We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointing hotel”
Review of Lotus Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel is nothing like they advertise on there official site,breakfast is very poor you have to find a waiter to get a teabag or a sachet of coffee to get a drink,toaster works when it wants to,all in all very bad.Pool staff look after the women who live in Luxor and pay to use the pool area while they entertain their "egyptian husbands" and also young egyptian boys coming round and going off with european men.Paying guests are just treated like second class guests,we had to go round to the Sonesta Hotel so we could use the pool and not have to listen to what they had being doing the night before.We did complain to the manager along with other guests but nothing was done about it,the manager even admitted that they did have a problem with the same thing a few years ago.When he was informed that we and other guests would not come here again and also we would inform people about the hotel on Trip Advisor he didnt seem too concerned.You would have thought with it been goverment run that they would be a lot more dilligent with the kind of people they allow in.

Room Tip: South side are better rooms,dont ask for Junior suites(dont have any)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Luxor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

We visited the Lotus from 4th March to the 18th March and on arrival the hotel seemed ok. The room was massive as we had booked a suite but it was very tired. We had 2 TV's but one was a deathtrap and a fridge which was rubbish. The TV's and fridges were in the process of being replaced while we were there, we ended up with 3 TV's and 2 fridges (of which only 1 TV worked!!!).

We went on a b&b basis and can I just say the breakfasts were atrocious. Having to ask for teabags is just not on. The toaster was out of order more than not and the dining room was disgusting. I am amazed at people who have reviewed this hotel and said breakfast was good. I was wondering if we were in the same hotel!!! Tablecloths were always dirty and there was never any cutlery. We basically spent as little time as possible in the dining room.
No-one told us about the power cuts which we had on our first night and then subsequently out and about for dinner.

The pool area had amazing views and but it was tired as well. Umbrellas and sun beds need a major overhaul to make this perfect. And the ladies who use the pool…what can I say!!! The majority of the staff were lovely and helpful.

There were plenty of lovely restaurants close by and we had some fantastic meals (Sunday dinner at the Lantern was amazing!!!). The hassle we received every night as we went out of the hotel was bad, really put me off going out at night but we had to if we wanted to eat. We appreciate that things are bad for the Egyptian people at the moment but they are not encouraging people to come back to their country.

The one thing that really spoiled our visit here was the theft of some jewellery. I realised on the second last night of our stay that some stuff was missing, it wasn’t expensive stuff but I felt really let down. We didn’t report it because we didn’t feel confident enough about the staff and how the complaint might have been handled.

For the record we have been to Egypt numerous times and love it so we know what to expect but things are clearly different now. All in all for what we paid we had a good 2 weeks and the weather was fantastic. Would we go back……who knows!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlasgowChristine299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great view of the Nile from all rooms. The hotel was located in a quieter section of town and was surrounded by good restaurants. The hotel has a fantastic pool area overlooking the Nile River and the general outlook of the hotel is great. Breakfast was good and the service was highly satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stunning views of the Nile from all rooms. All rooms have a balcony. Upgraded to a suite for an extra 100 English pounds. This Hotel is still used by the Police so is very very secure. Spotlessly clean and excellent chamber maids. Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it. Pool area is fabulous clean and very well maintained, pool bar staff are excellent, Friendly & efficient. Location is very good but be prepared to be hassled by the Caleche (Horse & Cart Drivers) who will promise you a ride for 5 Egyptian pounds and then charge you Fifty or more - Take a taxi if you need to and always agree a price first. The hotel decor is a little dated but perfectly acceptable. Drinking Alcohol in the hotel bar is much more expensive than at the excellent pub across the road. Everyone wants to be your friend and will tell you how welcome you are in Luxor - nearly always they will have a Brother of Cousin who wants to sell you something - be careful firm and just say no. If you want to message me I will put you in touch with and excellent local tour company that will not rip you off and will keep you safe.

Room Tip: Suites are the best as you have 2 balconies.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinA244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

All i can say is we were going to stay in the sonesta st george and couldnt get in.so looked on tripadvisor and came to the lotus.we loved the staff. They were fantastic ,so helpful couldnt do enough.spotless so clean.we had a fab room.the pool area and staff fantastic.the food at the poolside bar was brilliant.i wouldnt go full board as some fab resturants especialy casablanca on snob street.we are planning our next trip to the lotus no sonesta for us

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you can't stretch to on of the (supposedly) five star hotels this is your best options.
Nice rooms all with with a Nile view and the heated pool is lovely.
this hotel is let down by poor customer service, uninspired, disorganised breakfasts and the hotels policy to allow the notorious ladies of Luxor of Luxor, to bring their latest young egyptian lovers to use the pool for a charge. I have seen some shameful displays of heavy petty and beyond at this hotel,
In the interest of fairness,my vist to this hotel was last year now, so improvements could have been made

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dogma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a value for money hotel,with balconies and views of the nile to die for.housekeeping is very good.the girls on reception are very friendly and helpful.breakfeast is buffet style,plenty and varied.
Made this booking through laterooms.com..The agents for this company are ahmed and adam.They collected us from our cruise at luxor docks,free of charge.There was no pressure in trip selling.hoever we did use ahmed and adam for a trip to the valley of the kings.Also they booked us a mini van for our journey to hurghada.Both were very efficient,informative and friendly.would strongly recommend you use these gentlemen etc..

Room Tip: Use adam and ahmed who represent laterooms.com for hotels in luxor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeturner186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
4.2 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Luxor Hotel

Address: Khaled Ebn El Waleed St, Luxor 856856, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Hotel is a new member in Hostelworld .Lotus Hotel has a unique location in the heart of Luxor. We have 58 rooms and suites all with balcony or terrace overlooking the Nile (40 double rooms, 10 royal suites, 8 triple). All rooms consist of a double bed, air-conditioning, telephone, cable TV, music channel, minibar, smoke alarm, private shower, bathtub and WC. In the hotel we have a restaurant where you can enjoy your breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lotus Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing