We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

K'Osewe Ranalo Foods
Ranked #57 of 547 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Paris
Level Contributor
586 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had read a very flattering review of this place in the Guide du Routard but it turned out to offer mediocre food, with very very limited choice, at fairly high prices. I would not recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cafeteria serving local dishes”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Almost all the dishes are simply stewed or fried meat, which were served with chapatis. I was disappointed that there weren't more non-meat Kenyan dishes available. The meat is very tough but tastes good. The chapatis were tasty. You can also get cokes, water etc. A very helpful employees showed us how it all worked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank moominoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Local food in local environment”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I always like to visit here at least once on my journey to experience real local food for local people. Don't expect anything upper class here. You go to look at the food first on the buffet style counter. You then go to pay the window and give the slips of paper to the waiter who brings it.
The reviewer below obviously walked into the wrong place or just wasn't prepared to join in the flavour of a real local restaurant. If you have never eaten this way it can be a shock but I don't go to African countries to eat steak and chips.
It is very cheap and plaenty of it.
I will always return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Visited today with my partner around lunchtime. Was rather quiet when we arrived so choosing where we sat wasn't much of a problem, before it gradually filled with Nairobi office staff. From there onwards, things got worse! My partner, having been there before knew exactly what she wanted to order. No menus being available on the table, I was escorted to another room to choose from the menu on the wall. I decided to "play safe" and ordered a mixed grill. What turned up at the table can only be described as resembling a bowl of cat-food! I invited the waiter to explain to me exactly what exactly, in the bowl had been grilled and was told to "go speak to the chef!" My partner produced her ipad and "googled" mixed-grill and showed this person a photo of what I thought I'd ordered. He found this hilarious!! They are very clever in taking your money as soon as you place your order, before your food arrives. If this hadn't been the case I'd have definitely refused to pay the bill.! Never again will I set foot inside this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
“Satisfying”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very nice and delicious food.Price is a bit high compared to other restaurants but it's definitely worth it!I always eat here whenever am in the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finnolitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed K'Osewe Ranalo Foods also viewed

 

Been to K'Osewe Ranalo Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing