We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great pilot and reasonable price

We’ve used Magic Horizon for our hot air balloon ride in Luxor through our travel agent Happy Egypt... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
891JonN
,
Singa
via mobile
WOW, what an experience

This was one of the highlights of my Egypt/Jordan Tour. Our pilot Bob was just amazing, super... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Bianka V
,
Langwarrin, Australia
Read all 193 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Luxor
from US$168.00
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$514.00
More Info
from US$16.00
More Info
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
163
13
3
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
13
3
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balloon ride hot air balloon watching the sunrise captain memo launch site west bank flight path private pilot weight distribution professional outfit terrified of heights early start landed smoothly soft landing safety briefing hatshepsut temple safe hands
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

What a horrible company with rude staff. Prepare to be bored senseless while endlessly waiting!

Pick up is at 03:50, that is what I call EARLY. Which is ok, if it serves a purpose. WHICH IT DIDN’T
We were kept waiting for almost two hours (!!) first on board a boat before crossing the Nile, later forever in a stuffy mini van that was going nowhere.
All the while you are treated like stupid cattle.

Once there, prepare for a shock. Balloons are a huge industry in Luxor: hundreds of people take off each day in an escadre of balloons.

The view is ok, but don’t let yourself be conned into believing that you will fly over the Valley of the Kings. You won’t. Never. The trajectory is the same for all balloons.

The funniest -yeah, keep smiling- part was the customer survey they asked to fill out (correction, more or less commanded). You have three options to rate your experience:
- excellent
- very good
- good

Well, at least now we know why this company will NEVER improve...

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank EmilioDeTurba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Emilio,
We wish to assure you that we indeed believe that there is always space for improvement, that there are always opportunities to do even better and this is why we take the time to read constructive criticism with great interest. We don’t want to think even for a moment that someone; anyone would wish to waste their time on a vague, unproductive and injurious comment, but sadly it does happen.
The reason of waking up early DOES serve the purpose of being in the first flight, as you get the possibility to enjoy the sunrise. However, it can happen that SOMETIMES the Civil Aviation Authority guys stop us from flying straight away for different reasons: unsure weather, security purpose, delayed police convoy etc.... This DOES NOT depend on us. We stick to the regulations and follow procedures (safety first right?) and waiting on a boat while enjoying coffee/tea is surely better than standing, for instance in a queue in a busy airport.... but saying ‘endlessly waiting’ or even ‘two hours waiting’ is so very untrue, the WHOLE experience lasts approx 3-4 hours and we simply have no time to waste, we have deadlines to respect for guests due on after flight excursions or due to catch a plane etc...
During the flight, you will float for a minimum of forty minutes, depending on wind conditions, over some of the most magnificent wonders of the ancient Egyptian world, enjoying a bird’s eye view of all the important landmarks of the West Bank. You will surely see some sights, ALWAYS, as the take off is near some of them, what you exactly see we cannot say as the flight depends on wind directions.
As for our INTERNAL customer satisfaction survey, there was indeed a printing mistake (we are no editors! and still we have to pay them, so funny eh?): it was to be excellent, good, poor which has already been rectified. But you still had a pen and you could use it to write your opinion. Rest assured that our ground staff, that has been defined by the big majority of customers as ‘professional & helpfully kind’, would have not refrained you as there is simply no reason why, simply no need in today’s global world. We do understand that language barriers can sometimes make us perceive people differently from what they really are but why think that they have a reason to risk their jobs (and bonus) to be rude to you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Really it is magic balloon , great experience , affordable price, immediate reply on email , big thanks to Mr.Alaa , he was very polite and cooperative, help us even after finishing the trip ,till we reach our disrination ، the trip was very amazing , every thing on time , special thanks for caPtin Ahmed ,for the amazing trip in Air and for very safe landing
I advice every one to have this experience , ask about Mr. Alaa and Captin Ahmed

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Curious580902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

1000 thanks from us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

There were 20 of us doing this trip. Get up at 0400 in the morning to get out to the site. We had to give our weight and sign for it so they could do a proper loading of the basket. All of us had to get into the one basket. Once the ballon was ready to go, they said ok everyone go and get in the basket. No worries about the weight distribution at all. All the heaviest got in one side and when we took off the basket was definitely showing the heavy end. The flight was great heading in a direction to carry us across the Nile Valley and across the river to the other side but then as we got closer to the nile, all of a sudden the wind changed direction 90degrees to the left. No we had to land in some farmers field. No problem, we landed smoothly without tipping over. Lots of fun. A definite trip to do for $100.00

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank you so much for taking the time to write this comment! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

It’s cost us $85 per person, and they will pick you up from the hotel, and the stuff is very friendly, our pilot is very professional, the view is stunning! Very touching sunrise! But you need to wake up at 4:00am!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jassz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Magic horizon people are kind and caring.
They arrange for you whatever you ask and if reasonable.
They specially treat Indians.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Yash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicBalloons, Director of Sales at Magic Horizon Hot Air Balloons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews