We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Lantern Room

The Lantern Room
Ranked #1 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, British, Soups, Central European, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent food,good value for money, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff. We would recommend anyone to visit The Lantern in Luxor. Anna & Derek

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    140
    30
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely English Eatery”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were warmly greeted by the English owner, who was more than happy to tell us about the menu and details about the options. I loved my meal and the bread that came with it was delicious. My fiancee got a lamb shish kebab that was tender and he loved it.

Definitely after dinner you must have the dessert, whatever type of pie, we had apple tart, with typical English custard. I had never tried the custard on a pie as opposed to ice cream with an apple tart. To Americans who haven't had custard, TRY IT, its wonderful!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food year after year”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having tried many restaurants in Luxor over the years,this restauraunt stands out as offering consistently tasty and generously sized meals in a comfortable setting with an engaging hostess. There is a good and varied menu comprising of local Egyptian dishes as well as some old familiar favourites from back home and even some tasty curries and continental dishes may be found on the standard menu or 'specials' board. For those understandably concerned about food preparation any hygiene it is of note that vegetables and salads are washed in purified water,reducing the risk of Pharaoh's revenge !! All in all a great find,not the cheapest place to eat but probably the best and that includes the hotel chains.Debbie and Nasser thanks to you and your team.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TROY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“English food”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The food is great, staff are very friendly, reasonable prices, the menu is enormous and the owner is very helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cippenham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Delighted to hear that this wonderful restaurant is about to/open again! My family & I have enjoyed many delicious meals in the Lantern. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner Debbie who is fantastic front of house. The staff are wonderful too. Highly recommend all the food, especially the Beef Tagine and Lemon Meringue Pie! Can't wait to be out in our home from home in March! Have a great christmas to everyone at the lantern!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lantern Room also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Lantern Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing