We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant for a change of pace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panda Chinese Restaurant

Panda Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant for a change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Whenever I travel and I do get a little burned out on the local fare sometimes, I seek out ethnic food and most often, it is Chinese food that fits the bill. And the Panda fits those cravings to a T with excellent food in a most relaxed and comforting setting.

The layout of the restaurant is so nice with little nooks and crannies it makes for a meal with that is laid back and at ease with the surroundings. The food was all served so fresh and hot and while no Gai Lan, my favorite vegetable it was all very good. My soup choice is always hot and sour and while this was very good, it was not quite a 10 in my estimation. I like to try many different things and while maybe too much for one sitting, it always makes the take away good for another meal warmed up later.

I enjoyed the Panda so much I made a return visit and when again in Nairobi, for sure the Panda will be on my list of restaurants.

The staff was also very efficient and friendly and I liked having one waiter the whole time instead of many different wait staff as then the orders might get a little confused.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Excellent Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Nairobi; all time favourite! Great service,and even more, awesome food and drinks. My wife and i had our engagement dinner here (60+ guests) and the management pulled all stops to make the day memorable for all! We always visit this restaurant even on a whim!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Tucked away in the Nairobi CBD, Panda Restaurant is a hidden gem once you discover it. A narrow flight of stairs leads to a beautifully ambianced restaurant with soft soothing music playing in the background. Their food is also delicious and service is quick and courteous.

As you plan to visit, It will do you good to note that the prices on the menus (both food and drink) do not include taxes and service charges. I felt that this is quite odd given that for most if not all establishments in Kenya, what you see is what you pay.

Being conveniently located, it is at a nice place to wait the traffic jam away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good, solid and very chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is one of those good old traditional Chinese places, good size portions, large menu, wicked chilli sauce and great waiters...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese Taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Panda is probably one of the few chinese restaurants that I love to eat at. Whether a family meal, business or just with friends, i find that the taste of the food is constant and you dont have to necessarily stick to the menu. Run by a family from Shanghai they bring the true taste of china to your table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSONNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Panda Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing