We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
helenlouise1970
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Hotel great - food needs attention!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2013
We have just got back from a week's stay at the Lotus Hotel in Luxor. On arrival we were taken to our room which was very clean and the view was perfect of the pool and the Nile. As we had booked half board we went down for our evening meal and was given a set menu, a choice of four soups, salads, steaks, fish, chicken etc - all looked promising, but on working our way through it was certainly lacking in taste and over the five nights we dined there, there was only one or two other couples, with no atmosphere. We realised then that we should have just gone bed and breakfast as some of the local restaurants were very nice indeed - we can recommend the Kings Head Pub which is opposite the hotel and the Fortune Cookie just down the road.

Breakfast was much the same, very limited choice with hardly anything to offer. Toaster kept breaking and there was never any juice.

Apart from the food side of things, the hotel was very nice. The pool area was lovely, very clean and the staff were very helpful. The maid service in the room was excellent - she made some wonderful arrangements out of the towels each morning which made us smile. One downside is the call to prayer every couple of hours as it can be very loud!

You can book your trips through the hotel as they have their own rep and the prices were very reasonable - it also means that you don't have to go with a load of others as they are all private trips.

The location of the hotel was good, right on the nile. On exiting the hotel to the road there were horse and carriages or taxis that would take you anywhere you wished to go - but you need to haggle with the price!

All in all a good holiday - we would go again but definitely not half board!
Date of stay: February 2013
Room Tip: Choose a Nile view room on the 3rd or 4th floors.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£65
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
£188
  • Tripadvisor
    £188
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Steigenberger Achti Resort, Luxor, Egypt - Exterior View
£60
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • steigenberger.com
0.4 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£53
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
£108
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.3 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £60
  • Expedia.com
    £81
0.0 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £53
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £48
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £76
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Lotus Luxor Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Luxor
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
92
143
70
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
143
70
26
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have been staying at the Lotus Hotel for the past 3 years, I visit twice a year in April and October for a 2 week holiday. I find the staff very friendly and very helpful, breakfast can be a bit hit and miss, but if you want something, just ask.
I don't have dinner at the Lotus, but eat out at Snobs, Dave's Bistro and Jewel of the Nile, very good food at reasonable prices. I usually have lunch by the pool, Alaa is very attentive as are Nazer, Ashra and Mahmoud.
The Calesh drivers can be a nuisance when you step out of the hotel, but just ignore them, it may seem rude, but is effective.
I go for a Falucca boat ride during the heat of the day, very relaxing, drinking mint tea, I always use Mohamed Sayed and his co-owner Hamdi Saadi, they come to the Lotus in their Falucca to pick me up and drop me off at the hotel in the afternoon. The sunset cruise is delightful, as is the trip to Banana island and Crocodile island. You can contact Mohamed on 002-01003846912 and Hamdi on 002-01064894044 they are both lovely guys, and their prices are very good, they will fit in with you and pick you up from the Lotus.
Am going back to the Lotus in April 2013, can't wait to get there and get some sun!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have recently spent a week at the Lotus hotel in Luxor. Last year I stayed at the Sonesta next door. Whilst the Lotus lacks the sophistication of its 5* neighbours it does offer very good value for money. Food is tasty, nutricious and hot although it is a little lacking in variety., The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and have excellent views of the river and the west bank. Staff are friendly and helpful. It has an attractive pool area and numerous terraced areas where guests can relax. The big attraction of this hotel is the price you pay in comparrison to its neighbours. Well worth considering.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Don't pay the crazy prices at the Sonesta hotel or others for a Nile view room, we had the best view for half the price, we had room 406 great room and view, I would recommend room on a high floor such as 3rd or 4th or 5th starting at 301 302, 303 304 the suites are 305 and 306, the same on the 4 th floor 401 402403, 404 suites 405. 406, the same for 5 th floor the best room is 504, 404, 304, for the views if you cant afford a suite, the best suites 505 506, 405 406, 305, 306The swimming pool was great heated in winter, The sandwiches we had at the pool were good, about £3 for a large sandwich chips and salad, not bad value I felt.The breakfast was average and a bit laid back, the fruit salad great, and the chef cooked your eggs as requested, but not the best breakfast I have had in Egypt by far! the staff were polite and helpful, we alawyd left our cleaner a E£5 tip on the pillow and our room was clean and always a delight to come back to, to see what animal they had created with towels.
dont agree to whole package trips from the horse and carriage guys outside lots of hassle, pay as you go, small fees and regular, bargain hard or they will rip you off! Have fun with them.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZakyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2013

An Egyptian (Luxor) Experience to remember

We stayed at Lotus Hotel for 7nights, half board and have experienced not only the temple tours, balloon flights but also a time spent with a fantastic Egyptian family.

Lotus Hotel is in a great location, having a great view of the River Nile from your room balcony ( just make sure to ask rooms from ( 3rd-5th floor, rm 03-07). The rooms are all just basic, with TV facility (to almost 835 channels, but you have to scroll to find English-speaking channels), fridge (best in keeping all your bottled water bought from outside), safe box deposit (you don't have to pay), a workable not-so-fancy bathroom, and to top it off a room changing service with fancy towel folding skills to tickle you day after a hot walk around town !

If you are booking a half-board offer, the buffet breakfast consist of different Egyptian pastries, with a bowl of fruit and cool yogurts section, and a hot buffet of not-so-tasty offers. The dinner is just as basic with a kebab, beef (hope not horsemeat!), chicken and fish offers. Our fourth day, we have to check out different restaurants around the area, as the hotel's dinner offer became more boring and bland.

The staff varies from being friendly to annoying! I can only count two staff that are paying attention to their guest needs! ... As mostly will attend to your need expecting a tip to be given, otherwise a sour-unfriendly attitude will be given back to you, or more so, will not be even attending to your need.

WIFI- you have to pay if you really need it! They charge £30-35 for a week. And it is per gadget, per person. So if there are two of you in the room, you cannot share it!!!!!

The BEST PART of our travel is when we have met our guide who has taken us in and around the Luxor area. He was recommended by another guest of the hotel, and you can find good reviews of his service here in Tripadvisor. Be aware, the hassling and haggling scenerio in Luxor is ranging from desperate to annoying!!!! At one point, some squared up in front of my face forcing us to use his caleche (horse-driven carriage)!!!! So as a novice visiting this area, having our guide was a relief for us to enjoy the best there is for Luxor to offer.

Our guide, who was recommended by a fellow tourist staying in our hotel, recommended 'Mr Fish'. We later found that 'Mr Fish' is run by three brothers. It was MR WAEL MOHAMED who we have met and gave us a HASSLE-FREE, TRUSTWORTHY, AND RELIABLE tour throughout our stay in Luxor. He did a good job, offering as device and suggestions of what to see and giving us a very good price ( his charges are marked down to less than £20-25 that being offered by hotel/tour agents)

He made our trip to Luxor a more SAFE and ENJOYABLE !!!!

You can contact Mr Wael Mohamed and get a good quote for any private tours and travels in and around Luxor and/or Egypt. He can even give you a DAY IN THE LIFE OF TRADITIONAL EGYPTIAN LIVING.

Business Name: WAEL's WHEELS
Owner: Mr Wael Mohamed
Skype name/address: waelswheels
Email address: wael826@yahoo.com
Contact number (Egypt): 002 01 003745355

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2013

we stayed at the lotus for 2wks in janurary had a junior suit the room was big enough but u think you pay extra you think there would be a hairdyrer and teas making facilites in the room.the room was clean but could of been cleaner bathroom was rather small only a half bath shower was not up to much.rooms a bit tired.breakfast well food was edible but the same everyday was never enough cups ect out and you keep having to ask for teabags and jam as there were never enough out tables were never set had to ask for cutlery just about every day.pool was good nice and warm very clean a good area to sit.drink was a bit dearer here.staff was ok.good location.it said that they have a gym never seen one

Room tip: the suits not worth the extra money
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews