We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick something better, if you stay here you will be disappointed.”
Review of Tutotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tutotel Hotel
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pick something better, if you stay here you will be disappointed.”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The foyer in the hotel is quite impressive but this is where the luxury stops. We arrived with all our luggage and were given a room on the 4th floor, only to find that the lift didn't work. It didn't work most of the time and you wouldn't want to take your chances using it for fear of getting stuck. The weather was 50 degrees outside but the airconditioning in our room was icy cold and there wasn't any way you could adjust the temperature, this made for very cold sleepless nights. One night, we decided we didn't want to go out in the heat in the evening so we thought we would have our meal in the restaurant. When asked to choose what I wanted to eat, I was told they didn't have it, in fact, they didn't have three of my choices even though they were on the menu. The food was mediocre but what was worse was that the lights failed three times whilst we were trying to eat. The air conditioning in the restaurant was only switched on when you sat at a table. Nobody else was eating in the restaurant, we should have taken a hint from that. We climbed the stairs to see what the rooftop pool was like and you could actually fall off the edge of the building 12 floors up as there was building work going on and no barriers to stop children falling off the building. A shabby pool area with no shade whatsoever. The room was ok but the bathroom very cramped with grey towels. Housekeeping were nice but had to shut door in his face as he was obviously hanging around for a tip for doing some fancy work with our towels. The girl on reception was extremely helpful and I think she should get a job in a better hotel than this. This and the fact that it was a very short walk to the Nile are the only things that could possible recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    15
    11
    19
See reviews for
6
20
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The first 4 rooms we tried were dirty, shabby, curtains falling down, electric wires left hanging out of the walls, the fifth room was very nice (just been finished), however it was on the 6th floor which was under construction, literally our room was the only one finished, the corridor was full of conctrete bage and rubble, the other rooms didnt even have doors or windows. The terrace had mattresses stacked up in the corner, old vending machines lying around and we didnt like to risk the rooftop pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed here as part of a Geckos tour. This hotel was nothing to write home about. This rooms although fairly clean were small and cramped. The bathrooms were even smaller and almost impossible to manuever around in. The breakfast was the typical hard boiled egg, beans and dirt tasting breads. The pool on the roof was refreshing, however I wouldn't recommened sitting on those disgusting lounge chairs. The location was fairly decent, just a short walk down to the nile. Not recommended for long stays, but good enough for a night or 2.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianDeparture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

just HORRIBLE, really dirty! dirty yellow or grey towels, and not changed bedheet
no paper or soap in toilet
not hovered or towels changed, needed to ask for "fresh" towels! food, old chips, not big selection! SWIMMINGPOOL, well you wouldnt want to go into the water or sit down on sun bed,,view? dont make me laugh, didnt sleep at all, nosiy hotel on main busy road, doesnt metter what room you have got!
whoever stayed there and says its good must be crazy unless you paid cheap money!
DO NOT TAKE ALL INCLUSIVE OR FULL BOARD, there is no food,
go to Lotus, 55$ a night B&B , great value for great hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatianaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2010

we have just come back from 2 weeks in this hell hole and i mean what i say.where do i start,dirty towels dirty rooms warm food re-heated cold food brought every day til used stale rolls at breakfast staff helpful but clung to you like sticky tape to get a tip even following you to the lift roof top pool like a plunge pool always verrrrrrrrrry cold, sunbed towels filthy same towels used all the time. thanks to denise and norman from bury for making our holiday more bearable flight back home delayed for 2 days were taken to 4*mercure hotel which was 10 times better yes what hotel runs out of butter twice and staff not paid over busy xmas and new year!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pat and linda xmas and new year 2009

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollmanHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed recently as part of a Gecko tour and had no issues with this Hotel, having read some of the other reviews I guess i must have been in one of the refurbished rooms as the bed was comfy, bathroom was clean and overall enjoyed my stay, albeit only 2 nights.
Downtown is within walking distance and was genuinely suprised how good the room was for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AUSSIETRAVELLER23_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

we went on a cheap holliday and at first was not impressed but after we complained we wer astonished by the quick response we had from managment they just couldent do enough to put things right the staff wer great the food was lovley and they are striving to upgrade the variity constantly the managment welcome suggestions and acted on them the hotel is being refurbished and they even gave us a guided tour of the excelent progress of which we have no doubt will be of five star quality hope to return soon kay and mary

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerryIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.2 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.6 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutotel Hotel

Property: Tutotel Hotel
Address: 1 Salah El Din Street Nile Corniche, Luxor -, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tutotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tutotel Luxor
Tutotel Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing