We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget hotel, well within easy reach of all the local attractions of which there are many.”
Review of Saint Joseph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saint Joseph Hotel
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 14 August 2010

St Joseph's is classed as a budget hotel but it's got everything you need. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The mattresses are very comfy indeed and although the air con is a bit noisy, you control yourself and it's very effective. The hotel has a broadband internet connection, although this only worked in reception while we were there, apart from the first two days when it worked in the room. We had a lovely view of the Nile, which was very relaxing. We were also close to quite a busy road, but didn't notice much noise. The hotel is close to all amenities. You can pick up a taxi easily outside, and it's in easy walking distance (a few minutes) from shops, restaurants and bars.

Luxor has everything for the visitor interested in Egypt's ancient history. The temple at Luxor is amazing, as it the one at Karnak. The Valley of the Kings is a must, as is the Luxor museum which houses some of the treasures taken from Tutankhamun's tomb. The resort is on the banks of the Nile, which is pretty and relaxing to look at. Whilst it's not a very busy resort, there is plenty to see and do, and plenty of shops and places to eat, and we all had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMo_LFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

In the heart of Luxor, little hotel that was friendly, clean and good value. Single parent staying with 10 year old son, we had a great time, swimming in the pool every day, dining in the restaurant at night, it was a perfect base for the museums, valley of the kings, etc. Nice little shop down the road, only downside was all the people trying to sell stuff and asking for money, but kind of got used to that by the end of the week. Staff very friendly, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I want to go back but maybe when its a bit cooler (June is absolutely roasting there!). Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dowsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed here in July 2010 and stayed on the 4th floor with nile view (just beyond the sewage works) As you can see in pictures the Hotel is on the side of a busy dual carriageway where cars stop and turn onto another road up the side of the hotel. You won't be able to count to 10 without a car beeping it's horn and this goes on for 24 hours a day, sometimes you may even be lucky enough to hear 4 cars beeping at once! In addition to this you get egyptian men waiting outside many with horses hassling you to buy something or get on there horse and cart for an hour. The power goes off at around 6.50pm for anything upto 15 minutes so it's best to stay away from the lift during this time. The housekeeper broke the glass on a table in my room then blamed me so I had to pay a fine. And, if you choose to eat in the restaurant in the hotel make sure you pack plenty of diarrhoea tablets with you. In my opinion it doesn't cost much more to stay at the sonesta club hotel over the road and is far superior - trust me!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smallwoodsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Great small mid-range hotel. It's small but very well-run and well-equipped. Good staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable and came with fresh towels. I really liked the bathrooms as they were big and equipped with bathtubs, not very typical of mid-range hotels in the developed world from my experience. The bathrooms were also very clean. Our room had a nice balcony which overlooked the street with partial views of the Luxor temple and the Nile valley. Great location as Luxor temple is right by the corner and other tourist places and services are walking distance or a short cab ride away. All in all, this hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadLessTravelledBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This was my 3rd time at this hotel and as soon as you walk in you are recognised which is great considering the amount of people they see each year. This is a basic hotel don't expect 5 Star quality but what you do get is great service your room is cleaned every day. You get clean towels and bedding every day. The staff are very friendly and will do every thing they can to help. Although the menu is still the same as it was 3 years ago it is still great quality food whether you are dining in the restaurant or eating on the rood terrace. They have finally updated the Airconditioning so it is not so loud but the traffic outside is quite noisy as the cars insist on using their horns all night (especially if there is a wedding). I strongly recommend changing your money once you get to Luxor as you get a better rate than you would at home. (We changed our money at the hotel opposite)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hgillesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

May well be that it's a bit worn down. May well be that there is a bit noise from the honk loving trafic. But there is a lovely atmosphere and great service at this family run hotel and it is worth every piastre and pound.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

The good reviews of this hotel are deserved. Stayed for 2 weeks with a few days away at Aswan. Our 5th floor room facing North had great Nile views and the balconey was in shade all day. If you like the sun, get a west facing room. The rooftop restaurant/bar/swimming pool terrace is a real plus with excellent Nile views. The room and en suite bathroom were a little dated but scrupulously clean with towels and bed linen changed daily by the friendly housekeeping staff. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Good filling and varied breakfast buffet to suit all tastes and as per previous reviews, the fillet steak at St Joseph was fantastic. The staff provide very helpful service and do not hassle you. It is a fair walk into the centre of Luxor on a busy road, but a taxi or calesh from just outside are cheap once you have sussed the correct rate and are prepared to haggle. The little local shop down the side road, next to Arkright's English shop, is very honest and will not try to overcharge you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteInTheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#15 of 54 in Luxor
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#16 of 54 in Luxor
146 reviews
1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
907 reviews
0 mi away
Gaddis Hotel Suites and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Joseph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Joseph Hotel

Address: Khaled Ibn el Walid Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £15 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Joseph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Joseph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Joseph Luxor
Hotel Saint Joseph
St Joseph Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing