We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT in EVERY WAY!”
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
Ranked #2 of 593 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Food, Service and Ambiance what more can you want? Talisman consistently offers quality food and the best service in Nairobi. Rotating art gallery and outdoor seating in a lovely garden always wonderful regardless of weather. Jikos and blankets offered when you feel a chill in the air! Roaring fireplace and warm greetings from staff always warm the heart!

Thank travelhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 887 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This restaurant was rated very highly on Tripadvisor and had very good reviews. My colleagues and we decided to visit this restaurant as it had a varied menu.
The hotel taxi took us to the restaurant and it took probably an hour from the Fairmont in the Nairobi traffic. It can be intimating watching the city and rural areas go by and roads with no lights on route to the restaurant; therefore highly recommend taking a hotel taxi/car if you're from out of town.
The restaurant is very rustic and looks as if it were in someone's rural home, this added to the great atmosphere/ambience. The service was excellent and the food was amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for your great review we are delighted to have you and hope when you come back to Kenya you ll come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a lovely restaurant serving great food in a green garden. I had a ginger and turmeric drink, spicy samosas, meat and sweet potatoes on a plank, and three variations of chocolate to mention the most important parts. And I was very happy with all! The only thing is that the restaurant is pretty far from the city centre, and you should really try to avoid the rush hour traffic during the weekdays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review,

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you when you come back to Kenya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

an amazing set up and quite huge in size...very very very warm welcoming staff and good service.the menu is not that vast but the food is good....really nice desserts!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Steve P thank you for your lovely review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and the desserts. We have taken your comments regarding the limited menu selection to our chef's to see what we can do to expand the menu further for next quarters menu and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely setting, great atmoshere on a busy Saturday night in the garden, good welcome even though we hadn't booked. We chose just to have a selection of starters- making up our own Asian Tapas type thing: Pork Dim Sum, Dynamite Rolls, Thai Prawns, Prawn Tempura (outstanding!) and Feta & Coriander Samosas- all absolutely yummy! They do this Wine Flight thing where you can try 3 different wines (whites in our case) in small glasses, quite fun but not that interesting, the Pinot Noir by the glass however was excellent (albeit expensive). The only let down was our waitress who was unfortunately a bit clueless, what a shame after having read the praise for the service at Talisman on this page. My husband did make a complaint, and as a result we were rewarded with a couple of large Hennessy Cognacs at the end of our meal- much appreciated. We'll certainly be back, I'm sure the service is normally good judging from what we saw going on at the other tables around us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Connybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Cornelia B, thank you for your kind review

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant with regards to the food and the wine. We apologize about the failure of service from our waitress and hope that when you return you will have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing