We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amani Gardens Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$187
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$244
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
63
40
13
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
40
13
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebasketball courtgorgeous gardenstaxi servicenever stay anywhere elsebusy nairobian oasissafe havenown bathroomwi fihot waterother guestsrooms are comfortablea great place to staynice roomstayed here for one nighteast africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff at MGH went above and beyond during our meetings at MGH; they were kind, thoughtful, very helpful, friendly and gracious. The yards were beautiful and well kept. The food was delicious; loved that there was a green salad with each meal and lots of fruits and vegetables. I very much appreciated the extra effort from the kitchen staff to handle dietary restrictions. Thank you for your contribution to making our meetings a success!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. We loved having your group with us and are happy everyone was pleased.

We also thank you for your nice comments about your dining experience. We have a new head chef with us who is transforming the dining room. We are working hard to be guest-oriented and make food that guests love.

Please consider us your home when you are in Kenya. Karibu Sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in this guest house for 2-3 night stops on 4 occasions over the course of about a month. It acted both as a hub for travelling, and a wonderful quiet little spot while waiting over. It is extremely secure, has beautiful rooms and gardens, along with a hot breakfast. The gardens are large and peaceful and the outdoor veranda overlooks the garden - bliss. The rooms and washrooms are spotless. Staff are also very accommodating and are good sources of information. Every time we went on a trip we were able to leave bags in storage - - and there was good WIFI connection. We strongly suggest you have a Google map, or equivalent with you. Although the guesthouse is in the fashionable Westlands area, many of our taxi drivers had trouble finding it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EandSmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks for your very nice review. We are happy you were able to stay with us and we were able to meet your needs. Because we are centrally located we make for an easy hub for people coming and going about their business in Nairobi as well as outside the city.

We are sorry that you had difficulty in finding our place. We have worked closely with a taxi company called Just Connections for almost 20 years. We entrust them everyday with our guests as well as our own work. They have fixed prices and you never have to negotiate. Their number is +254 (0)722 704 549. Kamau is the manager.

Karibu Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My 8 year old son said that the Mennonite Guesthouse was his favourite part about our trip to Nairobi. The grounds are beautiful and very restful. The food was varied and well prepared. You can't beat the tea-time cookies and cakes at 10am and 4pm! The staff was very helpful for us in setting up day-trips to different sites in and around Nairobi. They made our trip smooth and problem-free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to try to serve families with children and have a place that they will enjoy. Thanks for mentioning our staff as well as they are excellent and work very hard at meeting the needs of our guests. Please always feel free to come back again when you are in Nairobi!

Karibu Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised of how lovely this place was. Normally at a hotel you mostly stay in your room and walk through the lobby. Here we spent almost our entire time in some of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. I saw birds that I didn't know existed. I didn't expect to see such a beautiful park in the middle of the city. Our kids loved it as well as they swung on the tree swings and explored the gardens.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The food was good. I felt safe the entire time. Our room was newly remodeled and looked like one you might find in the nicest hotels in Nairobi. I highly recommend this place. We will return here every time we come back to Nairobi.

Room Tip: The newly remodeled room (#18) is spectacular. I see them remodeling #17 as well. I highly recommend staying in these rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MN-NBOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We have been working hard to preserve the beauty of our gardens and our one hundred year old trees. We are also glad you like our newly remodeled room. We are remodeling our rooms to match the beauty you find in our gardens.

Our staff works hard and takes pride in their work. Thanks for recognising this. Please stay with us again on your next journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recommend the Mennonite Guest House to all of our visitors, both business and personal, who visit Nairobi. The location, in Westlands, makes it a convenient location to getting to other parts of the city. We love dropping in for tea at 10 & 4; the baked goods are great; the staff knowledgeable and kind in helping you navigate the city. There is always an interesting crowd of folks from all over the world to enjoy your visit with. We are local residents of Nairobi & enjoy the peace and quiet of the grounds -- it's also a great place for our kids to have some running around space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 360Carpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks for your nice review. We take pride in being a respite from the busyness of a major city and being a home-away from home... Also thank you for contributing to the crowd of "interesting people" you mention. We are unique here that people from many different nationalities and work sectors can meet each other over coffee or even a meal. Some people have said they have had new opportunities arise for them over an afternoon tea time.

Karibu Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews