We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“japanese evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandhari Restaurant

Mandhari Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 538 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“japanese evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

An astonishing experience of Japanese cuisine by executive chef Tomikawa Kaiseki.
Each dish on the tantalizing nine course menu was immaculately presented leaving the dinner relishing for the next item on the menu. Both the taste and presentation showed the chef's
passion for perfecting Japanese cuisine in such an artistic manner. Thank you chef Tomikawa
Kaiseki for your delicious creations for the vegetarian dinners also. The whole evening just too long. We hope to have the privilege to host you again in Nairobi very soon.
The Shah's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pradip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top class, far better than I ever could have imagined”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant this visit. I ate here twice in the past week and on both occasions enjoyed greats service, fine food, excellent wine and to my great surprise world class cheeses ...you must try these...Brie, Camembert, blue cheeses etc...just top class. I do think they need to learn how to raise fine meats locally, but the rest was superb...just fantastic - highly recommended and I am a fussy eater.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winogabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best fine dining in nairobi so far !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great unparallelled service and ambiance. Expect the usual great standards that Serena hotels has come to be associated with . Kudos for consistency over the years .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eunice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good menu, great staff but unimaginative, flavourless food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

The menu is extensive and the staff are friendly, courteous and professional. In that respect, Mandhari cannot be faulted. In terms of the food, the presentation is superb and the chef friendly and willing to accommodate specialised dietary needs. However, whoever is responsible for the recruitment and subsequent training of the kitchen staff should really update their knowledge base. Dishes are created seemingly without recourse to seasoning of any kind and all taste the same - flavourless. It's normal to use herbs and spices to bring out the best flavour of a dish but the African chefs at Mandhari cook food in the African style - with no creativity. If I wanted something tasting like ugali and sukuma wiki, I'd order ugali and sukuma wiki. Sadly, what could have been a delicious Red Snapper dish tasted of oil and cardboard, because no seasoning was used. For the extortionate prices Mandhari charges, better is expected. Suggest the head of training speaks to chefs at restaurants like the Delamere Terrace, Thai Chi and Bhandini for advice on how to cook properly. I can do better at home in my own kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank niknax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was craving Indian food and we tried the mutton and prawn curries. We probably picked the wrong ones because the gravy/sauce seemed to be the same but it was tasty and spicy. I like that they give you naan (bread) and rice with the dish

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eletnahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandhari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandhari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing