We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid!”

Panda Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #136 of 547 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have no idea why this was highly reviewed online, but we would avoid at all cost. bad food, empty atmosphere, terrible service. We were charged for corked wine despite explaining the wine was off and could not be touched.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Except the waiters/Waitresses, everything is Chinese (Not fake, I swear). Even the TV channels show Chinese programs (you kidding me!!). But on a serious note, the food is seriously good (I have only eaten the Halal food, so cant comment on Pork and other stuff).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callaway, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant for a change of pace”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Whenever I travel and I do get a little burned out on the local fare sometimes, I seek out ethnic food and most often, it is Chinese food that fits the bill. And the Panda fits those cravings to a T with excellent food in a most relaxed and comforting setting.

The layout of the restaurant is so nice with little nooks and crannies it makes for a meal with that is laid back and at ease with the surroundings. The food was all served so fresh and hot and while no Gai Lan, my favorite vegetable it was all very good. My soup choice is always hot and sour and while this was very good, it was not quite a 10 in my estimation. I like to try many different things and while maybe too much for one sitting, it always makes the take away good for another meal warmed up later.

I enjoyed the Panda so much I made a return visit and when again in Nairobi, for sure the Panda will be on my list of restaurants.

The staff was also very efficient and friendly and I liked having one waiter the whole time instead of many different wait staff as then the orders might get a little confused.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maplelagjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Excellent Chinese Food!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Nairobi; all time favourite! Great service,and even more, awesome food and drinks. My wife and i had our engagement dinner here (60+ guests) and the management pulled all stops to make the day memorable for all! We always visit this restaurant even on a whim!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Tucked away in the Nairobi CBD, Panda Restaurant is a hidden gem once you discover it. A narrow flight of stairs leads to a beautifully ambianced restaurant with soft soothing music playing in the background. Their food is also delicious and service is quick and courteous.

As you plan to visit, It will do you good to note that the prices on the menus (both food and drink) do not include taxes and service charges. I felt that this is quite odd given that for most if not all establishments in Kenya, what you see is what you pay.

Being conveniently located, it is at a nice place to wait the traffic jam away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panda Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing