We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be so much more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a beautiful, clean and nicely decorated place. The owner is a very nice Lady, very kind and pleasent also was the staff. Why I say it could be so much more is with a few changes it could be a really nice place to stay.
One place it is was lacking was sparse furnishings, no chairs in the rooms, no TV ( which really didn't bother us, just saying) no luggage holders, no shower hooks, and shelfs, no shampoo and shower soap. Another disapointing thing was the food and atmoshere at the restaurant. We waited well over a hour to get very disapointing food and nothing offered us during the wait. Bug zappers would be a nice addition to the restaurant roof top area cause the bugs overwhelmed us. We are all big cat lovers and there was a wonderful young cat and her mother but they became very agressive at meal time which made it very hard to eat. Possiably some sort of gate to keep them from the food area and more attentiveness from the staff could improve the cat situation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mstrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is located down what seems like a hidden back alley. Once we arrived, we were very pleasantly surprise. Everything was impeccably clean and bright. Our room had a beautiful cove ceiling. We even had a small balcony, although, we preferred staying inside with the air conditioning on full. (While in Luxor, the daytime temperatures ranged from 105 to 112 degrees Fahrenheit.) Since we were in Egypt for our honeymoon, the housekeeping staff formed the towels into hearts and swan sculptures and placed flowers on the bed each day. A nice touch. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had great water pressure.

Breakfast consisted of an omelet, pita bread with jam, toast, fruit juice (orange or mango), and coffee. The view from the outdoor breakfast patio overlooked The Nile, and Luxor Temple on the opposite bank. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel, as we tried to maximize our opportunities to explore local restaurants and Egyptian cuisine.

The hotel is only a several minute walk from the ferry to the east bank. We liked staying on the west bank, as it was much quieter and absent of the constant caravan of tour busses seen on the east bank. We rented bicycles from Mohammed Setohe (whose shop is right on the corner near the hotel) and rode out to the Colossi of Memnon, Ramesseum, Tomb of Hatshepsut, and Valley of the Kings.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We just come back from a 15 days trip in Egypt, 6 days stayed at El Nakhil, we still miss there!
We like El Nakhil because it's real Egyptian touch : very frendly and charming

El Nakhil is 3 or 4 minutes from the Public ferry by walk, it's at the end of the small street where you can find 2 neighbour hotels, very calm. The decor of the gate and yard is simple, comfortable and very clean, The inner garden is charming, I'd like to have the same one at home! Though it's hot in July, but have a drink at the end of the day under the trees in the garden far from the city noise, you feel in the paradise, of course with the company of a little cute cat.

The room we had is NO.3, big&clean enough with a dome, we like the decoration!

But the people in this hotel is the core of the charm! The two managers Mohamed and Youssef are extremelly friendly and nice, as we are their familly, and we appreciate a lot still!

Mohamed helped us to find a minibus for 2 days excursions on the westbank, he called his friend and I negociated the price directly,and Mohamed helped to get the price I wanted. This is what we really appreciate him. And at the end of our stay, we asked his help to buy 1st class train to Cairo, as it was really difficult to buy 1st class sitting places his friend could not help us, but they still tried to find other solutions to suggest. Also everyday Mohamed brought us fresh juice...

Youssef works from the afternoon, so when we came back for dinner, he welcome us always with friendly smile and tried to make us comfortable as we were his brother and sister, we liked talking with him!

For us the stay in El Nakhil was the best part of our travel in Egypt, we have a beautiful memory of the smiling faces and beautiful hotel, we are longing to come back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yihuifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay with great cooking and superb personal service, then try the El Nakhil hotel in Luxor. It is run by a German lady who created some six years ago a rather small and individual hotel. The rooms are fairly big, estimated 25 sqm plus a very clean and functional bathroom - also of a large size. Each apartment / room has got a small terrace and in the center of the hotel complex you can relax in a separate garden.
The place is very close to the Nile and by taking the ferry for 1 Egyptian pound you can visit the East Bank and start your cultural tours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sander_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Just 5 minutes away from the ferry, El Nakhil is certainly a very good place to stay at: an oase of quietness and cleanliness on the west Bank. The personnel is helpful but not intrusive, and if you need some help (we were there during the protests that blocked rail & road to and from Caïro for several days), the owner is a very serious and reliable person you can trust.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

It's located at the tranquil side of the west bank but it was less than 10 minutes walking distance to ferry terminal. Always go for the public ferry, only costs 1 Egyptian Pound (1/2011) and the waiting time was minimal. The only thing is you might be the only non-egyptian on the ferry. But so what? the locals are nice and friendly. And when you travel, why not having some local experience.
The room is spacious and comfortable. Love the middle eastern decor. It's absolutely charming little hotel =)) Just love it!!!
If you want to stay in the more happening east bank, go for mara house
If you want to stay in the more serene west bank, go for el nakhil hotel

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pysilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great value small family run hotel on the West bank. Room good size, cool and clean. Small shady garden. Staff and owner very friendly and helpful. Food good (particularly salads) though menu bit limited. Wine and beer available at reasonable prices. Plenty of other restaurants within walking distance or a short (and cheap) taxi and/or ferry ride away.

If you want 4 or 5* luxury, to be surrounded by other tourists and everything to be like just back home then stick to the big chain hotels on the East bank. However if you want to see a little slice of local life and don't mind getting a bit of dust on your shoes and early morning call to prayer at local mosque doesn't bother you (we soon got used to it) then you will love El-Nakhil. There is no pool but the El-Luxor is short walk from ferry terminal (on East Bank) and you can use their pool for 50 Egyptian pounds per day, which is waht we did.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanwxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.2 mi away
Nile Valley Hotel Restaurant
0 mi away
Hotel Sheherazade
Hotel Sheherazade
#18 of 54 in Luxor
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
El Fayrouz
El Fayrouz
#22 of 54 in Luxor
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Gezira Hotel
El Gezira Hotel
#27 of 54 in Luxor
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gezira El Bairat, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £18 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant at the edge of the village Geziret el Bairat at the west bank of Luxor. 11 comfortable rooms partly with dome, with private bath room, balcony and air condition. German-Egyptian management. The restaurant offers delicious national and international dishes. Alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. From the roof terrace view above the fields around, to the Nile and Luxor Temple. A little botanic garden for relaxing. Accessible to Wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nakhil Luxor
El Nakhil Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing