We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly!”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Tribe hotel for my vacation and I LOVED it and highly recommend this hotel! The staff is very nice and remembered my name, which made me feel at home. I had the chance to go on some tours they offer and Benjamin our tour guide was EXCELLENT!! He really made the tour special with his knowledge of each place he took us. Cameline in concierge really took care of our needs and made sure we had a fun and comfortable stay. Thank you to the entire Tribe staff for making my first trip to Nairobi fun, memorable, and welcoming!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saunya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Tribe every time I am in Nairobi. The location is wonderful, beautiful decor and the staff are kind and helpful. It is nice the Village Market is on the other side of the parking lot. I would suggest a massage at Kaya spa and book a tour (ask for Dennis he is a great tour guide). Enjoy it, I do every time I am here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have stayed at tribe multiple times. Amazing hotel with great decor. Service levels are world class, people greet you by your first name, the service is amicable. starting from the Gym instructor to the people at the reception remember you by your first name. It is always a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I LOVE hotels where the staff knows my name and greets me by name each day. My first visit to Kenya on business, but had several days off. Kudos to the excellent desk, concierge, dining, leisure travel, and hotel services staff. The rooms are extremely comfortable and easy access to pool, business, bar and dining areas. Although a little distance from town center, transportation is easy and affordable and the security is unmatched. I'm usually a Marriott traveler, but this is a modern, beautifully decorated and professionally staffed higher end hotel. Well worth the higher daily rate. Special recognition to the dining staff. I posted photos of some of the incredible edible creations. Breakfast made to order each day and a Sunday brunch to rival the best 5 star international location. I cannot wait until my next visit to Nairobi.

Room Tip: I had a lower floor room facing the pool. If you want privacy, ask for lower corner rooms. Less gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvidaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed our night at tribe. Fantastic hotel with amazing decor. The staff are friendly and very helpful. One complaint tho. We took room 505 which promised a patio because we had 2 small kids with us. Turns out you can barely make it out of the room because of the huge plant right infront of the patio door. When you do finally get out,first thing that hits you is the sewage stench coming from the swampy area below. Very dissapointing. Overall, our stay was pleasant and we will be back.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been many times at the Tribe Hotel before my relocation to Kenya, and I personally find it the best Hotel accomodation in Nairobi, especially for families and tourists. It is located in a very nice area of Nairobi (near the UN HQ), a bit far away from the crowded city center but not that far from Westland, the main business district.
Hotel facilities are great, the restaurant is very good and you have near by the Hotel a very nice shopping area.
Price is in line with that of the top Hotels in Nairobi (Sankhara and Kempisky).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. It is modern, has incredible design elements, and the staff, from the front doormen to the front desk and restaurant staff are helpful and cheerful. It is in a great location, safe, and everything about the rooms makes you feel like you are staying in a high-end hotel - which you are. The pool is nice, and the lobby and outside balconies are great places to kick back and relax in. One item for those traveling with children. The hotel is accomodating for kids - but it could do a better job offering a kids menu in room service and the restauarants. For breakfast - the food is great for adults - but the need to special order pancakes for a kid - which took 15-20 minutes each time - can be frustrating for the little ones.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,189 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
939 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £141 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing