We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great garden restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, Italian, Japanese, African, Sushi, European, Asian, British, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great garden restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

It's a beautiful garden restaurant with a wide selection of food. We liked all of it - tart tangy tree tomato juice, fried calves liver in red wine sauce, grilled prawns with butter. The samosas stuffed with cheese were really excellent.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank wswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    299
    55
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“gemütliches Restaurant in hübschem Ambiente”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

my driver did take me to this place and we had a tasty lunch. I can imagine its nicer in the evenings. Service was good, choice of food as well. I had the impression that the best times are already over, but the place is charismatic and may be only because of the old times.
I would come back for dinner and with friends. Prices are OK.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OutofAfrica660213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Overall a great night out. Food was brilliant and the bar packed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exelent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Had an excellent lunch here late January with two friends, The fillet steak I had was superb and so were the other dishes we had. Drink is attractively priced (for Nairobi) and a lot of locals eat there which is a good sign. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden setting, excellent appetizers & desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely, tranquil garden setting with a small play area for children. A nice change in scenery from the city. The dishes are unique, and appetizers and desserts are especially delicious. Feta and coriander samosas, pork belly bites, and mushroom tartlets are my top three appetizers. The tuna and avocado salad is also tasty.Main courses are good but not spectacular - the chef's suggestion is usually your best bet. Service is attentive. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing