We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food still good”
Review of Jana

Jana
Ranked #38 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Cuisines: Egyptian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food still good”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Have visited this restaurant before and the food and service are still excellent, although the garden area is in need of some TLC - although still beautiful it is looking a bit sad - this doesn't detract from the peace and quiet here or the quality of the food

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“So disappointed this time”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Jana used to be one of my favourite restaurants, and I have reviewed it in the past. We dined here in January, and the first thing I noticed was how the prices had increased since 8 months ago. Apparently with low visitor numbers they had decided they had to increase the prices.

The food was good, but unfortunately the music being played was so very loud, the three of us in our party could not hold a conversation, the music drowned it out. It really was that bad. The owner had friends with him, and he was obviously enjoying himself. He did come over and asked if we were enjoying our time in the restaurant, and I did comment that the music from the televisions was far too loud. I thought he might turn it down, but no action was taken.

We decided to have a drink elsewhere, and after eating decided to leave. After asking for the bill, we also found we had been overcharged. This was rectified after we pointed it out.

We won't be rushing to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lunchtime visit”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a restaurant not to be missed. Everything about it is superb. The menu has the best Kofta I have eaten. with the ambience/decor of the restaurant to be enjoyed also. the staff are very polite and manager Sayed a true gent!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Observer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unexpectly wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were in Luxor last November and always like to support local businesses. Our very nice taxi driver suggested this restaurant, that had only been open a week, so we thought we'd give it a go. After driving down an unmade road, we got out and found ourselves in the most beautiful courtyard. We were shown all around the premises, everything was spotlessly clean, and the staff could not have been more polite and attentive. We were the only people there as it was so new, so atmosphere was not exactly bustling but we did get lots of attention from the management and staff! We ate like kings and all for the sum of about £10 and the lentil soup was the best I've ever had. So impressed, we went back again for our last evening in Luxor, and yet again had a fantastic feast and a wonderful time. All my very best wishes to the restaurant and hope you are managing to survive the drop in tourism to Egypt at the moment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Traditional egyptian cuisine situated in the Karnak area of Luxor. Local taxi drivers will know where it is. It was one of the most beautiful places I'd ever seen. Food was spectacular. Definitely not to go a miss.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jana also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing