We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food....”
Review of The Lantern Room

The Lantern Room
Ranked #1 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food....”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just visited Luxor and after visiting The Lantern we ended up eating here 4 nights in the week. Food was great and the menu was big with different specials every night.

Seemed to have return customers every night which shows people liked it. Debbie makes you feel welcome and Lemon Meringue was wonderful along with everything else we tried.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    141
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good home made food”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great home cooking in a friendly setting, catering for all tastes both Egyptian and English. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“please sir can i have some more”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

after spending 3yrs visiting luxor unfortunately we only discovered the lantern restaurant this year and was blown away with the service and quality of their food my partner had the beef and onion pie and was seriously considering having a second portion instead of a sweet because he had enjoyed it so much and coming from a lancashire lad if he says a pie is good its good id like to thank debbie and nassa for a wonderful meal and look forward to coming again next year

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothes In Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great food, great value, great service and a very warm welcome, mostly English menu very well cooked and presented

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALANMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luscious in Luxor”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Lantern operated by Debbie and her staff is an absolute gem in Luxor. We were in Luxor last month at the start of a Nile cruise and were staying at the Steigenberger. The Lantern is just 2-3 minutes’ walk away. The place is spotlessly clean, the staff attentive and welcoming, and the food to die for. Order the lemon meringue pie at the start of your dinner to be sure there is some left. We enjoyed our first meal there so much we came back the next night. Prices are reasonable and a couple can easily have a 3 course meal with a drink for around $30. Cannot go wrong dining here, we would go back for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Room also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Lantern Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing