We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodation in an amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of VILLA ROSAMUND

Enter the Villa through the beautiful courtyard with fountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter the Villa through the beautiful courtyard with fountain
Domed archways leading through to rooftop terrace Delicious breakfasts served to you on roof terrace at your convenience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Enter the Villa through the beautiful courtyard with fountain
Domed archways leading through to rooftop terrace
Delicious breakfasts served to you on roof terrace at your convenience
Enjoy wonderful views of the East Bank from roof terrace
Top floor bedroom
View from top bedroom
First floor bedroom with en-suite
First floor balcony with views over banana plantations
View from first floor bedfroom over banana plantation
First floor sitting room. Air conditioning and ceiling fans fitted as standard througout the Villa
Ground floor kitchen
View down to the kitchen garden
Ground floor bedroom
One of the five bathrooms
Villa by night
Entrance to courtyard at night
Another beautiful morning in Luxor
Explore the local area by camel and enjoy fascinating insights into village life
Inside a local temple
Stretch your legs and enjoy spectacular views of the Nile Valley
Entrance to Luxor Temple at dusk. Only five minutes away by water taxi
The Colossi of Memnon at a towering 18m tall, are situated just minutues away from the villa
Sleep under the stars or sail the Nile for a few hours. All kinds of Felucca adventures easily arran
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luxor, Nile River Valley

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nessa_Jol...
London, United Kingdom
3 reviews
“Wonderful accommodation in an amazing place”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My brother and I travelled from Asswan to Cairo, and naturally we stopped in Luxor for a few days. However, our stay was far too short. Villa Rosmund is a beautiful house in a calm area on the west bank and an excellent place to relax – and it looks just like on the pictures. The view from the rooftop is great – over a banana plantation and the Nile, and on the other side the hills with the valleys of the kings and queens. And breakfast on the rooftop was excellent – fresh coffee, juice, fruit salad, good bread, falafel etc and delicious pancakes upon request. The rooms are all spacious, beautifully decorated and equipped with very – or maybe too – comfortable beds and interesting animal or plant shapes created out of towels. The house remained very cool despite the heat outside and we did not even have to use the air-conditioning. Thanks to Khayry, our stay was funny and extremely comfortable as he took us around the village and the sights on the west bank, explained a lot about the attractions, suggested activities such as quad biking, recommended restaurants in the area for dinner, and organised everything else as well.

For people like me who don’t know much about Ancient Egypt, there were plenty of books about Luxor and the individual sights and hieroglyphs and their meanings. The sights on the west bank are relatively close to the house, and for the sights on the east bank we took a boat. Karnak temple is truly amazing, but it might be useful to have a good guide who shows the entire temple – as holds true for all temples and tombs – as well as to take enough water. Unfortunate for the local economy but fortunate for us, there were not as many tourists as usual, so we could really enjoy the sights and did not have to fight or wait anywhere.

Overall, it was an amazing stay and I would definitely and wholeheartedly recommend Villa Rosmund without a second thought! It made the trip fantastic, and I very much hope to return in the future!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayesha A
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Majestic and memorable”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This Beautiful villa served my family well during my wedding . Coincidently the location was close to the in laws and very convenient. The roof top was stunning for our evening henna party , every body loved it . Khyry was a true gentleman ( the manager)

Thank you so much for a memorable stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My room leading to roof top
Liked least: Water and electric cut outs .. Don't think that was the villa but experienced in the area at moment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
Westport Point, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa Topped Off with Rooftop Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My husband and I had a very good experience at Villa Rosamund, all as advertised. We asked if we could stay there one night before our dahabiya trip on the Dream, and the owner was flexible and gracious enough to let us do that, even though this is typically a weekly rental. This villa would be perfect for multi-generation families or several couples/friends, but it was just us two! Khyrie is the property manager, and couldn't have been more wonderful, answering all our questions, exchanging funds, and acting as a tour guide for the short time we were there. (We tipped him, we think, generously, as this is not part of his job description, and he can't always do this.)

I'm a reader, so I would have liked a night stand next to the bed, with a lamp, but we just pulled up a chair and I read on my back-lit Kindle, sans lamp. I also would have liked twin beds because dear husband is a snorer and a kicker (!), but I survived. Khyrie reminded me I could have gone in another room...I just didn't want to create more clean up for the caretaker.

Now, you should know that the view pictured on TA is not what you see, as you have to access the Villa from the roadway. This is compensated for by the unbelievable view from the roof top, and an incredible breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Khyrie, the rooftop, and the breakfast
Liked least: Lack of nightstand with lamp
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2013
We are glad you found your stay in Villa Rosamund such a good experience and really appreciate your comments.

We totally agree that there should be bedside tables and lamps with easily reachable switches. Our local manager is currently rectifying this.

There appears to be a misunderstanding as to your bed. We took your enquiry about the width of the double bed to mean that you wanted one of the the largest ones, which was six feet wide. Had we known you would have preferred separate beds we would have been happy for you to take the twin-bedded room on the ground floor or even separate bedrooms.

Villa Rosamund and the buildings next door in this quiet little street harmonise with each other with their domes and facades. In the last year a new building (over which we have no control) has started to be built. This now partly obscures the aspect seen as you approach Villa Rosamund from the village. When this other building is complete we shall use some new pictures, but for the moment we do believe that the one on the website provides a fair indication of the setting and style of the Villa.

Many thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Best wishes,

James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guysmum
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“WHEN CAN I GO BACK?????”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect!!!!
Tucked away in a peaceful street in the small town of El Gezirah, on the West Bank, yet only a few minutes stroll from the Nile. From the rooftop you can gaze over banana fields, or across the Nile to Luxor Temple. (Much less hassle this side of the river!!)
The building itself is a thing of beauty, with its high domes, sweeping marble staircase and inner courtyard. The rooms are well proportioned and artistically furnished in keeping with the style of the house. All you need is provided for you.
The staff are wonderful. Madhi will cook breakfast for you, Said looks after the house and Khyry (we christened him Mr Fix-It) will solve any problems, arrange anything you want to do and suggest a few things you didn't realize you wanted to do.
This is a house to be happy in, and we were!! Every morning we breakfasted on the roof, before exploring the wonders of Luxor and Ancient Thebes. It has tons of atmosphere, but all mod cons (free wifi, fridges on every floor, washing machine etc)
This is not so much a holiday let as a complete Holiday Experience. If you want to visit Luxor, you would be crazy to stay anywhere else!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much and we would love to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandMUK
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute treasure, the whole experience”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We just had a fantastic 10 day trip to Luxor 28 Dec 2012 – 7 January 2013), staying at Villa Rosamund with 7 other people. All was completely peaceful and there has not been any reason to worry about travelling to Luxor due to the demonstrations in Cairo. The Villa is on the west bank of the Nile and the Valleys of the Kings, Queens, nobles and workers are just a 10 minute drive from the house. And all of Luxor lies across the Nile, which is reached by a 5 minute stroll to the boat and an always-delightful crossing to one of the many landing points on the east bank in Luxor. The Villa, even though so close to the city of Luxor, lies at the edge of a thoroughly Egyptian village, so there is no feeling of being in a tourist resort that might as well be anywhere in the world. The Villa is lies at the end of a quiet, peaceful track surrounded by a banana plantation. The views from the roof terrace, overlooking the Nile are beautiful – especially at sunset – with all the mosques singing out the call to prayer. And in the morning, breakfast on the roof terrace is a wonderful way to start the day.
The Villa design is also an Egyptian delight – full of domes and arches and wonderful brickwork and hanging lamps to feast the eyes. The interiors are built to provide a cool refuge in the heat of the day (air conditioning if needed – we were there in the cooler season of just lovely English-summer temperatures). Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are beautifully and fully equipped and there are plenty of cupboards so you can fully unpack and settle in for your holiday.
One essential component of the Villa Rosamund experience is Khyry. He is an Egyptian in partnership with the English owners of the house and provides an invaluable service to all who stay at the Villa. He knows how to make anything you wish for happen – from camel rides to overnight trips to other sites to finding a good restaurant close by to taking you to special shops to delivering you to a balloon ride at dawn. And he provides all this with an infectious sense of fun and humour, lots of good information and a warm good nature. While his services can be used as little or as much as people want, I expect people will want to have his help and expertise for a good part of their holiday as it certainly makes things smooth and efficient and makes the best use of precious holiday time.
All in all, this was a delightful holiday in a delightful place surrounded by some of the greatest wonders of the ancient world – can’t do better than that!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOCATION and service of onsite Egyptian partner
Liked least: probably the constant hassling by street vendors when out and about - but that's to be expected
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It sounds like you really made the most of what was on offer, and that you found everything to be up to the high standards that we strive for.

As I'm sure you discovered, there is so much to do in and around Luxor and so we would love to welcome you again to Villa Rosamund sometime in the future.

Kind regards

James (Owner/Manager)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark p
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back in time with the Pharoahs!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I'm lucky enough to travel the world with work but Egypt is one place I will continue to visit for its beautiful weather, antiquities, culture, people, food the list goes on and on.

It really does have everything, wether you want to relax by pool, spend the day in a temple, drinking in a bar, on the nile, Luxors timeless beauty and preserved heritage is a perfect mix of old and new. mostly old!

The West Bank where Villa Rosamund is steeped in local culture and it far more quiet and traditional than its East bank partner. A quick boat ride over the water however and your in the bustling East bank with its markets, temples and cosmopolitan atmosphere. A must do is a drink at the bar in the old winter palace. You feel like your in a Agatha Christie novel or Indiana Jones film! The Luxor experience is truly unforgettable and quite unlike anything you will have experienced in Europe.

Villa Rosamund itself is a beautiful multi-story apartment with lovely outdoor and indoor spaces all constructed to Islamic design. Its clean and airy, great for relaxing, if you find time! It will transport you to a different place with its Islamic curved archways and beautiful stone floors. All mod cons provided including great self catering facilities and fast internet.

On top of all this comes Khyri who as well as part owning the villa has worked as a guide all over Egypt and is the quite the celebrity on the West bank! There is no trip, excursion, dinner or problem in the whole of EGYPT that this man cannot arrange! tell him what you'd like to do when you get there and he can suggest possible itineries but always with a no pressure angle. We found everything he offered to be far better value than the tourist hangouts on the East bank and he wraps it up in a unique individual experience so instead of battling with 50 other tourists most of the time in our group of 7 we were by ourselves. you may even find yourself at a local wedding which is an unforgettable experience. I would recommend Luxor for any group, friend, partner, honeymoon or individual. It really has something for everyone. Have a great time and say Hi to Ramases from me!!

Mark

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zukie1973
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A place I would happily return to time and time again.”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I first visited Villa Rosamond a couple of months ago and we loved it so much we are booked in again to see the New Year in. It's a magical place with amazing views. On one side you can clearly see the River Nile, beyond the banana plantation, and on the other side there are views towards the tombs and the Temple of Hatshepsut. The property itself is beautiful and simply decorated, with mosaic tiled floors and white washed walls. However, both kitchens are well appointed and there are air con units in each room, good comfy beds, plenty of (modern) bathrooms (most ensuite) and all bathrooms had reliable hot water. Khyry, the co-owner and manager of Villa Rosamond, is brilliant. He speaks perfect English and can organise anything for you; a camel, donkey, balloon ride, day or overnight trip on a faluka down the Nile, trips to the tombs, a lift to the local restaurant etc. etc.

The house is perfect for a family get together, it would also be perfect for a retreat or a group of friends. I went with my family, it worked so well we're all looking forward to going back again. It's very spacious with large communal rooms in which to socialise and plenty of places to hide away from everyone else and read a book in peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing