliftonville in the 1970s - perhaps that's why it felt so comfortable! The staff are friendly without being over the top and nothing is too much trouble. We had a triple room which was spacious, the beds were comfortable and our small balcony looked directly across the road to the Nile - fantastic sunsets! This isn't the sort of hotel to spend all day lounging around in as facilities are limited, but it is a great base for exploring all the sites which are within easy reach. The rooftop pool is quite small, but warm and not at all busy. I visited with two children during school holidays and we were the only family there. We did meet a lovely group of retirees who spend each winter here - great for some tips and info on travelling about the area. (I learnt that by wearing a black headscarf when out and about I wouldn't be accosted by hawkers, it sooo worked!) The restaurant is more than adequate with a decent choice for breakfast. They usually offer a meal plan when you arrive if you want to eat all your meals there, and I wish I'd taken it up. None of the other nearby restaurants came close. Who knew Aubergine Casserole was so wonderful! If I have one complaint, it is that there is very little sound proofing, which in a city where the car horn is used more than the brake, is a little disturbing. All through the night and day, non stop parping! I would suggest maybe some ear plugs. All in all, a comfortable, friendly and welcoming place to stay when visiting one of the most amazing historical cities around.

Room Tip: West facing rooms are noisy as they face the main road, but the view of the Nile and sunsets far out...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeezy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

As a single female guest I arrived late evening and when the coach dropped me off my initial reaction was ` Oh my God what have I done` from the outside it looked run down and in a rough area. How wrong I was.

The hotel is a little dated in its decor and bits need some attention. This is more than compensated by the incredibly friendly staff. Nothing was to much trouble for them. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the room was a large twin for my use and was spotless and cleaned daily. I had spectacular balcony views over the Nile.

The food was plentiful, well presented and very tasty. Breakfast had a range of choices with some cooked to order. Evening dinner was four huge courses and pool side snacks were well priced and tasty.

The rooftop pool and terrace were clean and comfortable. Sunbeds have comfortable mattress and pool towels were freely available. The pool was slightly heated which was very nice as it was the Egyptian winter.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. As a solo female guest I was looked after and felt extremely safe.

The hotel is well located for Karnak and Luxor temples and for Luxor Museum all about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by taxi for 10 le.

All in all a little gem of a hotel with its sparkle provided by the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms over look the Nile from one angle or another.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine342k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in Luxor in January 2011 (though the "when did you travel?" question does not accept the year 2011). We chose the hotel for its location and good value. The Egyptian revolution began just before we left, making our stay even more memorable. The hotel was well located with excellent rooftop views over the Nile. The food was good - as it was in the many excellent restaurants nearby - and our room comfortable. Every day, the bedclothes were arranged in increasingly imaginative designs, finally in the shape of a crocodile.
Luxor was an outstanding place to visit - try a day trip to Dendera through the countryside and small towns with not a tourist boat in sight - and people were genuinely friendly even if they were trying to sell you something.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Almost all Joseph Hotel room facing Nile and the valley of King , Sunday morning can see big balloon on top of western bank while every evening can see light show on the King valley just from your room balcony.

Hotel location is perfect ,room is clean and cheap , food is OK but much better than other average.

The horse man outside Joseph Hotel no.39 with white horse, he is a little be crazy guy , he just drive the horse and wagon into the old -narrow-traditional-market, that is something ! Many thing I got the direct contact to Egyptian people in good way !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odeer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Very friendly running by a Christian family. The hotel is a little dated but clean and welcoming. The rooftop pool is very good and the views over Luxor and the Nile are breath taking. The food is OK but better quality fare can be found in the plethora of restaurants in the immediate vicinity

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndyandDinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

i stayed here with a friend early jan.iv been going to luxor for about 10 years and this was my friends first time.
we decided to stay here as it was cheap and in a good location.
cant really fault it the staff were friendly the rooms were cleaned daily and it was in the centre of great restaurants and shops.
the breakfast left a little to be desired.cold pancakes and not alot of choice but if you like egyptian sausages then your alright.
there was quiet a lot of hassle on the doorstep from the kalesh guys but by the 3rd day they had realised they wernt going to get anywhere with us as we just walkd past and ignored them.
all in all a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissacleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.0 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#13 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaddis Hotel, Suites and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 54 in Luxor
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Lotus Luxor Hotel
#24 of 54 in Luxor
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing