We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute must”

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #10 of 715 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Reviewed 27 September 2013

One of the best Thai meals I have ever eaten! Elizabeth took great care of our every need. A beautiful restaurant, great menu, and nice atmosphere. Chocolate lovers, you must try the Chocolate Coconut Tart, it is beyond delicious. Thanks Elizabeth for a great dining experience! Sante

Thank kimstreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Kimstreep,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi, and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Stating that your meal was “one of the best Thai meals” you have ever eaten and highlighting the Chocolate Coconut Tart as a “must try”, is truly high praise indeed and will be shared with our chef and team.
We sincerely appreciate your glowing feedback on Elizabeth and shall ensure your comments are passed on to her.

We are very grateful for your glowing review, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Let's face it - you don't travel to Kenya to eat Thai Food, right ? But when you live here, or come here for business, it is a nice treat. This is how it needs to be seen. The food I'd say is pretty amazing, the dishes I had were fragrant, had all the flavours coming out very well as they should in Thai cooking, and there was certainly no holding back on the heat, which is also as it should be. So seeing that this restaurant is in Nairobi it is outstanding ! And therefore one also needs to realise that this is not Thailand or Australia as a reviewer remarked - you do pay a bit more to get some real Thai food here. But it is worth it - for the reasons mentioned above.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear VolkerHuls,

We are delighted to read your review and to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We endeavor to provide only the best of service and food quality to all our esteemed guests, and showcase a little bit of Thailand within Kenya. Your kind comments on the flavorsome food is the reflection of our efforts in ensuring that we do indeed provide “real Thai food where it is least expected”

Thank you once again for your truly complimentary review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Thai Chi.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This Thai restaurant is located in the Stanley hotel and although expensive in relative terms, it is also the best. Staff were very courteous and spoke perfect English and knew their dishes.
Highly recommend if you do not wish to go into the evening airtraffic in downtown Nairobi. This is also an excellent location to bring business clients to close your sales!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Woodenshoes,

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Highlighting the professionalism of our staff is truly gratifying to read, and your compliments will be shared with the team.

We would like to echo your sentiments that Thai chi’s ideal location and ambient surroundings – provide a great escape from the hustle of the City Center, and hence, the perfect location for entertaining business executives.

We look forward to hosting you soon,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I've been to Nairobi a few times and tried "Thai" food varieties - this was the best. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere very inviting and relaxing and the staff top notch. Quite expensive, but if you're a proponent of the "you get what you pay for" philosophy, you won't be disappointed in this dining destination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank bvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Bvonm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Thai Chi experiences on Trip Advisor following your dining experience with us.

We are very glad to understand that your meal experience was memorable and pleasurable. Creating lasting positive impressions is one of our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praises, which will be shared with the team accordingly.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Visiting Nairobi and staying in the Stanley hotel. Great restaurant. The service from Nicolas was exceptional. Very professional without being intrusive. Wonderful food and good atmosphere. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear MmmmmNice,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sarova Stanley and dining at Thai Chi restaurant – we are thrilled that the food, atmosphere and service from Nicolas warranted a top rating from yourself – we certainly hope to host you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing