We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanity at it's Finest”

Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons
Ranked #12 of 82 Outdoor Activities in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WE FLY PASSENGERS INTO THE SUNRISE AND OVER LUXOR, THE BIGGEST OPEN-AIR MUSEUM ON THE PLANET.The magic flight starts before dawn when our staff will pick passengers up at their Luxor accommodation ferry them across the Nile by Felucca motorboat and drive them to the take-off point. Guests will glide up from the West Bank in an expertly piloted balloon and float over Luxor enjoying a bird's eye view of all the important landmarks of the West Bank.
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We get up at oh-dark-thirty to enjoy a scenic, photogenic ride across the Nile Valley. When we arrive, and we are taking a few photos of the balloons being inflated, a burly fellow walks p to our group and says in no uncertain terms "No photos allowed". Excuse me, but is this a balloon ride or a tour of a secret military site?

OK, so we stop taking pictures of the inflation process (no one asked to have any of the ones we already too deleted) and then prepare to get in the basket of our ride. The captain walks up, points ot our cameras, and says "No cameras allowed". I point out that this is a scenic balloon ride, and he says "No cameras or no ride". Someone else in our groups says "What about cell phones?", and his response is "Cell phones OK, no cameras". We just shake out head over this absurdity, put the cameras back in the van, and enjoy taking hundreds of photos with our cell phone cameras, Go Pro's, and various other devices. Stupid beyond belief.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank David_Valaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Dear David,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify once and again that photography, particularly in secure or security areas (i.e. airports...) is restricted (in some cases banned) AROUND THE WORLD!
It is not us, Magic Horizon and it is not only in Egypt! The army guys are at the take-off place to check and reinforce that requirement: cameras and especially big cameras are banned!
Luckily they are not so strict with mobile phones and they allow them on the grounds and in the baskets....and you took ‘hundreds of photos’ to still end up giving us a bad comment .... (?)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"balloon ride"
in 27 reviews
"hot air balloon"
in 19 reviews
"watching the sunrise"
in 9 reviews
"captain memo"
in 5 reviews
"launch site"
in 8 reviews
"west bank"
in 25 reviews
"the sun rise"
in 8 reviews
"private pilot"
in 2 reviews
"weight distribution"
in 2 reviews
"sales director"
in 2 reviews
"professional outfit"
in 2 reviews
"experienced captain"
in 2 reviews
"terrified of heights"
in 2 reviews
"early start"
in 7 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 5 reviews
"landed smoothly"
in 2 reviews
"soft landing"
in 4 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Had a great flight with a knowledgeable pilot. And took his time with wishing one person in the group happy birthday

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank glenstevenson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

We thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Best attraction you can do it to with this company with great value to see the most magnificent view sunrise or sunset professional captain Mohamed and great staff

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank _J1395CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

A huge thank you from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve been on a hot air balloon ride in Turkey, so had something to compare this one to. I don’t know what the issue was, and it seemed the weather and winds were fine, but we barely got over the rooftops and didn’t ever get much of a view. Maybe they didn’t balance the weight very well. Disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank teacup610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

We have been doing this every day for many years....
From the enchanted valley of Hatshepsut take-off point, you will float for a minimum of forty minutes, depending on wind conditions, over some of the most magnificent wonders of the ancient Egyptian world, enjoying a bird’s eye view of all the important landmarks of the West Bank. You surely admired the amazing architecture of Hatshepsut’s temple carved entirely from a cliff face. Did you look down upon the Mortuary Temples of Ramesses II and III – The Ramesseum and Medinet Habu- ? They are near the take off point.
As hot air balloons cannot be steered, each flight is a unique beautiful experience. Part of the magic is that it drifts with the wind and you never know exactly where you may land....
So the flight depends on the wind which is out of our control and every flight is affected differently: height, view, direction.... pretty much everything

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

To get into the basket, one must climb up the side and then jump in. To get out, even worse. Climb up interior and then jump (quite a distance) into wet mud (the staff did catch us if we needed catching). All in all, a good experience for a 25 year old gymnast.

And we never went very high, as we thought we would. In fact for much of the trip we were just above the growing sugar cane.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 460bsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Hi there,
This is really not the case...hot-air ballooning is an amazing experience suitable for all ages, of course, in good physical conditions.
Besides working with tour companies that organize tours for senior guests only, we had the pleasure of receiving individual guests that, at the age of 80 years old and over, were so glad to have made their dream of floating in the air still possible. Great feelings...on both sides and we thank them all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing