We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belgian review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Princess Hotel

Princess Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Hotel
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Belgian review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Princess hotel is great. We received a warm welcome and the staff helped us eagerly with finding tours and giving tips. They have good connections to do a tour to Valley of the Kings and Queens, as well as a balloon tour over Luxor. Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were really clean.
Thank you for everything!
Kind regards from Belgium

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

In early-mid October 2011 I stayed at Princess Hotel with my 11-yo nephew for 5 days. This was one of our cheapest stays on our trip and yet the room was spacious, with air-con, the en suite bathroom had sufficient hot water and at good pressure and the staff were very helpful in all sorts of ways. They helped us with hiring car+driver but I would advise that you try to bargain the cost down a little, and check exactly what you are getting: ensure they know just what you want, starting and finish time, AND ensure that your driver does too, and/or understands sufficient English to cater to your requirements. For our trip to Abydos and Dendara we were made to hurry with the time we spent at the last temple: the driver said the temple closing time was 3pm but it was 4pm. But apart from hat, I think it's a great hotel, oh and you can get your laundry done really well and cheaply, too. Really nice people.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The location was ideal for walking around Luxor. The management and staff were accommodating and friendly. Older women seem to be of great interest to the management and can be a target for soliciting money from them to help them out because of the lack of tourism. This, however this is quite common in other hotels as well. Be careful about arranging tours at the hotel. You can get much better prices just by shopping around. At first sight, the hotel seems a bit shabby but in my one month stay there I found the cleanliness to be great. I would say, overall, this is a great place to stay for families, backpackers and all others but NOT single women.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnygarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

we stayed here from the 2-9 march just after the travel restrictions to egypt were changed, and so the hotel was completely empty. it would be completely different at a busier time.

the location was on the east bank, a short walk from the train station, and not much further from luxor temple. however it was down a few back streets in quite a dirty area. there were heaps of small food shops around though which made our stay a lot easier as we had cheap bread and fruit for our breakfasts and lunches.

the hotel manager came on a bit strong with his trips when we first arrived, really we just wanted to go to bed, but we felt a ltitle bit hassled. we went on one and were a bit disappointed with the information the guide gave us (more about current affairs than ancient egypt) but after we had been on one the manager left us alone.

while we were there they started renovation the hotel which was very very noisy and the smell of paint was quite strong, but they did it because there were no tourists and so they had nothing else to do, it was almost done by the time we left. it was quite a noisy hotel, very close to a mosque and you could hear the staff quite loudly.

have to say though it was such a clean room and bathroom, very basic, just beds and table in the room, but very clean. the water was hot and and the shower was alright. the flush on the toilet was a bit rubbish, but we thought our room was very good value.

for the money we paid we were happy with the hotel and would recommend it, but people who need quiet nights should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troyandjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Was brought here by the minibus from the Aswan-Luxor felluca trip. I wasn't initially going to get off but once I heard the prices and figured other places were close by, figured I may as well.

They didn't have a single room available but knocked off LE10 from a double so I took it. The room wasnt much but it was clean as was the bathroom, beds were soft and warm blankets. Water was a bit too hot and hard to regulate, never come across too hot before !!

My issues started on my last day of stay,I was ripped off by about LE40 from the (I believe) standard price of LE130 for a bus ticket to Dahab. Their attitude completely flipped on its head when I confronted them about this and they have shown their true colours.

Stay here but stay away from the staff !!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOE200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

When staying at the Princess Hotel at Luxor, you get your money’s worth and then some. Yes it is a budget hotel, and yes admittedly the entrance threw both my mom and I off after getting collected from the airport. But the owner is helpful and was straightaway full of information, especially about what is around Luxor to see and such. If you arrive at Luxor and not through a package, I’m sure you would be fully aware of what is there to see, but it always helps to hear what the local has to say.

We booked the double room with an attached bathroom online via hostelworld.com. We called the hotel for airport pickup and the driver was there with a sign of the hotel. Convenient, and affordable. Our room was within the inside bit of the hotel, feel free to ask the owner if one is available as then sleep can come pretty easily.

The owner, Massud Anwar, was also quick to offer up a private car for the both of us to any of the places we wanted to see. The best part: we were not pressured to join any small group for the tour, and you don’t need to take a guide if you don’t want to. In one day, we were able to fit in both the Temple of Seti I at Abydos and the Temple of Hathor at Dendara, along with lunch (of delicious fried fish fresh from the Nile...yum!), and back at the guesthouse-type hotel by 530pm.

The facilities at Princess Hotel are as expected of a budget hotel: clean rooms + sheets + bathroom, functioning bath (if ensuite) along with hot water, air-con and fan options, and working plug points. For us, the owner waived the usual EL 10 internet charge. Net access from the room (was on the first floor) is crazy good, odd thing is at on the terrace the strength is very weak. For reference, we stayed for 3 days at this hotel.

The terrace is pleasant to sit back on and either surf a bit on your laptop or drink some beer and chat with other travellers. It is also fairly well located, not far walking distance from the train station. The owner is easy to approach to inquire about places to eat or buy things, and the liquor place (with sold beer, wines and other alcohol) was not hard to find. Just ask the owner, albeit somewhat discreetly.

This was the first time when I stayed at such a place, and after initial apprehension and surprise, I am happy with the choice. All in all, I’m happy to have experienced budget travel, and that too not by myself. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who comes to Luxor.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrmiRaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed at Princess Hotel for a couple of nights and were very pleased with it. It was first time when I stayed in a backpackers’ hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, recently refurbished, basic but nice, beds are comfortable to sleep in, only air con was a little noisy, took some time to get used to. Hotel staff is very friendly and will help you in any way they can. They make simple breakfast for you which is included, you just need to wake them up. We had a dispute with a taxi driver on arrival, Massud came straight away and helped us out. It was nothing serious, but it was still nice of him. If you have problems with getting train tickets at the station, do ask him, he might be able to help. They organise trips as well. Bear it in mind if you have not done it beforehand. Jack is very eager. We had a felucca trip with him. We had very little time before the trip, to make sure we were on time, he took me on his bike to get koshari, exchange some money and gave us a ride to the felucca. They call these trips ‘Banana island trip’. In fact, they simply take you to the other side of the river to a village a little way up the stream and feed you there with bananas. It’s not an island at all, but I was actually happy that they did not take us to Banana Island as there is nothing interesting there apart from a large resort. The trip itself was very enjoyable, particularly on the way back, so tranquil. We were drifting slowly down the river back to Luxor, drinking delicious tea, watching sunset, chatting with Captain Baghdadi (language barrier permitting),. BTW, girls, if you fancy a romance on felucca, Cptn Baghdadi is looking for an English wife, he’s got a Egyptian wife already, she does not like feluccas, be warned :o).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#9 of 54 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.4 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel

Property: Princess Hotel
Address: Ahmed Orabi Street, Luxor 356, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a popular area, 5 minutes from the train station, 10 from Luxor's temple, Princess Hotel with its friendly staff, French manager and warm welcome, will please the backpackers. There are 20 clean rooms with bath or sharing bathroom, with or without air-conditioner, laundry, with possibility to use the kitchen, satellite TV in the restaurant, roof garden and coffee shop (fresh juice, beer, soft and hot drinks), sunbathing area, internet connection, and tourism information desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing