We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good review”
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saint Joseph Hotel
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Given all the previous good reviews there is not a lot to add but it is worth mentioning that the air-conditioning looks to have been up-graded/replaced and is now perfectly quiet. Also the pack of 6 meal vouchers now costs £35.00 but this still a pretty good deal. Dining out is not one of Luxor's strong points and the St. Joseph's restaurant is probably as good or even better than many of the supposed English/Egyptian places that clutter the tourist areas. The Hotel's rooms, reception, lift, bar, restaurant and pool area are well-cleaned. The staff is pleasant and helpful and, if you want a centrally located, reasonably priced base of operations in Luxor (with a Nile view), you would be hard put to do better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

I speak as an ex-travel agent & have stayed in 5 star hotels throughout the world - in my opinion St. Joseph's (for a 3 star) beats them all for the excellence of the staff/service and generally friendly & helpful atmosphere - the rooftop pool is terrific with views over the Nile - the catering is excellent, extremely good value. The location is excellent opposite the Sonesta St. George. Down the side street within a 5 minute walk are two small supermarkets and two excellent restaurents both run by Brits, one an Indian and Puddleducks which does a very good Sunday lunch. This was our third stay and I would not consider staying elsewhere in Luxor. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffreyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

stayed at St Joseph from the 5th to the 19th of August, this hotel is very clean, and every day if up early enough you see the staff cleaning every thing down even on the roof area. the roof kitchen is cleaned from top to bottom every morning even the windows, the staff are so friendly and carnt do enough for you, you are made to feel part of the family, the rooms are of good size, with large balconey, large bathroom, the rooms are a bit dated but that didnt bother me as im more interested in cleanseness than furniture, the food is of high standard and great value for money, the swimming pool is on the roof area, and is of fair size nice canopy area if the sun gets a bit to much for you. i had a nile view room and it was heaven waking up each morning and seeing the view, the hotel is in a quite part of Luxor witch i liked as last time i was in Luxor stayed at the Murcure and it was to close for the hussel and bussel, this was my first time at St Joseph but my family as stayed there many times, and knew the staff well, i would definately stay at St Joesph again and would recomend this hotel for friendliness, clean, value for money, grate views, good location,

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00001111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

hotel looking a little tired, although would hate to loose the character and friendliness by upgrade , air con now being renewed, staff friendly and approachable even the tourist policeman on duty outside hotel, restuarant and pool bar food excellent. we would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This hotel is an extremely safe,clean and very welcoming place to spend a holiday.we booked the hotel based on reviews we had read-we were'nt let down at all.The people of Egypt can be both friendly and scary in equal measure but the ,St Joseph,provides you with the security and warmth to deal with what this town and it's people throw at you.The carriage and taxi drivers are,in the main,rogues! Mohamad(from the bar next to 'Arkwrights')is a refreshing change from the norm and i would advise you all to seek him out for journeys around town.Everyone is on the make in Egypt ,and the hassle is on a scale i've not previously encountered,to the point where it can ruin your holiday,if you let it.The local tourist police are making an effort to curtail the amount of harrassment you get,as a tourist ,but they can't be everywhere.All in all,seen it,done it,and glad we did.Sadly we won't be back,it really is'nt worth putting yourself and family through it.Shining lights on our holiday ,were,'Arkwrights shop' 'The lantern restaurant' 'A taste of india restaurant' and the wonderful St joseph staff.We thankyou.

Stayed: August 2009
2  Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

the best budget hotel there. We felt part of the family, food was excellent, people were friendly and helpful clean. it was a excellent base to tour luxor.
Please use hassany moressy tours for your trips excellent prices [ --XXX XXXXX XX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX-- ]

I cannot fault anything about this hotel i will be going there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollee-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Having paid £193 for a week B&B from 13th to 20th July 2009, I have to say we got a fantastic deal. Better was to come as we paid £70 (£35 each) for 6 nights meals, of which was very good & included 4 courses. You just could not buy the food in at home for that money, incredible value for money ! There is some Brits we know whom live in Luxor & use the restaurant and roof terrace, its that good value for money.

I read several reports on TA saying that the hotel was dated, and yes it is, , the reception is more like a main hall in an old folks home, the astro pitch style around the pool is thread bare in places, but it was always spotless, the air con was very effective but I agree with some reviews that it was noisy. There is a bar in the basement which has 2 happy hours, but we found it very smokey and the cocktails were not great quality, so we spent our time on the roof terrace which is where the pool is located and where meals and snacks are served. The Tudor Restaurant is where the evening meal & breakfast is served and is very clean. The breakfast is very simple (I did see a pic of a traditional full English breakfast on one of the reports, but is was not there during our stay, you could order omelettes though).
Staff were mostly good particularly the ‘Captain‘ in the Tudor, but most seemed a little down beat/not that jovial.

Should you wish to go anywhere, please please do not book through your rep, you will pay double or even treble, they will frighten you death with stories of being left in places, utter rubbish, ask for Alaa AKA ‘MR CHIPS’ the taxi driver or call him on [--], we have known this guy for our visits, he is cheap, VERY reliable & he invited us to his wedding/engagement during our stay, lovely genuine young man.

The only major gripe, as it was my last two visits, is the officious self important airport staff (customs), utter ignorant point scoring wannabees.
Overall excellent value for money. Would we stay at St Josephs again ? .. Well yes absolutely if were to visit Luxor again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank j12apt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
210 reviews
1 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#19 of 54 in Luxor
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Lotus Luxor Hotel
#26 of 54 in Luxor
297 reviews
0 mi away
New Pola Hotel Luxor
New Pola Hotel Luxor
#41 of 54 in Luxor
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing