We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing restaurant”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 567 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“amazing restaurant”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

amazing sea food, and very different experience, staff are very friendly, wine and even desert were exclusive, but very expensive

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minayounan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    144
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Not quite the coast”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It feels a little sterile compared to its big sister at the coast but the food remains fantastic with all the fresh seafood you can eat

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The service is amazing and most importantly the food is great.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I love their seafood. The new interior at the Tamarind Rest, Mombasa is lovely, and to top it off a breathtaking sunset view overlooking the old town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenAngel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit pricy, but worth a treat out.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The service was incomparable to any place I've been. They even remembered my name and what I ordered on my 3 different visits. I highly recommend the piri-piri jumbo prawns (I had them all three times).... the prawns are bigger than most lobsters here at home.

Expensive, but worth treating yourself. I'd definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joolzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Sea food, Great new location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Tamarind Nairobi has always been one of my favorite places to eat fresh sea food however it was let down by location, center of busy Nairobi CBD.

The Tamarind is now located at Karen Blixen, excellent location with plenty of parking space. Also glad that the food and service is still as good as I remember.

I recommend the sea food platter if you feel like sharing and trying it all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing