We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorn tree -”
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
Ranked #51 of 628 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The atmosphere and menu selection. there isa new giraffe part of the thorn tree. this makes it even more exciting.

Thank LetterFromDiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Letters from Diani,

I would like to thank you for choosing to dine with us at Thorn Tree and share your feedback.
The giraffe is a new addition, and it provides an excellent companion to our famous Thorn Tree – hence, we are so happy to note your appreciation of the same.

Please do visit us again soon, we look very much forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

On the spur of the moment we decided to have lunch at the New Stanley on Christmas Eve 2013 - my husband having visited the Old Stanley a few times. Unfortunately we were too late to have lunch in the Thai restaurant - it closes at 2pm - which is what we originally planned. However, we stayed and had lunch in the Thorn Tree Cafe. The atmosphere was good and the tables were not too close to one another. It took a while for our drinks to come up after ordering and so did the food, But we were not in a hurry and thought it a good sign. The food was excellent although I asked for some vinegar and did not get it until I was half way through my lunch. Given the fact that the surroundings were comfortable and the food excellent, the service was very poor and totally unexpected. We had to wait for our second drink and when we asked for the bill - twice - it was only when we got up and went to the pay station, that a waiter asked us what we wanted. He managed to produce our bill. This was 25 minutes after asking for it the first time. All in all the poor service let them down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Gina F,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
Firstly apologies that you were not able to make it into the Thai Chi; however, we are glad that you got to experience lunch in our legendary Thorn Tree restaurant.

It is extremely gratifying to note you truly enjoyed the ambiance and food itself; The executive chef and his team will take great pride in noting this.

Regarding the service, let me assure you that this is not what we expect from our service staff and we set their standards much higher, we shall take these comments into account and action on them.

We hope to welcome you back soon again to the Thorn Tree Café;

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Recently spent the day in Nairobi whilst in transit, so decided to try the legendary Thorn Tree Cafe for lunch. It was a very pleasant experience overall, and the staff were happy for me to spend three leisurely hours reading, eating, drinking and people watching. The Acacia is not the original, but stands on the same spot, and there is a noticeboard with blank papers for you to write your own message if you desire.

Service was fairly good and attentive for the most part. For lunch I ordered the burger, and was not disappointed - absolutely cracking dish; possibly one of the best burgers I've had anywhere, nevermind Africa (or Kenya)! Great choice for lunch, especially when washed down with a Tusker.

There are probably cheaper places around, or more casual places (the cafe is part of the Sarova Stanley hotel), but this place isn't bad value for money, and it's brilliant to sit and absorb the history of one of the legends of old East Africa and the Cairo to Cape Town route - so if you're a traveller of slightly nostalgic inclination, and are looking for great food, this is the place to be at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Wandering_Saffa,

Thank you for choosing to spend your transit period visiting us at the Thorn Tree Café.
We are very humbled and glad that you enjoyed your experience as a whole.

Hearing that the Burger was the best you have tasted – speaks volumes to us and is a compliment that has been extremely well received by the executive chef and team.

We would be happy to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future.

Thank you.
Warm Regards,

David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very good service and food. Lively atmosphere. Its a local town meeting spot, great for people watching. Great, breakfast with huge selection and cooked to order eggs. Nice to have a coffee there too.

Thank Belgiantraveller772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Belgian Traveller772,

Many thanks for dining and sharing your experience, through Trip Advisor, on your recent experience at The Thorn Tree Café.
We are truly proud to receive your very complimentary review, and appreciate your comments on our meals and service.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife stayed at the sarova stanley a few nights before our safari and ate here many times and enjoyed it. They have good food for dinner, really good pizza and the breakfast buffet is very good too. The staff here is so nice and helpful and it is a nice, casual place to hang out and eat, drink and relax a while. The food prices area very reasonable and the breakfast buffet is included with your room and has many choices and the coffee here is excellent. The service staff while we were in africa were just great and very pleasant , I recommend having a meal during your stay here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Brentsf,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the Sarova Stanley, and we thank you for dining and reviewing The Thorn Tree Café.
We continue to focus on providing our guests with a memorable dining experiance and am very glad that you appreciated the same.
Many thanks for recognising friendliness of the staff; your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kenya.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing