We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least”
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a two day visit to Karnak and the Valley of the KIngs. As we had travelled from our main holiday resort (another Iberotel), I was expecting the accommodation to be comparable. How wrong I was, our room, whilst having a good view of the Nile was basic, I was shocked to see an old fashioned Grundig tv in the room. The food was adequate and was included as part of the trip. However we were asked to pay for the drinks with our lunch, which as we were on an All-Inclusive holiday was annoying, especially as it was only a couple of fruit juices and a water. (Perhaps this could be remedied - given that we were at another Iberotel).

Room Tip: Our room was 424, basic, clean with a good view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    329
    121
    41
    19
See reviews for
190
365
93
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Could not have been better. We travelled as a family of 4 and was very impressed with the location of this hotel. Beautiful gardens right on the Nile. VERY clean, safe and happy hotel but it is the staff who make your holiday. The staff in Iberotel are the best I have come across anywhere in the world. Stand out are Ali (always smiling and friendly) John Barnes (makes everyone laugh and you feel you are the only people there) Abd (never a dull moment, but remember to count your fingers, he may be hungry) and Last but not least (Ashraf, makes carrying trays into an art form and kept my 14 year old daughter very happy!) . It is the 5th time we have travelled to Luxor and have previously stayed at this hotel in its previous incarnation as Novotel. If anything, the staff and food are even better this time round. Always good things to eat and plenty of it. The staff are very keen that you enjoy your holiday and they certainly made our week a memorable one. EGYPT IS SAFE! Too many people have been put off travelling because of the revolution. We were told they had one minor demonstration in Luxor but felt perfectly safe anywhere in Luxor. The hassle outside the hotel is more intense now than it was but this is just because tourists have not been coming. It is still good natured banter and all part of a holiday in Egypt. All in all an amazing hotel in an amazing country. Visit now! Its quiet, cheap and in need of tourists. This fantastic hotel deserves our patronage. It was even funny when the electricity cut out (twice a day, half hour each time) an emergency generator kicked in and all was well.
We will be back and I can not recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: rooms with a Nile view are quiet, rooms with a street view are excellent for seeing Egyptian life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOB G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have been happier with this hotel. Our triple room was ample and cleaned every day. The location was perfect and within walking distance of the temple, the corniche, the mummification museum, and temple square. We couldn't have asked for better staff, they were all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. Khaled (John Barnes) made us laugh every morning waiting on our table for breakfast. The waiter Hagag at the pool bar was also amazing and worked his little socks off to make sure we didn't need anything. Also a big thanks to Ashraf in the bar for making the best coffee in Luxor! Would definitely stay here again. The pool was fantastic, it was as if you were swimming in the Nile, and the views from the terrace were second to none, the best part of the day was sitting on the terrace and watching the sunset. A huge thank you to all the staff there for making our stay there such a memorable one.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank janoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had chosen this hotel basically because of its proximity to the town centre and Luxor temple (both within easy walking distance) and that it was actually situated on the Nile (the gardens run from the restaurant/bar terrace down to the pool).Although a tad "faded" in appearance (the brownish carpets throughout do not add any charm to be honest and the lack of clients did not add to the ambiance obviously), the hotel was very clean, the staff (especially Hisham) were charming and the room was perfect. Top floor overlooking the Nile, the temple of Hatchepsut visible just behind the West Bank town of Gazira, as well as the swimming pool in the Nile (thoroughlycleaned each morning and an aboslute delight to swim in early morning or late afternoon). The room had a TV and mini-fridge and safe, running hot water and a private balcony. The breakfast was plentiful and varied (the only meal I had in the hotel) All in all a great choice. Reading other reviews, I can only say that this is Luxor, not London. Life is different in Egypt on a good day but for the past years it has been extremely hard (more than 400 Nile cruisers tied up for the past 3 years!). So I would suggest that if people travel here it is to discover a different way of life, people, food, travel. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of the most AMAZING holidays we have ever been on! The Hotel was just as described clean, tidy and perfect for what we needed. The view out of our balcony was 5 star and breath taking. All the staff from around the hotel were extremely polite and friendly. In particular some of the staff in the bar, around the pool and the guys at dinner made our experience in the hotel 5 star because they constantly had a laugh, made you feel part of a big family and bent over backwards to make sure you were happy. They really were absolutely brilliant! A special thanks to Ashraf who we spent most lunch times with. The lunch snack menu was delicious we defiantly recommend it. The all-inclusive was brilliant and we constantly had multiple drinks with no problem. Amazing service!
We booked with Thomson but normally we find hotels & flights ourselves cheaper. Our rep Gabriel was brilliant and having the security of using a holiday company was nice for a change. We booked the West and East bank tours through Thomson which were brilliant however after that we did our own thing and made our own way to places because it saved more than half price. We did SO much in the week it would take too much time to mention it all but we DEFIANTLY recommend speaking to Ramadan who has a little boat at the side of the swimming pool. Lovely guy who you can 110% trust with anything and everything. We went on his boat most days and had a lovely cup of mint tea which was delicious.
The few negatives people have mentioned (1) The power cuts – Yes we had a few while we were there but the backup generator comes on for the main lights etc… This is completely out of the hotels control because it’s the whole of Luxor that has these power cuts not just this hotel. Although some people may find this annoying it didn’t last long and it didn’t really affect anything for us. (2) The Hassel outside – You have to remember it‘s a totally different culture. The more you go out the less you care and the better you handle it. Nobody was ever rude to us in fact most were very VERY friendly. It’s really sad actually because due to the lack of tourist they are just desperate. You just have to be polite but stern and they will leave you alone. We felt completely safe in and outside the hotel the whole of our holiday.
We tend to go to a different country / place on every holiday because we are on a mission to explore the world but this is the only hotel we have said we defiantly want to go back. We have stayed in lots of different hotels in England and around the world from beautiful and elegant to bog standard yet this is my favourite. It is the complete package! It was an amazing holiday, with wonderful staff and a brilliant location to do as much or as little as you like.
We met loads of lovely people on this holiday and felt like we knew half of the plane coming back. Brilliant from start to finish!
Thank you to everyone at Iberotel Luxor. Hopefully see you again soon!
Emma & Mark Griffiths
Room 511

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the Nile and the Valley of the kings & Queens are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I expected great things form this hotel as the reviews I read were really good, the food was which was said to be good in the reviews was basic and the same most days very dry and not that much of it to be honest, the pudding which were on display were hardly enough to feed a family of four and I am not exaggerating, the entertainment did not happen in the 2 weeks we were there, and the boat was not in action, there were power cuts constantly 2 a day the last 3 days we were their, my sister got stuck in the lift for a while which was not nice. sadly we didn't bye much in luxor as you get to much hassle when you go out, on a good note the staff were fantastic and tried there best to make our stay comfortable, I met some lovely people while in luxor but I would not go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

spent 5 day's at this hotel and was treated very well..
hotel was spotless , gardens well kept, security was exceptional.
all the staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good.
the view of the Nile is breathtaking..
this is where i'm going when i go to luxor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Property: Iberotel Luxor
Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing