We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jiko Restaurant is fabulous!!”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I haven't stayed in the hotel itself, but I use the restaurant in the basement quite often. The food is delicious, the staffs are very polite and courteous and service is great.
I order my cakes there also, I must say, their white chocolate is the creamiest, most tasty I have had without it being sugary. Chef Anne made really good cakes for me and my daughter and even replaced a cake that didn't taste exactly as I wanted . The price is on the high end , but for the service and quality , it is worth it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Buki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for Tribe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at Tribe on several occasions on transit for business and always make it my first choice. With a hectic schedule I find Tribe a haven of peace in Westlands where the service and food are excellent so I don't have any stress. I find the decor outstanding and unique so you don't feel like you are in a hotel that is the same as many others. With the stressful travles I often go to Kaya spa which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND……I have had spa treatments all over the world and this is certainly up there with the best of them. Also important to me because of the work I do is that the environment is safe and secure…..with embassies and the UN as neighbors Tribe is situated in a safe neighborhood. Additionally, as a single woman traveler going out late at night or for meals can be difficult, but with the nearby village Market shopping centre within the same premises as Tribe it offers alternatives to the hotel while remaining secure. I just think this is an excellent all round option!

Room Tip: I had a problem with internet in one of the rooms on the floor below ground. I am not sure that thi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariama C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was really a wonderful stay with your hotel, except the two facts below:
1) When I checked in, the refregirator was not working. I asked the reception to fix it, and upon confirmation of repaird done, I went back to my room but it was not working again.
2) When I checked in, a small amount of water was constantly running in the toilet. I asked the reception to fix it and the repair man came and I was told that it repaired. However, when I went back to the room, I saw that the repair was not complete; less amount of water was still running making sound which may disturb my sleep during the night. I asked the repair and this time I thought it was completely fixed. To my biggest disappointment, it was not the case. On the 3rd night, the water pipe of the toilet exploded at 3:00 am in the night. I was waken up due to the big noise, and I immediately called the reception. The guy was not rude but not apologetic either. I was the one suffering, but he treated the case as if it is my problem, and no apology. At 3:20, a repair man came and started to repair, but seeing as at 4:00 it requring more time, I told the repair man to give up and suggested both of us go back to bed, saying I would survive without shower in the following morning.
Having said above, however, the quality of your hotel was superb and would like to come back when I have a chance to visit Nairobi again. I therefore kindly advise that the maintenance is made with more carefulness. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masahiro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very skilled and excellent staff! Mark this hotell if you´re into business or need the little extra when you stay in Nairobi. Excellent rooms with great bathrooms, great lobby and outside areas for relaxed hours.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A nice hotel, good services, very helpful personnel and staf. It is a bit expensive, but is conveniently located (for those having things to do around Westlands), it is located within a shopping centre where there are some good eating places (with very decent prices and a choice of tastes). We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed in the Tribe on transit. very pleasant staff, comfortable room and an excellent spa. The village market is right next door and every Friday there's the Masai market for your handicrafts/souvenir needs.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the garden and pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Tribe hotel for my vacation and I LOVED it and highly recommend this hotel! The staff is very nice and remembered my name, which made me feel at home. I had the chance to go on some tours they offer and Benjamin our tour guide was EXCELLENT!! He really made the tour special with his knowledge of each place he took us. Cameline in concierge really took care of our needs and made sure we had a fun and comfortable stay. Thank you to the entire Tribe staff for making my first trip to Nairobi fun, memorable, and welcoming!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saunya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
911 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,036 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,160 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#15 of 167 in Nairobi
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £148 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing