We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite good - but great location”
Review of Iberotel Luxor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberotel Luxor
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Not quite good - but great location”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Iberotel Luxor is pretty nondescript from the street… a small entrance but once you are inside, there is a beautiful lobby with an atrium, which is the height of the hotel. Plant-filled window boxes for inner-facing rooms look into this atrium. The hotel has a great position – just a moderate walk from the ruins of ancient Luxor, and on the banks of the Nile. In fact the hotel has terraces with restaurants and seating which overlook the pool and the Nile. What a lovely vantage point! Across the river are Thebes and the Valley of the Kings.

The restaurant is very well positioned, but don’t believe the wall menu: it is impossible to get almost any food at all. Trying to order was frustrating and useless. There’s Chinese, Italian restos and a bar. At the bar, I couldn’t get service though it was empty, so I just walked out. In the morning, there is a beautiful buffet breakfast in the room beside the terrace, but the service is delinquent. No tables are made up, nothing gets cleared, there are no juice glasses, and good luck getting service. Try local shops and market food. Its much better and cheaper.

While the atrium is beautiful from the lobby, it carries noise to the rooms which face inward. The rooms (we were in 328) were less than good: small, ill-fitted, worn carpet, dark room needing light, and a bad room service menu. One light and the sink drain didn’t really work and after I told the front desk about this, nothing changed. The bathroom didn’t have a fan.

(Note - Mummy Tummy is a very real problem in Egypt…even if you use bottled water for everything including brushing your teeth and avoid all fresh veggies and fruit. Everyone got ill – including our Egyptian guide. I got sicker in Egypt than I have been in any other African country.)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    329
    121
    41
    19
See reviews for
190
365
93
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stayed for a week, following a hectic Nile cruise and foud it a perfect relaxing stay.
Good food, (lunch in main resturante not so good, better to order at the pool or lobby bars) but breakfast and evening meals were great..
Very friendly and helpfull staff, never putting their hands out for tips
The only down point was the fact that you couldnt walk about outside without constant hassle, (but this i not he hotels fault, its just the egyptian way)
Really enjoyed our holiday but now that we have seen the sites we wouldnt dream of going back to egypt)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This hotel came across as a resort. Very nice grounds. Room was very nice. The Chinese restaurant on site was very good. We were only here for a day and a half, but you could stay here and relax around the pool, sitting areas outside, bar, etc. Lunch buffet was also good. Nice location. Didn't leave the property except for tours, so cannot really comment on the immediate surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Arrived at the hotel with my 8 and 11 year old children having booked a "family room" were told that there were only 3 single beds in the room and that myself and my husband would have to share a single bed. I was fuming and battled with the manager for 20 minutes to try to get a room with 4 beds only to be told that there were no family rooms. Eventually I was shown a room and told that they would put another extra bed in. The room was full with the beds however had a stunning view over the Nile and the swimming pool.

It was worth staying at this hotel for the view and the superb pool.

The breakfast waiter drove me spare with his "don't worry it's my job comments" not because of what he said but because he said this about 15 times over the course of one breakfast. However breakfast was fine and fresh pancakes were available which were lovely.

The quality of the food at the pool was also good if you planned ahead ... the wait could be long as with the Italian restaurant. Due to the lack of atmosphere in the restaurant we tended to go into Luxor to eat and had some nice food out. The hassling was constant and wearing but worth it for the good cheap food available.

The location of this hotel is fabulous for the cultural visits and Luxor was amazing.

Overall I would recommend this hotel but not to families who wanted a Nile room and were ravelling with younger children.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octaviasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

nice hotel, clean, nice restaurant, room service excellent, they help us with taxi, and the guide to make a tour to valley the kings and queens, our guide was amazing (eraki), show as everything, we felt safe. i really recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaParolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

All Inclusive is a fantastic service if you like to eat the same food day after day ?? Even with the themed nights, the odd dish was different , the other dishes were just renamed? Fro example one night oriental rice another night same dish as vermicelli rice!! The fresh juice drinks at breakfast tasted as if they were made from powder.

The food isn't the main point. The pool filtration system wasn't working or was part working as only 3 of the inlet points were pumping water into the pool(when I say working I have more pressure from my cold tap) out of the six in the pool. This might be the reason why several people had upset stomach cramps.

Over all the Hotel is ok I wouldn't say it was as 4 star standard but would make a good 3 star grade.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethard, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

this is a great hotel for all the family have nothing to say other than a great time had by myself and partner and my 76 year old mother. they couldnt do enough for us. the manager was at hand to great us by name after some internet exchanges and they gave us fab rooms next to each other. the only way to go is to have the full nile view though. and the only minus and its a small one was the bath was tiny. hard for my mother to get in and out of. can only praise my stay there having stayed at the steigenberger and the el luxor on two previous trips. the steigenberger is very grand but not as nice and the el luxor had nice staff but lousy rooms and food. great pool though. anyway i would recommend this hotel and will definitely go back there. give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.5 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Luxor

Property: Iberotel Luxor
Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St., Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberotel Luxor 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Luxor has an excellent location direclty overlooking the banks of the Nile & is ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons or those fascinated by the marvels and mysteries of ancient Egypt. Centrally located in Luxor, it's just ten minutes walking from the Temple of Luxor. This four-star property offers spectacular views of the river, the west bank & the distant hills of Thebes from its rooms & from the verdant garden terrace. Near the hotel, the ferry crossing to the west bank will allow you to visit the Valley of the Kings, Valley of the Queens, Hatshepsut Temple and the Memnon Colossus while the Temple of Karnak is just three km away. The hotel is the winner of Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 & 2011, the winner of E-cristal certificate for 2012,Iso -14001 for 2012, Travelife Gold Award winner for 2011 & 2010 & the Cristal Certificate of Excellence 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberotel Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Luxor Hotel Luxor
Iberotel Hotel Luxor
Luxor Iberotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing