We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lotus Luxor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
83
127
60
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
127
60
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnile viewfresh fruit saladegyptian governmentnice poolwest banksmall balconycleaned dailytour operatortwin bedspool area islaundry servicewaitershasslejeweladapterbankssights
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

when arrived greeted warmly ,looked after so well ,food was lovely and reccomended ,i think the resturant should be advertised its not well justified .The swimming pool was just nice ,not a lot of acitivity for children but my daughter never complained ,was known as the lotus mermaid of luxor Lol .The staff were helpful and language barried no issue at all .waiters and maids worked very hard .
Some issues arosed but nothing that could not be sorted with 100percent on hand .
Room was lovely but too high up for me will take lower next time ,view was outstanding and beautiful xxxx,the hotel is off the main road and tucked in the background i find this so good shops and hairdresses lovely family all underneath the hotel on the outside ,this is a ex police hotel and is well secured and maintained ,i could not recomment a good hotel than this one i am looking forward to another stay with my daughter was nice this time to go as a tourist for once .
Adam the maneger is always on hand and so is Mohamed ,and Ramadan the pool attendant can not help you enough .
loved it have nothing but praise ,
.one thing is essential take ur kettle portable one and if u need hairdryer and not to worry for tea and coffee there is Arkwrights round the corner for comforts from home .....and ur universal adaptor u need as well other than that nothing
xxxxxxxxx
sandy and zulie .xxx

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank chimpsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

this is the second time i have stayed at the lotus hotel and it didnt dissapoint me again, the staff could not be more helpful, the rooms were clean and beautiful view of the nile. The pool area is clean and the service was good. Food was nice and cheap and the dinner was a big improvement on last year and at £5 for the buffet for evening meal was good value for money. There are better hotels but if you dont want luxury then this is great value for money. The Beauty salon down stairs near the front entrance is worth a visit, i had a pedicure, facial, threading, henna tattoos and had my arms sugared (like waxing) all very cheap. would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Our 1st inpression of this hotel was very good helpful staff and VERY clean rooms if a little on the small side, mini fridge, lots of towels which were daily turned into different sculptures by the maid on our floor. For those who like a cuppa in the morning take a travel kettle as none are supplied, there is a laundry service at about £1 per iten usualy returned the next day.
In the lobby there is an internet cafe of sorts which will charge you £2 for an hour at a reasonbly fast broadband speed.
We were B&B which was disappointing, The sausage caserole was different for breakfast i must say but if you stick with the freshly made omletes and the pancakes you should be ok, if you like toast in the morning prepared to go wanting.
We never ate in the restraunt for our evening meal after comments from fellow guests about the poor quality so only second hand info on that one.
So mostly positive, there were however some small niggles. The beds! If you are used to sleeping on the floor or on a futon these beds are for you, it took me a few nights to get used to the bed and the pillows which seemed to be akin to a sack of flour. Prices for drinks in the hotel were high for the area, compared with other hotels which offered better food and entertainment (the lotus offering NO entertainment) this hotel is not one to spend an evening relaxing in or chatting to fellow guests, as no-one uses it. I would suggest going to one of the english bars if you must or try out the other hotels in walking distance which have entertainment every night and cheaper prices for drinks, the ISIS hotel was our favourite with good food as well.
You must do the basics if this is your 1st time, valley of the kings, the temple of hot chicken soup(you will understand this reference when u get out there), karnack luxor temple etc etc etc.
A highlight for our trip was booking an internal flight with Egyptair to Cairo to see the Pyramids, we booked this 1 week before we left through Egyptairs site and only paid £49 each return flight, with the cost of a guide and mini bus just for us for the day at £85, we paid just over £200 all in, whereas Thomas Cook were charging £200 each for the same trip, contact me if you want further info on who to contact over there for guides and taxi's etc.
The Events organised by the tour companys can be very expensive so if you are brave enough use a local firm, but be careful buyer beware.
Try at all times to avoid just hangin out at the pool or in the english bars get out there and soak up the culture.
On a final note you will get hassle from the moment you step out of the hotel grounds to the moment you return especially in the bazzare in Luxor town, be firm but polite, try the local shops but haggle, pay what you think is right but don't be a sucker. A taxi from our hotel to Luxor centre cost us £15 Egyption pound about £1.50.
CAUTION don't change your money in England take English pounds and change at the banks over there you get a much better rate!!!!
Enjoy your stay we will go back, we loved the place

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrMundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

the hotel is very clean and close to the restaurants and the staff are very helpful, the food could be better but kfc pizza hut etc only a 5 min walk, see the true culture and the real Egypt , must see the valley of the kings and the temples to book your trips at the best price find a chap called Mohammad he is situated down the steps as you get into the hotel grounds he can sort everything out for you and you must try the quad biking in the desert if you like that kind of thing check out the pics i have added to recognize him. Also for the best prices on supplies and things to take back to to a shop called super market el nada next to murpheys irish pub owned by Mahmood the best prices you will not get ripped off, and try the restaurant next door too called bon appetite.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r12ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

we stayed at this hotel over easter with our 13 year old daughter. the hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was ok. the pool area is nice with a great view of the nile. the staff were very helpful, very pleasant with our blonde haired blue eyed daughter but not over familiar - its a nice break from the stresses of being in luxor!
the one thing this hotel is short of is a bar and evening entertainment. the pool bar serves drinks during the day but this closes very early so that when our daughter went up to bed we were stuck for something to do! there was a very nice bar just over the road and the hotel did have a bbq one evening which we really enjoyed as a family and it would have been nicer if we could have done this every night.
the people on the streets of luxor can be very hard work if not intimidating but you very quickly learn to say a very firm NO! as a result we didnt venture very far - there are lots of other hotels in the immediate area and a few good restaurants very close by so eating out wasn't a problem- we just would've liked a bar to come back to.
the hotel is a good base for all the local trips, we booked ours with a tour operator over the road and they were to a very high standard. the balloon trip is well worth its money but be prepared for all the local children crowding you at the end and take some pens etc as gifts.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sungirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews