We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice common areas, but terrible rooms”
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 21 January 2009

This hotel has two things going for it - the location, and the Nile view. It is very conveniently located to everything on the east bank in Luxor - Luxor Temple and the museum are an easy walk, and even Karnak is only about a mile away, which isn't a bad walk if you are somewhat fit. The staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was fine, although I avoided anything that I thought might make me sick (raw, unpeeled fruits and vegetables, cheeses, lunch meats), and I didn't have any issues.

The common areas of the hotel (lobby, lobby toilets, terrace, etc.) are clean and well-maintained, but the rooms are another matter entirely. Our friend who was also staying in the hotel described them as being like "a poorly-maintained Red Roof Inn." The carpets are shabby and dirty looking (my guess is that they are original to the hotel), and the bed had a scary looking comforter on it that we took off immediately. The sheets were old and pilled, and I did not have any kind of confidence in the cleanliness of the room at all. Worst of all was that the hotel clearly does not actually have "non-smoking" rooms. Our friend asked to change rooms after we were initially assigned smoking rooms (although we had requested non-smoking). They changed our rooms, but all they had done was remove the ashtray and spray strong air freshener in the room to cover the very strong smoke smell which reasserted itself in a couple of hours. Even the towels smelled like smoke, so clearly, it had been smoked in very recently. It became apparent at this point that no matter how many times we changed rooms, we would be in a smoking room. This was highly, highly unpleasant. The rooms need a complete and total overhaul- new carpet, new bedding, new wall coverings, and then the hotel should actually enforce no-smoking rooms.

The shower was another major issue. I don't know what the problem with the water was, but every morning we were there, we would get blasted with scalding hot water intermittently during our shower. I actually had to get out of the shower at one point because it was burning me. Our friend in the room next door had the same issue, so I know it was not just our room. The shower stalls themselves are very small; if you are planning on taking a bath, you will be disappointed, although this was not an issue for me.

Our room did have a balcony with a Nile view, which was nice (you do pay extra for a Nile view), but it just couldn't overcome the dank, dingy smokiness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feminaformosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2009

Good evening Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. We do highly appreciate your comments. Our hotel was totally renovated March 2005 and we are currently working according to a plan to make a fine touch-up to our rooms again, but this would take sometime, being a busy hotel with an average occupancy of 80% all year round.
Re to your comment about the hot water pressure in the rooms; please note that our Chief Engineer has already worked on the problem, and hopefully now it is fixed for ever. Thank you for letting us know about this; and we do regret un-intentionally inconveniences caused due to this technical failure. Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – Tamer

Tamer A Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2009

A lovely hotel with a beautiful garden. Rooms had normal European standard. You can eat at different restaurants, breakfast- and lunch buffet were tasteful – did not miss anything. Great location only short walk to Luxor temple.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimonNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2009

Good morning Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – Tamer

Tamer A Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

vion


I completly agree with all the other reviews, but no one has ever mentioned the awful polution that come from the nile cruise boats the engines are never turn off and being that there can be at least 70 or more at one time moored up you can see the polution hanging over the nile obliterating all views of the valley of the kings and and the rest of the nile.
Several people including my husband and I developed dreadfull coughs and nose bleeds, and the evenings were completly fogged out
I would advise any one with chest relating problems to give luxor a miss and try the red sea.Egypt is a great place for holidays love the people , this was our 11th visit first time to luxor.
shame about the polution but it seems that only in the E.E.C.do we have to apply to the environment rules.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniehampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2009

Good morning;
On behalf on the management team and staff members; I would like to thank you for sparing your time to post your short comment regarding our hotel services; which seems to be up to your satisfaction and entire expectations. Regarding your note about the Nile Cruises ducking all the way on Luxor Cornish Road; please note that a new ducking area is being built by our government just outside Luxor City, where all motor boats and Nile Cruises will be shifted to duck over there. The new area is expected to be ready for operation by end of this year 2009. I have to state that our hotel do not participate creating any of such "pollution" as you mentioned/ described. Once again we do thank you for your time, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel Luxor in the near future. Assuring you of our best services and attention at all the times; we will always remain. Best Regards from Luxor City – Tamer.

Tamer A. Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor
Luxor City - Egypt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

This is our second stay at the Iberotel, and for the second time within a year we had a great time (1st visit Feb 08), I even felt compelled to se the General Manager personally to inform him of our satisfaction.

If there is one point (and it's minor) to be picky about it's that the rooms could maybe need a lick of paint, they are still very presentable, spacious and comfortable but maybe a small upgrade in the near future would be beneficial. Our first night was spent in room 201, right outside the lift which "bing-bongs" at every stop, so we asked to be moved and the very helpful reception staff obliged with no problem whatsoever. The new room was a lot quieter even though it was nearer to the road. The hotel staff are wonderful, especially Khaled in the main restaurant, this guy knows how to make holidaymakers buoyant with his cheery attitude and very helpful nature and without a doubt derserved the employee of the month for November (which he was very proud of!) He should win it every month for me, what a great guy!

I was extremely impressed by the General Manager, his prescence was discreet but visible and he runs his hotel like a well oiled machine, he does a great job and this is the only hotel in Luxor we will consider booking in to, credit where it's due, and we will be booking again without doubt.

There are beautiful gardens, a basic but clean pool on the nile, good enterainment, excellent quality food, a nice bar and a fantastic location, we like doing the dodgy looking streets away from the traditional tourist area's for a real view of Luxor. The sights/attractions are spectacular, Ancient Egypt truly was a special place and we are lucky enough to see it now.

Luxor is very busy, scruffy and beautiful at the same time, a lot of Egyptians are actively looking for tourist business be it on the Caleche, Felucca, Boat or in a Taxi, cafe or bazar, if your are intimidated by hassle this can be daunting, my advice is to be direct, polite and dominant with your demeanour, the locals pick on somebody else very quickly and the holiday becomes far more relaxed for you. The weather is always great too!

This review is about the hotel really, so do not hesitate booking here, these reviews are better than any brochure in my opinion and i'm being honest, not just "still in the holiday mood". Respect the culture, understand that this is a poor country and we are perceived as rich people with lots of money to spend, The locals want you to enjoy it and return, they do it in an Egyptian style not a British one so bear this in mind. What a fantastic place, and a great base to explore from is the Iberotel.

If you have childrens clothes that no longer fit, why not take a few to the orphanage nearby? When you see some of the little kiddies over there it's heartbreaking at times - why have a playstation when a pair of pants that fit will do. The reality hits home, our kids don't know they're born sometimes, I have 2 so I speak from experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ashdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2009

Good morning Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. Re to your remark about the rooms conditon; please be informed that it is planned already to gradually start a partial renovation program for the rooms. Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – Tamer

Tamer A Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

stayed at the iberotel xmas week & had a good stay overall

rooms - nice enough with all the facilities you would expect, but we were given a room with no balcony (booked with tour op) that overlooked the street, had to request to be moved as it was too noisey, request met but still no balcony, cleaner was friendly & efficient & seemed to work very hard

pool area - could always get a sunbed & the area was kept very c
lean& always waiters about to get drinks & snacks, down sides were the cruise boat moored nearby & the pool attendant/towel guy couldn't be othered with you unless you were seemingly giving him a tip of about 10le per visit

reception etc - nice area, clean, helpful staff

bar - nice, but entertainment very loud & not great! staff good

main restaurant - we were B&B the breakfasts were very good & the waiters efficient & helpful

speciality restaurants - the chinese was very nice, gave the italian a miss as had a couple of reports of it not being great, the nile cafe was closed the couple of evenings we looked in

location - ideal if you want to eat in the many nearby restaurants & vebture out for the sighseeing, the bank right next door is ideal for money exchange

overall an enjoyable holiday & good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2009

Good morning Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. I have noted your comment about the towels boy, and the evening intertainment, and we will do our best level to avoid such comments in future.
Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – Tamer

Tamer A Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at the Iberotel Luxor from Xmas eve to New Years eve 2008. The hotel is conveniently placed at the top of the main road leading into Luxor Centre -a short walk away. There is a taxi rank adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is relaxed and informal; staff are helpful and friendly. The main features are the pool area (on the nile) and gardens. The hotel main entrance is located within a row of shops. There are three restaurants in the hotel. The Mandarin (Chinese) is recommended. The breakfasts are OK with plenty of choice. The drinks in the hotel are very expensive - much cheaper drinks can be purchased in local bars. The 'standard' room was quite spacious as was the bathroom area. The housekeeping was to a good standard. We had a problem with the safe in our room but it was immediately rectified.

There are many restaurants offering eqyptian food so visitors will be spoilt for choice - but a "Taste of the Nile" is recommended. However, for those craving English dishes, then the Lantern Restaurant is a must. The Lantern is a short walk from the hotel but instead of turning left at the hotel entrance (ie into luxor centre), visitors need to turn right and walk until they reach the St Joseph and Sonesta St George Hotels. The restaurant is situated in a side road opposite the Sonesta and Nile Palace.
The "Taste of the Nile" can be found by walking further down the same street. On this same stretch, visitors will see "Snobs" restaurant which was popular but did not serve alcohol other than beer.

The weather was in the early 70's most days and hottest between 11 am to 3pm; dusk falls around 4.30-5pm and it goes very chilly at night.

Beware of bag snatchers! Two ladies had their bags snatched - from their shoulders by a motor cyclist - whilst walking near the hotel. We were told by tourist police that crimes like this are reported 2-3 times per day so it is best for ladies not to take bags out with them at night.

Popular trips are: baloon trips over the Nile at dawn; cruise to Denderra temple; visit to Karnak temple and Luxor temples; felucca sailing; nile cruise - particularly at sunset. Trips to Cairo and the pyramids can take 2 days from Luxor depending on the mode of transport. A trip to Aswan will take 2 days also if you sail. The Souk is a must also providing you are prepared for the hassle.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GreavesManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2009

Good morning Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – Tamer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We booked this Hotel after reading all the reviews on here!!! It was my First Christmas Break (From Work) for over 35 years, so I wanted to remember it for all the right reasons!!!
We booked through Thomsons, and the flight and transfers were "Perfect". We upgraded direct with Hotel 20 Euro's extra per night for a Nile View Room....Well worth it.
I had written to the Reception Manager and The General Manager prior to arrival, just to make sure all was in order!!! I had enjoyed reading The General Manager's Comments on this site, and he said he would be interested to hear my comments upon departure.
I really could not fault the Hotel...It is Perfectly Managed ( I feel qualified to make this statement as a retired Hotelier myself). The whole place (including the Gardens and Pool area were absolutly spotless). The Rooms are more than adequate...Food was very good and lots of choice for everyone. The staff very willing and helpful...even the Receptionists!!! There are 170 Staff working in this Hotel...In the UK, you would be lucky to have 30!!!
I watched and listened a lot as to what was going on and as stated earlier I really could not find a fault!!! We have to remember its NOT The Ritz, and a week here Half Board is still cheaper than a room for ONE night there (including a 5 hour flight) . If I was forced to make a negative comment, it would be the price of the drinks served in The Restaurant....Why oh why does everyone make this mistake....There would be far more profit made, if everyone purchased drinks in here, instead of outside the Hotel. An example here is a Large Bottle of Water was 12 EGP and only 2 EGP outside....a huge mark up I think!! Especially now with the exchange rate so bad for overseas visitors.....Things will have to change to keep the Guests coming!!
Finally, I must mention "Ramadam"....He is the very polite Man who operates a boat next to the Hotel Swimming Pool (which, by the way is now heated)...If you want a trip on The Nile or across to The West Bank, he is your Man!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMLuxor, Hotel General Manager at Iberotel Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2009

Good morning Sir / Madame:
We hope you had a safe flight back home. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Luxor City, and for sparing your time posting your review and comments regarding our hotel. We are sincerely delighted to know that our services were up to your expectations and that you had an enjoyable vacation with us. We do highly appreciate your comments, being from a professional colleague; who know what it takes to have a happy guest at the end. We do enjoy our career and certainly we spare no efforts to let our guests feel comfortable and at home as much as we can. Assuring you of our best services and full attention at all the times, and looking forward to welcome you back to our Iberotel, we will always remain. On behalf of the management team and staff members; please accept our best regards – from your Egyptian colleague - Tamer.

Tamer A Gawad
General Manager
Iberotel Luxor -
Tamer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
916 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#11 of 54 in Luxor
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.9 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor 84511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing