We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lotus Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Don't pay the crazy prices at the Sonesta hotel or others for a Nile view room, we had the best view for half the price, we had room 406 great room and view, I would recommend room on a high floor such as 3rd or 4th or 5th starting at 301 302, 303 304 the suites are 305 and 306, the same on the 4 th floor 401 402403, 404 suites 405. 406, the same for 5 th floor the best room is 504, 404, 304, for the views if you cant afford a suite, the best suites 505 506, 405 406, 305, 306The swimming pool was great heated in winter, The sandwiches we had at the pool were good, about £3 for a large sandwich chips and salad, not bad value I felt.The breakfast was average and a bit laid back, the fruit salad great, and the chef cooked your eggs as requested, but not the best breakfast I have had in Egypt by far! the staff were polite and helpful, we alawyd left our cleaner a E£5 tip on the pillow and our room was clean and always a delight to come back to, to see what animal they had created with towels.
dont agree to whole package trips from the horse and carriage guys outside lots of hassle, pay as you go, small fees and regular, bargain hard or they will rip you off! Have fun with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZakyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    118
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
53
101
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

An Egyptian (Luxor) Experience to remember

We stayed at Lotus Hotel for 7nights, half board and have experienced not only the temple tours, balloon flights but also a time spent with a fantastic Egyptian family.

Lotus Hotel is in a great location, having a great view of the River Nile from your room balcony ( just make sure to ask rooms from ( 3rd-5th floor, rm 03-07). The rooms are all just basic, with TV facility (to almost 835 channels, but you have to scroll to find English-speaking channels), fridge (best in keeping all your bottled water bought from outside), safe box deposit (you don't have to pay), a workable not-so-fancy bathroom, and to top it off a room changing service with fancy towel folding skills to tickle you day after a hot walk around town !

If you are booking a half-board offer, the buffet breakfast consist of different Egyptian pastries, with a bowl of fruit and cool yogurts section, and a hot buffet of not-so-tasty offers. The dinner is just as basic with a kebab, beef (hope not horsemeat!), chicken and fish offers. Our fourth day, we have to check out different restaurants around the area, as the hotel's dinner offer became more boring and bland.

The staff varies from being friendly to annoying! I can only count two staff that are paying attention to their guest needs! ... As mostly will attend to your need expecting a tip to be given, otherwise a sour-unfriendly attitude will be given back to you, or more so, will not be even attending to your need.

WIFI- you have to pay if you really need it! They charge £30-35 for a week. And it is per gadget, per person. So if there are two of you in the room, you cannot share it!!!!!

The BEST PART of our travel is when we have met our guide who has taken us in and around the Luxor area. He was recommended by another guest of the hotel, and you can find good reviews of his service here in Tripadvisor. Be aware, the hassling and haggling scenerio in Luxor is ranging from desperate to annoying!!!! At one point, some squared up in front of my face forcing us to use his caleche (horse-driven carriage)!!!! So as a novice visiting this area, having our guide was a relief for us to enjoy the best there is for Luxor to offer.

Our guide, who was recommended by a fellow tourist staying in our hotel, recommended 'Mr Fish'. We later found that 'Mr Fish' is run by three brothers. It was MR WAEL MOHAMED who we have met and gave us a HASSLE-FREE, TRUSTWORTHY, AND RELIABLE tour throughout our stay in Luxor. He did a good job, offering as device and suggestions of what to see and giving us a very good price ( his charges are marked down to less than £20-25 that being offered by hotel/tour agents)

He made our trip to Luxor a more SAFE and ENJOYABLE !!!!

You can contact Mr Wael Mohamed and get a good quote for any private tours and travels in and around Luxor and/or Egypt. He can even give you a DAY IN THE LIFE OF TRADITIONAL EGYPTIAN LIVING.

Business Name: WAEL's WHEELS
Owner: Mr Wael Mohamed
Skype name/address: waelswheels
Email address: wael826@yahoo.com
Contact number (Egypt): 002 01 003745355

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

we stayed at the lotus for 2wks in janurary had a junior suit the room was big enough but u think you pay extra you think there would be a hairdyrer and teas making facilites in the room.the room was clean but could of been cleaner bathroom was rather small only a half bath shower was not up to much.rooms a bit tired.breakfast well food was edible but the same everyday was never enough cups ect out and you keep having to ask for teabags and jam as there were never enough out tables were never set had to ask for cutlery just about every day.pool was good nice and warm very clean a good area to sit.drink was a bit dearer here.staff was ok.good location.it said that they have a gym never seen one

Room Tip: the suits not worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I WAS BACK IN lUXOR 5 -26 DEC 2013 HAD 12 TO 26 AT LOTUS The staff teir usual friendly self , breakfast little down if you want english, plenty of things but run out and HAVE TO ASK for fruit, yogurt and corn flakes, but no need to to next door!! your not paying their prices!! £200 for a single room for 2 weeks, yes we had lot in form other hotel to use the pool only one quater of pool not much sun but at lunch time was to hot most days. Reserved bed arein all hotels !!
Need to tip pool boys, Locals British do use this pool as Others to expensive!
I will be sorry to see the two girl Receptionist leave to get married this year. wi;ll miss them.
House keeper and staff good and things kept clean. Just a note had week at Pavilion 5stars yes, breakfast was better, but eaten alive by mosquitoes , also keys lost to house and car!!! but they found other things, just happened to have silver key fob!! Disppointed stayed here many times also, This is my 36 time to Egypt

Room Tip: 3, 305 404, 405 503,504 trouble was there were heavy smokers around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel from 19th December to 26th December 2012 on a B&B basis. We were under the impression that it was a 4* hotel but at best it was a mediocre 3*. Our room was very dark but had a great view of valley of the kings from the tiny balcony. Maid service was good and room was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was not good, although there was a reasonable selection of pastries if you went to breakfast after 9.00 there was just everyone else's leftovers available. What is put out at the start of breakfast is not replaced as people use it so latecomers get a very spartan offering. Restaurant staff were mostly miserable and hovered around whipping plates away before you had actually finished eating. The menu is very limited and doesn't change at all throughout the holiday. The bathroom was fairly large but very tired, bath was badly marked and rough. The towels were grey and clearly very old but on the bright side if you forget to take your loofah on holiday with you, the towels do an excellent job of removing skin! Pool area is quite dark with limited number of sun beds, half of which are in pretty much total shade throughout the day and the other half were 'booked' by people getting up early and placing towels on them. The pool is heated. After our first day in this hotel we spent all of our time around the pool of the Sonnesta St George and ate all meals, including breakfast at this hotel which is next door to the Lotus. There were several other Lotus Hotel guests doing the same thing. There was nothing laid on for Xmas day. The Lotus could be a lovely hotel but it will require a complete refurbishment including bedding and towels and some of the restaurant staff need to be trained in customer service. Although the Lotus is reasonably priced and some websites list it as a 4* hotel it definitely is not so if you like comfort and fresh looking rooms and bedding (what you get is 2 greyish sheets, 1 brown furry blanket & a dated throw) then do not use this hotel as you will be disappointed. One night we had a 40 minute complete power cut (every other hotel & building around still had power) but no-one advised guests of what was happening or when the power would be restored.

Jackie & Assaf

Room Tip: Suites are ok, tired & shabby but you get a lounge & a bedroom with 2 balconies but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJA425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just returned from our first trip to Egypt in this hotel, booked through Thomson. It looks good from the photos which are pretty accurate. Ok rooms, good location and a wonderful Nile view. However, either the service and catering have gone downhill recently or the good reviews on here are written by people who don't like food. The room service menu (on which they misspelt the name of their own hotel, calling it the "Louts") is rubbish and the dining room eerily empty at dinner. I know things are tetchy in Egypt and commodities are correlated, but not having any fresh orange juice for a week is a bit weird. They could easily make a killing doing cocktails and a pool-side BBQ, or just being more proactive and less laconic with the attitude towards service, but apart from one or two members of staff there doesn't seem to be any motivation. Someone told us the hotel is owned by the police who use it for R&R, which might explain it. I would say based on this and other people's experiences Egypt 4* is equivalent to UK 2.5*, so will definitely be booking 5* if we return to Egypt. I should say we are well-travelled and generally quite laid back so the Lotus didn't by any means ruin our holiday, which largely consisted of drinking by the pool. At least they serve alcohol :)

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view. Beware of the call to prayer, around 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatterAirways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I took my 81yr old disabled mother to this hotel for a week. Although I booked this holiday with On The Beach I did contact the hotel to make sure it was suitable for a wheelchair and that the bedroom was large enough for the wheelchair and that there was easy access to all levels of the hotel. On arrival we were greeted like old friends our bedroom which turned out to be a suite was huge and 2 balconys, everything was clean and comfortable. All floors of the hotel were easy to get too including the outside terraces and swimming pool area. The staff were all very very helpful and were always on hand to assist us if needed. The view of the Nile from our rooms and public rooms in the hotel is OUTSTANDING.

I did a lot of reserch on the net before taking this holiday and it certainly paid off. Before going I contacted a Mr Hassany Morsy from MISR AFRICA TRAVEL also known ILoveEgypt. I arranged to meet him in my hotel to discuss tours. What a helpful man he was, he assured me that they were perfectly able to show my mother the sites and thats exactly what they did . They made it really easy slowly calmly and as gently as possible. I say they what I should say is Moses who took charge of the wheelchair and Abdul the excellent guide both supplied by Mr Morsy. Abdul was very imformative and obviously loved his subject. He spoke really good English clearly. Moses was a charming young man Because of my mothers age and disability we could only arrange half day tours.

Tours we did were Valley of the Kings really really bumpy in a wheelchair. Karnak Light Show really really bumpy in a wheelchair. Luxor Museum real smooth My mother loved all of these tours and saw plenty of sites including the tombs at the V of K. Beware just because its flat doesnt mean it isnt going to be REALLY REALLY BUMPY. Thanks again MISR AFRICA TRAVEL.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Hotel & Suites Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Luxor Hotel

Property: Lotus Luxor Hotel
Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel is a new member in Hostelworld .Lotus Hotel has a unique location in the heart of Luxor. We have 58 rooms and suites all with balcony or terrace overlooking the Nile (40 double rooms, 10 royal suites, 8 triple). All rooms consist of a double bed, air-conditioning, telephone, cable TV, music channel, minibar, smoke alarm, private shower, bathtub and WC. In the hotel we have a restaurant where you can enjoy your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lotus Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing