We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Naij
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The Tribe is a beautiful hotel! The Interior Decor is lovely. I liked eveything about this hotel except there was no bath tub in the room. The staff are very warm and friendly. I enjoyed my time there though it was short. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    263
    79
    21
    18
See reviews for
79
152
60
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DXB
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I stayed at the tribe for one night and found the staff excellent, very friendly and courteous, right from the GM thro to the car park attendants, the hotel itself is fantastic the décor very rustically African. I stayed in the new section and the room was brilliant , awesome bathtub and open bathroom. The only criticism is have is that the menu on the 4th floor bar is rather limited, and the lack of any entertainment at the hotel itself. Apart from hat I would definitely recommend this hotel. Good work guys keep it up

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeZDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Everything about the hotel is updated to what you'd expect in a high quality modern establishment. Although it is stylized very nouveau, there are touches of African art decor that add culture and a uniqueness. Many of the hotels in Kenya focus on the leisurely resort appearance, but the Tribe is more of a class act.

I know people normally read these reviews for the negatives. I really enjoyed this hotel, and recommend it. With that in mind, here are a list of problems I faced:

1. Power. I've traveled a lot in Kenya and other parts of Africa, and I can tell you that you will normally encounter the same problem no matter where you go. When there are power issues, the hotel will go off the grid and run a generator. Some hotels will not tell you that during the day this is a normal occurrence. In fact, some hotels will automatically switch to a generator during the day if there are not power issues.

2. AC. The AC in the room will run continuously (if on) when the hotel is connected to the city grid. However, when they switch to the generator, it will run for a short period and turn off. This is so that the generator is not overtaxed. You will have to either keep turning it on, open a window, or go out of your room.

3. Shower. I like that my room had a standing shower with a large "rain" faucet. That is a personal opinion...I've never liked having to climb in and out of a tub just so I could take a shower. The shower is a plus for me. Unfortunately the glass that separates the bathroom from the shower is not sealed. Water leaks under the glass and will not drain. Even turning on the water for a short period of time will cause this.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingReviewerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Highly recommend this beautiful hotel. The staff and management were wonderful. Each floor of the hotel has different types of African art. The restaurant is well staffed and the foodis very good. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The wi-fi was a bit spotty but manageable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fad3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2010

"I don't understand your problem". This is the best the staff of this hotel will be able to do if you ask them why a room without a bathtub and a direct view on the noisy central air conditioning unit is as expensive than another spacious room with a pool view and a bathtub. You would not pay more than $40 dollars a night for some of the rooms, although others are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjones10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normiego
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

From the second you are driven through the gates of this incredible property you feel like you have been transported to another world -- and in some ways you have. Just outside the chaos of Nairobi, this oasis awaits. The modern yet inherently African architecture and design are literally awe-inspiring. The staff -- incredibly warm, knowledgeable, and helpful - by the second day you feel like they are your local friends more than employees. The food and amenities are also beyond compare. Having traveled the world and been lucky enough to stay in some of the finest hotels, I rate Tribe among the very very best!

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank normiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

clean room, good linens, great service,very polite n helpful staffs.free wifi - yipeee
gd security... set backs:-far frm town :( & a little bit pricey for nairobi

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HARFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing