We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, nice garden”
Review of El Fayrouz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Fayrouz
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed at the El Fayrouz for two nights in December 2008. Our taxi driver had a little trouble finding the hotel as it is tucked away in a little side street. The hotel itself looks lovely, with a garden out the back where breakfast and restaurant meals are served. We were given a room right at the front of the hotel as it was the only one available when we booked at short notice. The room was clean and the bathroom was quite large compared to some other budget hotels in Egypt. The downside was that we heard a lot of noise from reception and outside on street level. Bizarrely there was a man with a cart of cauliflowers who had somehow got hold of a microphone, who would use it to spruik his wares at all hours.
The internet was slow but cheap and there is only one computer. There are several internet places just a short walk away to make up for this.
We ate at the restaurant one night but were un-impressed with the bland food and the feral cats lurking around the tables. After dinner we walked up the the beautiful roof top terrace and allowed ourselves to be jealous of the people who had booked one of the rooms on the rooftop!
Whilst we were on the opposite side of the Nile to most of the attractions it was a short walk (about 2 min) down to the barge or the private boats. The barge costs 1 pound, and we got a private boat from between 5 and 10 pounds, one-way.
Overall, a nice little hotel but be organised and book one of the rooms on the higher levels.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cazzaline83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for El Fayrouz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2008

This is the most amazing little hotel and if you are staying in Luxor and want something a bit more authemtic then try this. Egyptian/German owned in the middle of Gezeria village on the West Bank, 3 minutes from the local ferry and surrounded by everyday life. I stayed there with two female friends in October and we had a wonderful time. The restaurant is brilliant, all hot food delicious and the slads are simple and clean. The staff could not be any nicer, the rooms are HUGE (e stayed in the category 2 rooms off the roof terrace) and I had the most comfortable and massive bed I have ever slept in. El Fayrouz is also amazingly good value. Having previously stayed in a perfectly adeqaute but souless place on the East bank a couple of years ago I have fallen in love with the West bank, largely thanks to the assistance and comfort offered by the truely great little hotel. Beautiful garden, great food, amazing staff, huge rooms - I'm going back next spring!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MellyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TurtleTravelTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egyptophile42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Thank Thiebmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoratioTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#25 of 54 in Luxor
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#19 of 54 in Luxor
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#16 of 54 in Luxor
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fayrouz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fayrouz

Address: Gezira el Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Fayrouz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fayrouz Luxor
El Fayrouz Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing