We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai food and spices, not to be missed when at the Stanley”

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Ranked #20 of 600 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Make sure you book a table as otherwise you may have to wait out a cycle at dinner time. And when led to the table, a superior dining experience awaits. Great food, attentive service and well worth the little extra money a meal here costs compared to the Thorn Tree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Safari Aficionado,

It is always a pleasure hosting yourself and we are truly grateful that you took the time to dine at Thai Chi and review our services offered.

Thank you for rating your dining experience as superior, highlighting the food and service experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves at Thai Chi and the staff were absolutely friendly and polite. We were warmly received and conducted to our table with a charming smile and genuine conversation no small talk here at all. The service standards are truly amazing and the food was great. To complement it all, the staff surprised my wife with a birthday cake with quite a bit of singing; it was quite pleasant indeed. The giveaways at the end of the night was a welcome surprise and I have already put my business card holder to good use. Thank you for a delightful experience and keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hillary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wife’s birthday at Thai Chi restaurant and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Reading your review was extremely gratifying from highlighting our personal touch as far as service is concerned to the great meal that was offered.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your night and look forward to hosting you soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nice to find an authentic Thai restaurant in the heart of Nairobi. Service was excellent, as was the ambiance and food. Highly recommended.

Thank Prehensile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Thai Chi restaurant and reviewing its services. It is extremely pleasing to note you found the food, service and ambiance excellent. Many thanks for highly recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff were absolutely excellent, attentive, friendly, courteous. Food didn't do them justice. Tempura vegetables were just deep fried in batter for example. Rice and Green curry were pretty good though. At the prices charged, you'd expect something a lot better.

Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine at Thai Chi and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We have acknowledged your comments regarding the Tempura Vegetables, and are disappointed they did not meet with your satisfaction. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the Food and Beverage team and acted on.
Many thanks for your kind words on the staff, they are an integral part of our team and are valued greatly.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and be assured we will strive to exceed all your expectations.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had a wonderful meal at Thai Chi restuarant at the Stanley hotel. The service was amazing, when we arrived Matilda and Martin greeted us with warm smiles and made us feel welcome and the service was great all night. It is a bit expensive but worth it. I diffinately won't forget that meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whatilikedabout u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to dine at the Thai Chi restaurant and taking the time to review your experiance.
It was a pleasure to read that the services offered by Martin and Matilda exceeded your expectations and we are glad that we offered you an un-forgettable meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,

David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing