We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Nakhil Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
El Fayrouz(Luxor)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
106
49
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
49
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest bankegyptian poundrooftop restaurantsalahgardennileratesatm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

After staying in hotels along the western desert, we ended our Egypt trip in this hotel in the West Bank in Luxor. It was a great way to end our trip. Tucked in the quiet area, un-touristy area of Luxor, we were welcomed by the beautiful arches of the windows in the reception area. The place is very well-kept, the restrooms immaculate. The bedrooms are standard but with thoughtful decor and huge spotless toilets. I agree, best shower in Egypt! The place has a homey feel - which is saying a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Friendly, helpful staff and beautifully designed hotel. Spacious, comfortable room (but bring a torch if you like to read in bed !) and bathroom. Lovely garden and roof terrace, where breakfast is served and meals are conveniently available, with a view of Luxor Temple. We tecommend the lemon juice! Very good location, just a few minutes walk from the public ferry and in a real village. All sites within easy reach.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious ground floor room with domed ceiling small terrace. Staff were happy to bring our order from the restaurant down so we could have lunch there.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at El Nakhil. The garden especially is lovely and secluded, a suntrap even in January. Helpful staff, we arrived very early in the morning by the night train from Cairo, and they let us have the room from 8 AM free of charge.
We can definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchcoupleRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

El Nakhil Hotel is situated on the West Bank of the Nile, down a quiet alley, away from the traffic, dust and noise of the city of Luxor directly across the river. It is conveniently located for visiting Queen Hapshepsut's Temple, Valley of the Kings, Dar El Medina, Colossi of Memnon, Ramesseum and Habu Medinet. It is a 5 minute boat ride across the river to Luxor and access to Luxor Temple and Karnak. (Boat ride costs 1EL.) The hotel is arranged around a leafy courtyard which fills with birdsong at dawn and dusk. A large roof terrace provides al fresco dining from 7am to 10.30pm. The kitchen is excellent. The downstairs rooms open onto the courtyard. The upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking it. We enjoyed sitting out on ours to watch the sun go down. It was our first time in Egypt and the owners, Birgit and Salah, were very helpful making recommendations. The staff at El Nakhil were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs, providing breakfast to order at 6am so that we could get an early start on sightseeing. I couldn't recommend El Nakhil more highly.

Room Tip: We liked being upstairs and having a balcony to watch the sunset from each evening.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Run by Birgit and Salah, El Nakhil is located in the quiet West Bank of Luxor. Since we were arriving late at night, we called ahead, and Salah offered to pick us up. The easiest was for us to take a taxi to the local ferry, from the East Bank to West Bank, and he would be there to take us to the hotel. He was great in that he told us what the taxi and ferry should cost so that we wouldn’t be taken advantage of. Taking the ~5-min. ferry ride, for 1 LE was a nice, non-touristy experience. Salah was waiting for us with a warm greeting, and while our bags were driven to the hotel, he suggested we walk the very short distance so that we would know the way when we went out ourselves. At the hotel Biirgit greeted us and we were shown to our simple, yet super clean and comfortable rooms, each with a private patio.

A generous breakfast is served on the soothing and quiet rooftop terrace, from which you can see across the Nile to Luxor Temple. El Nakhil also serves lunch and dinner. Salah and his staff arranged our transportation to the West Bank sights, like Valley of the Kings/Queens and Ramusem for a good price similar to one quoted in Lonely Planet. What a relief to have a staff who gave us reasonable prices for the local services, unlike our experience in Cairo, where the big hotel quoted us inflated prices for taxis, etc.

I would highly recommend El Nakhil Hotel for its service, rooftop terrace, comfortable rooms and great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews